We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wainwright Inn saved my life.”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Wainwright Inn saved my life.”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was our first visit to the Berkshires and we could not have picked a better place to stay. We chose Great Barrington and The Wainwright Inn to be our base of operations thanks to an article in Boston Magazine. We frankly need to send Boston Magazine a thank you for the recommendation. The House is lovely, the grounds are charming and Marja, Robert and Darryl could not be more welcoming. Darryl's breakfasts are absolutely delicious and unexpected. Marja's recommendations for restaurants and attractions were spot on.

That was just for the vacation part of the stay. We arrived on a Wednesday for a 4 night stay. Wednesday night I started to not feel well. It did not seem to be anything too drastic so we continued on our vacation. I did not get better and finally on Saturday we decided to cut our trip short and head home. It was at this point that Marja convinced me to go to the emergency room. It's a good thing I did. My appendix had ruptured and I had to go straight into surgery. After spending Saturday night with me in the hospital, my wife was able to go back to the Wainwright and she was taken in and taken care of like a part of the family. They went far and above simple human kindness and we cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
108
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY suburb
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I can only add to the already glowing reviews. Marja, Robert and Darryl are our new family in Great Barrington. The inn is comfortable, the food is delicious and it's hard to leave. Marja made great recommendations for places to see - The Mount, Edith Wharton's home and which plays to see. Our 3 nights felt like we were enmeshed in Berkshire life and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coreyman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This charming Victorian home is as neat as a pin and picture perfect. Rates are a real steal for tourists and the breakfast served in the mornings is five star. The innkeeper, Marja, goes above and beyond to ensure that each guest is made to feel welcomed and plans to return.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EEB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac,MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have been to many B&b's throughout the country, and this is the best by far. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts superb. But most of all the inkeepers and staff are delightful, caring, helpful and know all the "stuff" you need to know to enjoy the area. We just returned after our sixth year. and it feels like leaving home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zugmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Marja, Robert, and Darryl helped make our stay in Great Barrington pleasurable. We started off each day with a delicious breakfast, and they took great care to accommodate my husband's food intolerance. They provided many thoughtful recommendations for events, activities, and restaurants, and make space for us to store our bicycles in their office.

The room was beautiful, and the location of the inn is ideal for enjoying Great Barrington's downtown. Great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

This is our second visit and as with our first, we felt welcome from the minute we arrived. Immaculately kept with clean, comfortable rooms, furnished to match the ambience of the 200 year old house. Breakfast by Darryl, is like no where else, and is worth being sure not to miss. We plan to visit The Berkshires often in the future and this is where we will stay.
Cozy, quiet and relaxing and only a short walk from the town center. Marja and Robert are fabulous hosts and can offer suggestions on local sites and restaurants. The best thing about the Wainwright is arriving, since you have your stay to look forward to. The thing we liked least was leaving.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersy
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I picked out the Wainwright off the web because of location and other reviews and I was totally satisfied with the experience and value. Nov. seemed to be an off month but there was plenty to do without the crowds and waiting I've experienced in the Berkshires in busier seasons. The inn is attractive and comfortable, the staff meets the balance between friendly/casual and respectful/non-intrusive perfectly. Breakfasts are delicious, interesting, healthy and just right in an elegant sort of way. We will be back to this gem again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing