We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only had one night in Great Barrington while grandparents had the kids, but were very glad we chose the Wainwright Inn. The room was great, Marja and Robert were extremely gracious, and breakfast was to die for. We were thrilled with the whole experience, and will try to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shevah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We arelooking forward seeing you another time and hopefully a lttle longer there is so much to do and to see in our town.
Regards,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
108
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I were able to leave our kids with family in exchange for a quiet relaxing weekend for just the two of us in the Berkshires. I was pleasantly surprised- Wainwright was a perfect fit for us because it is small enough to be quiet, quaint and private but big enough to not feel like you are staying in a stranger's guest room. The rooms are very beautiful and the house feels to me like a Victorian-age mansion. We loved that it is a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the town shopping, restaurants and bars, so we were able to enjoy the activities we wanted like dinner, drinks and dancing and then walk home to a quiet house and sleep.

The food is wonderful! The owners Marja and Robert are incredibly accommodating and kind. The breakfast selection was delicious and filling and I noticed Marja was willing to cook different options for each guest depending on their preferences. The owners also gave us great advice on what to do while staying- which for us included a trip to the spa for massages and shopping in the different towns which were all a very short drive away. I would definitely recommend. -Andrea and Frank

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time away from the children, hope the troat is all better.
We are looking forward seeing you another time so we can speak some more about the wine.
Thank you for your kind words and have a great summer.
Robert & Marja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Wainwright Inn with our extended family for our daughter's graduation in May 2014. The innkeepers, Marja and Robert, were extremely hospitable, very accomodating, and cared that we had a wonderful experience when we were there. My parents stayed in the main house, while my family stayed in the Carriage house. The location was close enough to town that we were able to walk to dinner and shops every day, and helped us get our steps in for the day! The carriage house was a great place for us to get away, play some family games, have space to ourselves, but still feel connected to the B&B. I wish it hadn't taken me 4 years to find this gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are thrilled to learn that you and your family in our Carriage House and the Main house enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you another time..
Regards from both of us.
Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really had a great experience at the Wainwright Inn for two nights in May of 2014. The inn was clean, comfortable, and an easy stroll to the restaurants and night life in Great Barrington. Marja and her husband Robert (the inn keepers) were helpful, considerate, and friendly. She went out of her way to secure us reservations at a local restaurant. The breakfast was tasty with generous portions, the coffee good, the bed was comfortable and parking was ample. They couldn't have been nicer. Isn't that why one chooses a B&B ?

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are quieter. Also, our room was on the cool side but I prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heading-2-Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear you ejoyed your stay with us and hope evrybody made it safe home.
Looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Marja Tepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided at the last minute to drive from Vermont to Great Barrington, because we were so desperate for spring that even marginally warmer temps were desirable. We didn't have a reservation anywhere and lots of places were booked up, but we fortuitously passed the Wainwright and decided to give them a call. Marja was welcoming and friendly from the start and continued to make us feel comfortable throughout our stay. She took plenty of time to give us recommendations and offered to make reservations for us.

Our room was thoughtfully and comfortably decorated and the bed was very comfortable, (although it probably wouldn't have made a difference after our VERY fun night out at Allium, Gypsy Joynt, Isha Nelson Gallery and Castle Street: all recommendations from Marja.) After our night, we were glad to be a short walk back to the inn!

The Inn is a classic Victorian style, but has beautiful antiques and interestingly curated décor; Robert seems to be a bit of a connoisseur of antiques and auctions and may be responsible for many of the furnishings; he also offered good advice on where we could shop for antiques.

Thanks for a great stay and for the delicious kale, banana, strawberry, almond milk smoothie at breakfast! And the strong and plentiful coffee! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frstynrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We were so happy to be able to offer you the room that was cancalled in the morning, some things are ment to be right?
We truly enjoyed your company and are thrilled to learn you tried all our suggestions.and enjoyed doing it .
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you another time.
Have a great summer.
Marja & Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I brought my wife to this lovely B&B for a special b'day. We adored the lovely decor, delicious b'fast, cozy fireplace room, proximity to Great Barrington and the charm & care of hosts Marja & Robert!

Room Tip: The Edison Room (where we stayed) away from front of building (road) is the quietest. The Carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We are happy to learn you ejoyed your stay with us for the special birthday celebration.
We are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Robert & Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Charming. Well-kept. Close to Great Barrington's main strip. Marja even went out of her way to make a vegan version of the included 3-course breakfast. Good value, too, at $169 for a large Queen room but it may be more in the high season.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael86NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words,I am happy you enjoyed our veagen breakfast.
There is a lot I can make for you the next time you visit us.
Looking forward.
Regards,
Marja
innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing