We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We truly felt at home in Wainwright Inn. Such warm and friendly hospitality by Marja and Robert.
Our stay was wonderful from beginning to end. We stayed in the Family Wing as we came with 2 young children. The wing was quiet with lovely decor and had very comfortable beds. One room had a king size bed and the other 2 twin beds.

Marja's home cooked breakfast exceeded ours expectation. She put so much thought into serving a well balanced meal. Everything was delicious.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KIDsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
95
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just came back from having a super time at Wainright Inn. The innkeepers, Robert and Marja, were friendly and enjoyed having conversation with guests. The breakfasts were creative and tasty, and they were warm and welcoming. They had marvelous suggestions to enhance our experience in the Berkshires, and they were knowledgeable about so many different topics, that it was a pleasure to just hang out in their presence. The house itself is beautifully appointed, and exactly what you would expect from a B&B in the Berkshires. We feel we lucked out when we chose Wainright Inn. It's a wonderful find!!!

Room Tip: There is a room on the main floor if you want to avoid staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just stayed in the Wainwright Inn from March 28th to March 30th. First our hosts Marja and Robert were most wonderful people who were a pleasure to converse with, who gave us most helpful places to eat and where to go to shop. Marja's cullinary skills for breakfeast were out of this world with waffles one day for breakfeast and poached eggs the other day (best poached eggs I ever had). The rooms were beautiful and roomy with a big bathroom in our room and were clean and had a lot of character. Shopping in Great Barrington was right near the bed and breakfeast as were fine restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrosen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words.
We are very pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us specialy knowing that it was a first time in a B & B for some of your friends.
We are very much looking forward to seeing you again.
Don't spread the poched eggs secret :-)
Enjoy the spring/summer.
Robert & Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we have stayed here twice now and have not been disappointed. the inn is beautiful and charming, the location just outside of downtown great barrington can't be beat, and the hosts are delightful! this is our go-to berkshire inn!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revesduquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay that much that you came back again.
Yes, the two city blocks from the hart of the town is very pleasant, you park your car when you arrive and use it again when you go home.
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Robert and Marja, innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great welcome, on the phone ahead of time with Marja and when I arrived. Beautiful room, great decor, and delicious breakfast. The Inn is in Great Barrington itself, five blocks from the main shopping area and a five minute drive to Simon's Rock. I wish I'd found this before my daughter's senior year, but I plan to come back to keep exploring Great Barrington even after she graduates.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allimoore2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are so thrilled that you had a good time with us and it was very nice meeting your daughter for breakfast.
We are looking forward seeing you again.
Regards,
Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My family stayed here quite a few weekends over the winter and loved it.
While our focus was Butternut, the ability to walk to the town was great without having to deal with parking in the town.
Breakfast was always excellent and the owners couldnt be nicer.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your response.
We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed staying at the carriage house during the winter, enought snow for sure.!
We are looking forward seeing you again this coming winter and again have some wine together in the front parlor with the fire place.
Good luck with the move and your new house.
Regards,
Robert & Marja,innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday. And I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. There was easy access to everything great barrington has to offer. The inn itself is beautiful. We felt right at home here. Not to mention the breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper makes you feel like family. It was like a home away from home. The fireplace in the living area is perfect ad cozy. I highly recommend the wainwright inn when looking for a quiet get away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCleary121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing