We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you hope for in the Berkshires”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just came back from having a super time at Wainright Inn. The innkeepers, Robert and Marja, were friendly and enjoyed having conversation with guests. The breakfasts were creative and tasty, and they were warm and welcoming. They had marvelous suggestions to enhance our experience in the Berkshires, and they were knowledgeable about so many different topics, that it was a pleasure to just hang out in their presence. The house itself is beautifully appointed, and exactly what you would expect from a B&B in the Berkshires. We feel we lucked out when we chose Wainright Inn. It's a wonderful find!!!

Room Tip: There is a room on the main floor if you want to avoid staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just stayed in the Wainwright Inn from March 28th to March 30th. First our hosts Marja and Robert were most wonderful people who were a pleasure to converse with, who gave us most helpful places to eat and where to go to shop. Marja's cullinary skills for breakfeast were out of this world with waffles one day for breakfeast and poached eggs the other day (best poached eggs I ever had). The rooms were beautiful and roomy with a big bathroom in our room and were clean and had a lot of character. Shopping in Great Barrington was right near the bed and breakfeast as were fine restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobrosen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words.
We are very pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us specialy knowing that it was a first time in a B & B for some of your friends.
We are very much looking forward to seeing you again.
Don't spread the poched eggs secret :-)
Enjoy the spring/summer.
Robert & Marja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we have stayed here twice now and have not been disappointed. the inn is beautiful and charming, the location just outside of downtown great barrington can't be beat, and the hosts are delightful! this is our go-to berkshire inn!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revesduquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay that much that you came back again.
Yes, the two city blocks from the hart of the town is very pleasant, you park your car when you arrive and use it again when you go home.
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Robert and Marja, innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great welcome, on the phone ahead of time with Marja and when I arrived. Beautiful room, great decor, and delicious breakfast. The Inn is in Great Barrington itself, five blocks from the main shopping area and a five minute drive to Simon's Rock. I wish I'd found this before my daughter's senior year, but I plan to come back to keep exploring Great Barrington even after she graduates.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allimoore2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

We are so thrilled that you had a good time with us and it was very nice meeting your daughter for breakfast.
We are looking forward seeing you again.
Regards,
Marja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My family stayed here quite a few weekends over the winter and loved it.
While our focus was Butternut, the ability to walk to the town was great without having to deal with parking in the town.
Breakfast was always excellent and the owners couldnt be nicer.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your response.
We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed staying at the carriage house during the winter, enought snow for sure.!
We are looking forward seeing you again this coming winter and again have some wine together in the front parlor with the fire place.
Good luck with the move and your new house.
Regards,
Robert & Marja,innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday. And I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. There was easy access to everything great barrington has to offer. The inn itself is beautiful. We felt right at home here. Not to mention the breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper makes you feel like family. It was like a home away from home. The fireplace in the living area is perfect ad cozy. I highly recommend the wainwright inn when looking for a quiet get away.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCleary121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We only booked a night but I wish I stayed longer! The room was beautiful, it was just what we need no distractions just peace and quite. Very clean and proper. The beauty and charm of the vintage house is only out down by the friendliness and welcoming abilities of the care taker (Sorry I forgot your name). She made us feel right at home and breakfast was amazing eggs, fruit, smoothies and coffee with fresh pastries. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to get some quite time in, or for a big family looking to have a place to call home away from home. I took my girlfriend there for her birthday best thing I could have done for the both of us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandstrombru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

So happy you enjoyed your short but sweet stay with us, we are looking forward seeing you and your friend another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
10.9 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
173 reviews
7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: £131 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing