We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my second visit to the Wainwright in the past few years. It's conveniently located a couple of blocks from the historic center of town. The innkeepers, Marya and her husband Robert, are charming and hospitable. A friend and I stayed there this weekend and had a wonderful experience. Both our rooms were great. Breakfasts included homemade waffles, kale smoothies, baked eggs, and very good coffee. Can't beat it for a place to stay in Great Barrington!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
94
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 great nights at this beautiful Inn. The entire experience was superb and the Innkeepers Marja and Robert are charming and delightful. I would definitely recommend the Wainwright Inn to anyone looking for a warm, friendly place to stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only had one night in Great Barrington while grandparents had the kids, but were very glad we chose the Wainwright Inn. The room was great, Marja and Robert were extremely gracious, and breakfast was to die for. We were thrilled with the whole experience, and will try to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shevah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We arelooking forward seeing you another time and hopefully a lttle longer there is so much to do and to see in our town.
Regards,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I were able to leave our kids with family in exchange for a quiet relaxing weekend for just the two of us in the Berkshires. I was pleasantly surprised- Wainwright was a perfect fit for us because it is small enough to be quiet, quaint and private but big enough to not feel like you are staying in a stranger's guest room. The rooms are very beautiful and the house feels to me like a Victorian-age mansion. We loved that it is a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the town shopping, restaurants and bars, so we were able to enjoy the activities we wanted like dinner, drinks and dancing and then walk home to a quiet house and sleep.

The food is wonderful! The owners Marja and Robert are incredibly accommodating and kind. The breakfast selection was delicious and filling and I noticed Marja was willing to cook different options for each guest depending on their preferences. The owners also gave us great advice on what to do while staying- which for us included a trip to the spa for massages and shopping in the different towns which were all a very short drive away. I would definitely recommend. -Andrea and Frank

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time away from the children, hope the troat is all better.
We are looking forward seeing you another time so we can speak some more about the wine.
Thank you for your kind words and have a great summer.
Robert & Marja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Wainwright Inn with our extended family for our daughter's graduation in May 2014. The innkeepers, Marja and Robert, were extremely hospitable, very accomodating, and cared that we had a wonderful experience when we were there. My parents stayed in the main house, while my family stayed in the Carriage house. The location was close enough to town that we were able to walk to dinner and shops every day, and helped us get our steps in for the day! The carriage house was a great place for us to get away, play some family games, have space to ourselves, but still feel connected to the B&B. I wish it hadn't taken me 4 years to find this gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are thrilled to learn that you and your family in our Carriage House and the Main house enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you another time..
Regards from both of us.
Marja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really had a great experience at the Wainwright Inn for two nights in May of 2014. The inn was clean, comfortable, and an easy stroll to the restaurants and night life in Great Barrington. Marja and her husband Robert (the inn keepers) were helpful, considerate, and friendly. She went out of her way to secure us reservations at a local restaurant. The breakfast was tasty with generous portions, the coffee good, the bed was comfortable and parking was ample. They couldn't have been nicer. Isn't that why one chooses a B&B ?

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are quieter. Also, our room was on the cool side but I prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heading-2-Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear you ejoyed your stay with us and hope evrybody made it safe home.
Looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Marja Tepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided at the last minute to drive from Vermont to Great Barrington, because we were so desperate for spring that even marginally warmer temps were desirable. We didn't have a reservation anywhere and lots of places were booked up, but we fortuitously passed the Wainwright and decided to give them a call. Marja was welcoming and friendly from the start and continued to make us feel comfortable throughout our stay. She took plenty of time to give us recommendations and offered to make reservations for us.

Our room was thoughtfully and comfortably decorated and the bed was very comfortable, (although it probably wouldn't have made a difference after our VERY fun night out at Allium, Gypsy Joynt, Isha Nelson Gallery and Castle Street: all recommendations from Marja.) After our night, we were glad to be a short walk back to the inn!

The Inn is a classic Victorian style, but has beautiful antiques and interestingly curated décor; Robert seems to be a bit of a connoisseur of antiques and auctions and may be responsible for many of the furnishings; he also offered good advice on where we could shop for antiques.

Thanks for a great stay and for the delicious kale, banana, strawberry, almond milk smoothie at breakfast! And the strong and plentiful coffee! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frstynrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We were so happy to be able to offer you the room that was cancalled in the morning, some things are ment to be right?
We truly enjoyed your company and are thrilled to learn you tried all our suggestions.and enjoyed doing it .
Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you another time.
Have a great summer.
Marja & Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing