We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Wainwright. The room (The Federal) was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. Marja, the Inn-Keeper was was friendly and fun to talk to. She suggested a couple of excellent restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a top notch B&B experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our second year in a row here and loved it both times. Lovely big Victorian on Rt 7 in Great Barrington with wrap around porch, clean rooms with comfortable beds and private baths. Marja is a wonderfully outgoing innkeeper happily sharing her knowledge of the area. Nice breakfast each morning, always with a sweet bread or cake to finish. Easy walk to the pleasant downtown of Great Barrington, 10 minutes to Berkshire Chorale Festival in Sheffield, less than 20 minutes to Tanglewood and 1 hour to Williamstown. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room on the second floor. There is a handicapped accessible room on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert21647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We missed Marja at check-in, her husband showed us in, but she clearly is in control as her enthusiastic welcome the next morning extended to working to please a particularly difficult diner with breakfast choices. Every morning there was a freshly made "sweet" to have with a cup of coffee. Freshly made breakfast was served, after one sat down, a variety of delicious food over three days. Our room was comfortable but being in the front of the house the traffic noise from Route 7 could keep a light sleeper from a full nights rest. We found the traffic noise was not an issue though it did keep us from opening up the windows other than in the bathroom to capture the cool night air. We were attending concerts at Tanglewood and the drive from the inn is a leisurely 20-40 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Berkshires. We were attending a friend's wedding and needed a place to stay. We decided to make a 3 day weekend out of our trip and are happy we chose the Wainwright Inn. The owners were very welcoming, pleasant and accommodating. The room was comfortable, quiet and clean. Our included breakfast was delicious and a different surprise each day.
The inn is charming and 2 blocks from downtown.
We highly recommend the Inn and would return if we visit Great Barrington in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was my girlfriend and I's first trip to a bed and breakfast as opposed to a hotel. It was a strange feeling at first, as if staying in a stranger's house. But Marja and Robert made us feel comfortable and right at home from the moment we arrived until we left. We enjoyed the small town sights and sounds from the beautiful front porch. In the morning we had some trouble waking ourselves up, but even though we were late for the mentioned time, Marja made us the most delicious meal, and made sure to attend to our every need.

This place is like a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and was just the distraction we needed for a night. I would certainly recommend the Wainwright Inn, and any time I'm back in the area will try to make arrangements to spend the night there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatthewFrazier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The beautiful old house had a very useful front porch, the breakfast room was so pretty, the cooked breakfasts were always special, and the staff was kind, helpful, and hard working. They will warmly accommodate your special diet requests--mine was vegan and they did it very, very well. The mattress was truly comfortable, and the room spacious and set up very well. We felt very well cared for here. And we enjoyed the 10 minute walk to the pleasant NE downtown--we did it as often as we could.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What a charming place full of character! Great service, great food, very nice rooms and awesome people. Was there during the World Cup and enjoyed the soccer bantering with Maryam very much. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy you tried and liked our suggestions for restaurents.
We have plenty more either walking or short drives and are looking forward to share them with you on your next visit.
Regards,
Marja, innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
10.9 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
173 reviews
7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: £131 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing