We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Wainwright Inn was exactly what we were looking for. A welcoming and comfortable B&B that provides one of the best breakfasts I've had. Wonderful location as well. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
95
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This historic Inn is beautifully restored with great attention to detail. It was recommended by our Australian friends who stayed with Marja and Robert last year. We weren't disappointed. Our hosts Marja & Robert were only too happy to please. It is just 10 minutes leisurely walk into town for restaurants, cafes etc. Parking on site at rear was good. Lovely big verandah to sit and enjoy a wine or outside in the beautiful garden. Communal frig to use, TV and large living room with complementary port and sherry after dinner. Breakfast was fantastic ... alternating home cooked sweet and savoury main course in a cosy breakfast room. The Buckwheat pancakes were fantastic! Coffee and tea was available 24/7. Centrally located for Lenox, Tallowood, and Washington Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We feel very fortunate to have stumbled across the Wainwright Inn while looking for accommodation.

We were greeted by Marja upon arrival and were made to feel at home immediately. She ran through the basics thoroughly but quickly and let us know she would be on hand if we had any questions.

Our room (Berkshire Wing) was spacious, uncluttered, clean and the king sized bed was very comfortable - we had 3 nights of excellent sleep.

Marja and Robert were great hosts - not imposing but happy to have a chat and particularly to offer suggestions and recommendations for restaurants and activities, both in Great Barrington and our next destination, 100 miles away!

The breakfasts Marja cooked were amazing. Something different every day, filling but not excessive (although there is always the option to ask for more, and Marja ensured we were comfortable doing just that!). Marja was happy to provide a vegetarian option for me and I noticed that she accommodated a vegan diet also. There were always slices of freshly baked cake downstairs to eat with your cups of tea/coffee.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wainwright Inn to friends travelling in the area. Our only regret is that we are unlikely to ever be in Massachusetts again and therefore no repeat visit!

Thanks Marja and Robert

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words .
So happy you enjoyed our stay with us. We also hope you had a change to visit the restaurant we recommended in Battleboro.
Regards,
Marja & Robert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

For the first time, after many years traveling with our two daughters, we had the chance to travel as a couple.So we decided to pick a B&B, and we had a lovely experience at The Wainwright Inn.The room was excellent, clean and the breakfast always a delightful meal, with something different every day, prepared by the Innkeeper herself.Marja and Robert were always available to give suggestions and advices where to go and where to eat.They also provided such a friendly environment, that we had a chance to meet another couple, that we later visited in Boston and established a new friendship.
We highly recommend for those who look for quality with a reasonable price.
Cynthia Pato Vianna - São Paulo/Brazil

Room Tip: The Ground Floor Room is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My Wife Tracy and I have been going to the Wainwright Inn for seven years - every year on Labor Day Weekend. We were made to feel right at home from the very first time! No matter what we've needed or wanted, Marja and Robert have attended to every detail, and beyond. We have had occasion to stay at two other B & B's - one in Maryland, and one in Long Island, and neither of them could hold a candle to the Wainwright. We feel so very lucky to have discovered this gem of a place in Great Barrington, and hope to return for many years to come. Thanks, Marja and Robert, for running such a fabulous establishment, and doing it so well! See you both next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their special qualities, but Mr. Pope's room has a jacuzzi tub.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Tracy and David.
Thank you for your kind words, it is always so nice to hear that our guets enjoyed there stay with us.
We are also looking forward seeing you next Labot Day Weekend if not before.
Stay well.
Marja Tepper,innkeeper
Wainwright Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Before posting this review I sent it to the InnKeeper in hopes of a response or an apology or better yet that there would be changes for future guests. The reply was dismissive and arrogant - a little like the place. This is what I sent to the Innkeeper before posting: "This is an very expensive B&B without the accoutrements of such high priced places ($250 a night). Really very tacky though in a very beautiful old building well situated in Great Barrington. The table cloths were PLASTIC LACE (really!) There were plastic containers in the bathroom made to look old. In the foyer bathroom there was a jarring mirror cabinet that did not go with the age of the building. Imagine. The breakfast skimpy, meager (no plethora of fruits etc) and not well cooked. The shampoo etc. was of low quality, and when I asked for hand lotion they had none. The sheets were inferior. The owner, I think, seemed not to understand , a ploy, perhaps. A very disappointing and costly experience."

Room Tip: Read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Hull F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It's always sad to learn we did not live up to the expectations of our guests and are trully sorry for that however, all the reasons that are mentioned in this review that made the stay a disappointing experiece do not reflect the service,ambiance and breakfast we offer our guests.Our most expensive room that was reserved includes a fully stocked kitchen, sitting area and out side deck , the rate in our peak season is $225 not $250,at the time of the reservation there were lower rate rooms available.
I understand it's disapointing when you expect an a la cart breakfast, we don't advertise we do, we serve a full breakfast,it consist of coffee, a big selection of thea's available 24 hours, a home baked cake, selection of juices on a help your self basis.
We than serve fresh fruit or fruit/jogurt smoothies and after that main course.
We tell our guests with a big smile our" golden dinning room rule I quote" please let us know if you like any thing more or any thing else we have an endless supply "I am in the dining room between cooking to ask if everything is going well.
Our linnens are of a high quality Egyptian cotton hand ironed top to bottum,flannels in the winter.
We offer shampoo/conditioner, body lotion and make up remover wipes from a well known company for the last 14 years, no hand cream ,sorry.
We have a cloth table cover with an overlay from lace that has a protection layer custome made for us.I can see why some one thinks it's plastic.
We have an Art Deco sink/cabinet mirror and light in our public bathroom that is dear to us, there are no plastic containers made to look old in our entire house.
Having lived all over the world, I speak and understand several languages , guaranteed there is no ploy.
Sincerely,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper
Wainwright Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A lovely place from which to base a stay in western Mass during the fall. Mya and Robert hail from the Netherlands and bring the best of their culture to this part of New England. A well cared for Guest House with comfortable clean rooms. Lovingly cooked breakfasts and lots of help in planning day trips around the area. A place to go back to!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsjd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing