We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TOTAL GEM”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I went to Great Barrington for 2 days to get away from NYC, to relax, read, listen to music and think. I couldn't have found a better place: a beautiful, really well maintained and spotless inn, carefully decorated in perfect taste. The owners and innkeepers, Marja and Robert, are truly kind and interesting people, very knowledgeable about the area, and happy to help. They made me feel at home. And yes: the breakfast is delicious! I am planning to go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rolando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Rolando,
Thank you so much for your kind words,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as we enjoyed your company as well.
We are looking forward seeing you again in the nearbe future.
Regards,
Robert and Marja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here over a winter weekend and were delighted with the accommodations. The inn was a welcomed and cozy destination after having driven to Great Barrington in less than ideal weather, and we felt that way throughout the stay.

The location is perfect and Marja's recommendations for dinner/drinks in town were just as great. We enjoyed the fresh, multi-course breakfast. The scones with orange marmalade was the standout.

One note: at the time (this may have changed) Google maps thought that the inn is about a third of a mile north of its actual location on Route 7. You won't be far off, but just make sure to check the worded directions on the inn's website, they are actually right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Delicious home cooked breakfast (mini waffles with maple syrup and orange zest! pineapple with brown sugar greek yogurt sauce! gluten free dutch butter cake!), spotlessly clean, Marja was a welcoming host that after our brief stay felt more like a trusted friend. The parlor with fireplace was lovely, and the location was incredibly convenient, a walk to downtown Great Barrington. There were a couple much appreciated instances where Marja went the extra mile, like leaving us breakfast (spice cake! yum!) to go when we had to leave early in the morning. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Marja and Robert are wonderful hosts. Marja suggested the perfect place for dinner nearby when we had a special need. She also suggested a local spa for my wife that could not have been better. Marja and Robert know their village and have done a spectacular job of renovating the Wainwright Inn to make it comfortable, welcoming and warm. The location is perfect - close enough to the village to walk and far enough away to enjoy the isolation of the country. The rooms met our needs and allowed both privacy as well as a sense of being "at home" when we wanted to use the common areas. This is an outstanding B&B and part of us wants not to share this information so that we can keep it "our secret!" Of course, that would not be fair to Marja and Robert - so if you read this and choose to stay there, enjoy! We know we will be back again, and soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Wainwright Inn was exactly what we were looking for. A welcoming and comfortable B&B that provides one of the best breakfasts I've had. Wonderful location as well. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This historic Inn is beautifully restored with great attention to detail. It was recommended by our Australian friends who stayed with Marja and Robert last year. We weren't disappointed. Our hosts Marja & Robert were only too happy to please. It is just 10 minutes leisurely walk into town for restaurants, cafes etc. Parking on site at rear was good. Lovely big verandah to sit and enjoy a wine or outside in the beautiful garden. Communal frig to use, TV and large living room with complementary port and sherry after dinner. Breakfast was fantastic ... alternating home cooked sweet and savoury main course in a cosy breakfast room. The Buckwheat pancakes were fantastic! Coffee and tea was available 24/7. Centrally located for Lenox, Tallowood, and Washington Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We feel very fortunate to have stumbled across the Wainwright Inn while looking for accommodation.

We were greeted by Marja upon arrival and were made to feel at home immediately. She ran through the basics thoroughly but quickly and let us know she would be on hand if we had any questions.

Our room (Berkshire Wing) was spacious, uncluttered, clean and the king sized bed was very comfortable - we had 3 nights of excellent sleep.

Marja and Robert were great hosts - not imposing but happy to have a chat and particularly to offer suggestions and recommendations for restaurants and activities, both in Great Barrington and our next destination, 100 miles away!

The breakfasts Marja cooked were amazing. Something different every day, filling but not excessive (although there is always the option to ask for more, and Marja ensured we were comfortable doing just that!). Marja was happy to provide a vegetarian option for me and I noticed that she accommodated a vegan diet also. There were always slices of freshly baked cake downstairs to eat with your cups of tea/coffee.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wainwright Inn to friends travelling in the area. Our only regret is that we are unlikely to ever be in Massachusetts again and therefore no repeat visit!

Thanks Marja and Robert

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words .
So happy you enjoyed our stay with us. We also hope you had a change to visit the restaurant we recommended in Battleboro.
Regards,
Marja & Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
12.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: £99 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing