We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I wish I could transport this hotel to every city I go to. No, it's not luxury but it's everything a traveler would want. The staff is friendly and can't do enough to help. Room was spacious, bigTV, refrig, microwave, clean and homey. Besides easy to connect free wifi there was a FULL breakfast included. If you're looking for a family resort, this is not the place but if you have business or making a quick visit to the Berkshires, this is the place. Take note Marriott, Hilton, Hyatt and the rest of the major chains that nickel and dime their clients. This place rocks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rastabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    67
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
50
63
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Similar to other Holiday Inn Expresses, this is a good choice for visiting the Berkshires. Well located for all major site, Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, Lenox, Stockbridge, etc. Room clean and serviced daily. Beds comfortable. The usual breakfast included- omelets, bacon, sausage, breads, cereals, waffles- and drinks and hot coffee available all day). Small indoor pool available, gym too.
Staff friendly and helpful. Patio in back with tables and chairs for sitting out or eating outside. In season for the summer, prices in line with most accommodations except the priciest. I do recommend it.

Room Tip: We have been there several times and each room has been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speculator, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This Holiday Inn had several cute shops and a brewery within walking distance. The hotel was clean with a very comfortable bed. The pool was a little small. It was indoors and at a very refreshing temperature. The hot tub was good too. They had a hot complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. The staff was very accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb48664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
440 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Rooms were well appointed, clean, and well-stocked with all essential items. Spent two nights, and even though we were on the first floor closest to the lobby, it was very quiet and peaceful. Kudos for the breakfast wait staff. They were attentive, friendly and anxious to keep all items fully stocked. The breakfast selections were extensive, and there were a number of healthy options (we need this because my wife is on a medical diet). Price was a bit high, but considering this was the height of Tanglewood's season, it was to be expected. All rooms in the area were full up.

Room Tip: Any room will work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a fine, generic, chain hotel. When you see the $350 weekend rate, you may think it is something special, but it isn't. It is, however, cleaner and fresher-feeling than many of the GB motels.

When I am in this area and choose a chain hotel instead of a B&B, it is because I want the stuff a chain hotel offers - early breakfast, coffee all day, the newspaper, and to be able to cancel on short notice if needed. I do like this property's cancellation policy - 6pm day of arrival. But breakfast doesn't start until 7am, and there is no coffee available before then. (Management - please see Hampton Inn for a good benchmark for dealing with coffee and breakfast.) On both recent stays, housekeeping didn't give us caffeinated coffee for the in-room machine, so we had to go begging at the front desk.

Pluses: There is a little fridge and microwave in the room. There are two restaurant choices right across the street.

Were it not for the inflated pricing and the management's cheapness with the coffee, I would have rated this 4 stars.

Room Tip: The first floor is basically in the parking lot. I hate that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St27Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear St27Boston,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the schedule of the breakfast. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Berkshires are beautiful and full of history, nature, and cultural functions. This is our first visit with Holiday Inn Express, we were quite pleased.
The hotel is quite well maintained. It is quiet and we had a large room with a comfortable king size bed. Everything is well provisioned. The staff is cordial and professional.
You have easy access to grocery and local merchant establishments.
Access to the hotel from Route 7 is all right, traffic is sustained but it is tourist season.
Frank, well Frank is the commander of the breakfast room. This gentleman is the paragon of hotel breakfast rooms. He is affable to the ninth power, efficient, diligent, and it is great to encounter a person of this caliber.
The hotel receives a high chevron from this writer, especially Frank.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Check in was pleasant 3 staff members falling all over each other to help. As priority members we usually receive a couple of bottles of water (one for me and one for my wife). Here they give you one (I guess they assume we'll share). The hotel is not clean. The stainless steel on the elevator has smudges all over the wall. A maintenance man joined us on the elevator and was not dressed very well - he should have been provided a uniform or at least a company shirt. The room was not well cared for either and the sheet on one bed was dirty - a stain that probably couldn't come out in washing - but to make the bed with the dirt showing was ridiculous. Throw it away!! The breakfast girl did not clean the tables. She stood by and watched me clean my table with a napkin. As guests left their tables she just sat and watched - did nothing. The OJ was mostly water. I told here it might be running low and she went over, tasted it, rolled her eyes and went back and sat down. Did nothing. On checkout the gal was personable but she looked very unprofessional. Like the maintenance man she needed a uniform or blazer and could have taken time to comb her hair. I'm used to seeing professional people hosting at Holiday Inns - here they are not. For 125.00 a night it should show better. In 2 weeks of travels this was the most expensive and the least value. I would understand if this were a Mom and Pop operation trying to make ends meet. Holiday Inn should be ashamed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredGuy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear RetiredGuy51,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant check in. However, I sincerely apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience you may have experienced due to the level of staff service received, room rates and how the staff's clothes fell below your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
365 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing