We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last-Minute Serendipity”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last-Minute Serendipity”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided at the last minute to drive from Vermont to Great Barrington, because we were so desperate for spring that even marginally warmer temps were desirable. We didn't have a reservation anywhere and lots of places were booked up, but we fortuitously passed the Wainwright and decided to give them a call. Marja was welcoming and friendly from the start and continued to make us feel comfortable throughout our stay. She took plenty of time to give us recommendations and offered to make reservations for us.

Our room was thoughtfully and comfortably decorated and the bed was very comfortable, (although it probably wouldn't have made a difference after our VERY fun night out at Allium, Gypsy Joynt, Isha Nelson Gallery and Castle Street: all recommendations from Marja.) After our night, we were glad to be a short walk back to the inn!

The Inn is a classic Victorian style, but has beautiful antiques and interestingly curated décor; Robert seems to be a bit of a connoisseur of antiques and auctions and may be responsible for many of the furnishings; he also offered good advice on where we could shop for antiques.

Thanks for a great stay and for the delicious kale, banana, strawberry, almond milk smoothie at breakfast! And the strong and plentiful coffee! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frstynrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We were so happy to be able to offer you the room that was cancalled in the morning, some things are ment to be right?
We truly enjoyed your company and are thrilled to learn you tried all our suggestions.and enjoyed doing it .
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you another time.
Have a great summer.
Marja & Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
108
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I brought my wife to this lovely B&B for a special b'day. We adored the lovely decor, delicious b'fast, cozy fireplace room, proximity to Great Barrington and the charm & care of hosts Marja & Robert!

Room Tip: The Edison Room (where we stayed) away from front of building (road) is the quietest. The Carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We are happy to learn you ejoyed your stay with us for the special birthday celebration.
We are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Robert & Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Charming. Well-kept. Close to Great Barrington's main strip. Marja even went out of her way to make a vegan version of the included 3-course breakfast. Good value, too, at $169 for a large Queen room but it may be more in the high season.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael86NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words,I am happy you enjoyed our veagen breakfast.
There is a lot I can make for you the next time you visit us.
Looking forward.
Regards,
Marja
innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We truly felt at home in Wainwright Inn. Such warm and friendly hospitality by Marja and Robert.
Our stay was wonderful from beginning to end. We stayed in the Family Wing as we came with 2 young children. The wing was quiet with lovely decor and had very comfortable beds. One room had a king size bed and the other 2 twin beds.

Marja's home cooked breakfast exceeded ours expectation. She put so much thought into serving a well balanced meal. Everything was delicious.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KIDsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just came back from having a super time at Wainright Inn. The innkeepers, Robert and Marja, were friendly and enjoyed having conversation with guests. The breakfasts were creative and tasty, and they were warm and welcoming. They had marvelous suggestions to enhance our experience in the Berkshires, and they were knowledgeable about so many different topics, that it was a pleasure to just hang out in their presence. The house itself is beautifully appointed, and exactly what you would expect from a B&B in the Berkshires. We feel we lucked out when we chose Wainright Inn. It's a wonderful find!!!

Room Tip: There is a room on the main floor if you want to avoid staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just stayed in the Wainwright Inn from March 28th to March 30th. First our hosts Marja and Robert were most wonderful people who were a pleasure to converse with, who gave us most helpful places to eat and where to go to shop. Marja's cullinary skills for breakfeast were out of this world with waffles one day for breakfeast and poached eggs the other day (best poached eggs I ever had). The rooms were beautiful and roomy with a big bathroom in our room and were clean and had a lot of character. Shopping in Great Barrington was right near the bed and breakfeast as were fine restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrosen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words.
We are very pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us specialy knowing that it was a first time in a B & B for some of your friends.
We are very much looking forward to seeing you again.
Don't spread the poched eggs secret :-)
Enjoy the spring/summer.
Robert & Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we have stayed here twice now and have not been disappointed. the inn is beautiful and charming, the location just outside of downtown great barrington can't be beat, and the hosts are delightful! this is our go-to berkshire inn!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revesduquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay that much that you came back again.
Yes, the two city blocks from the hart of the town is very pleasant, you park your car when you arrive and use it again when you go home.
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Robert and Marja, innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing