We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in this Fairfield Inn in April 2014. The hotel was brand-new and very clean, with attractive design elements, conveniently set back from Route 7 in a major tourist corridor just north of Great Barrington and south of Stockbridge. Although it is not quite on par with Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, or some of the better Comfort Inns and Best Western Pluses in the area, it would still be a great deal at $110 a night and an acceptable buy at $120. But at more than $150 (nearly $170 with tax and fees), I do not recommend it. There are better, more comfortable options available for the price.

The bedroom was clean and nicely appointed, with fresh, comfortable bedding, a nice work desk, a big new TV, and good wifi. The climate control worked well, though it was a bit noisy. The blackout shades did a great job of keeping the room dark. The bathroom had a big countertop and mirror and was nicely stocked with towels and washcloths. The water pressure in the shower was fine.

However, the beds themselves were not as advertised. This was supposed to be a room with two queen beds, but although they were wide the beds were much shorter than a standard queen, which made it a little uncomfortable for even the moderately tall among us. In addition, the bathroom has no fan - so there's no white noise separating the people in the bedroom from whoever is in the bathroom, and the bathroom also stayed fogged up for quite a while. Finally, the drinking cups were hidden out of sight near the TV, and they were flimsy plastic ones, not glass. I wouldn't care about some of this if I were paying $50 less, but...

We didn't use the pool or fitness center, but we did use the breakfast bar. It was attractive and the seats were comfortable, but otherwise it was not good. It had the usual mix of cereal dispensers and fake eggs with bacon and sausage, plus hard-boiled eggs and a few muffins. But there was no fresh juice or fruit salads as you'd find at most competitors, and no bananas either. There was a juice machine, but the orange juice that came out was either badly mixed or not real juice: it was painfully sweet and all but undrinkable. The coffee was also not good - (and I'm no coffee snob: I like Dunkin' Donuts and do fine with Maxwell House) - and there was no tea. Finally, the TV in the breakfast room was on very, very loud and showing English Premier League Football... Kind of cool I guess, if the decibels had been turned down... a lot.

All in all, I get picky when I have to spend $150 a night plus fees. And this wasn't worth it. For $110, this would have been a short, happy review noting a few defects but recommending it to others. At this price point, however, I say: avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Josh L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. We apologize that the breakfast was not up to your standards during your recent visit with us. We do offer the standard by Marriott for our breakfast options including the salt and pepper shakers and we will be passing on all your comments and suggestions to corporate. We have added fresh fruit salad to our breakfast and are continuing to make changes to provide the best options during our complimentary breakfast.

I would love to speak with you more about your recent visit with us if you could please contact me at your earliest convenience I can be reached at 413-644-3200. Thank you again for your feedback from your recent stay. We strive to provide the best experience for all our guests and comments and suggestions let us know what we can do as a property to ensure your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Alexandrea Watt
Guest Experience Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 315 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fairfield Inn is fantastic at this location! Rooms were immaculate, brand new property, well kept. Huge hot breakfast including Waffle Station! Front desk is helpful and friendly. But the best part of the whole stay? DIANA -- she is the Guest Services Rep and she is the greatest! I would stay there again JUST FOR HER! If you stay here, you will understand what I mean. GO!

Room Tip: Corner Room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joebizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Joebizz,

We are delighted that you chose the Fairfield Inn and Suites to stay with while visiting the Berkshires. We do have a large amount of items available at our hot buffet and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the Waffle Station. I have shared your review with all the staff and we wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us especially letting us know how much Diana made your stay that much more outstanding. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a newly refurbished, modern, clean comfortable hotel in the middle of the Berkshires. This is a great home base for anything you have to do in the Lenox/Stockbridge/Great Barrington area.

We were greeted warmly by Camille, who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. She always had a smile, and at one point when we needed something, she offered to bring it up to us rather than us coming down to the desk. The room was silent, perfect temperature, etc.

The breakfast is included at the Fairfield, and as one other person mentioned, more fruit! There are packaged Dole fruit cups......not a good alternative. The baked goods are very "commercial"-small hard bagels, etc. I think a little bit more spent (hard to do one something which is a pure expense for the hotel) would make it a bit nicer.

Would stay again, but I can only imagine the cost in the summer and fall!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Rhapsodyinblue,

Thank you for such a kind review about your recent stay with the Fairfield Inn and Suites. I shared your review with the staff and they were so happy to hear that Camille was able to assist you and you found the accommodations so enjoyable. We do apologize that you didn’t find the fruit options as appealing during your recent visit and we will certainly look into the options we have available. We do look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed here several times and it is ideal for kids and skiing at Butternut. The rooms are clean, they have movies for the kids/families, the breakfast is good (could add more fruit). The pool is fun and clean. I appreciate the exercise room with the TV.

My only complaint is it is getting too expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liligabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Liligabor,

We are so elated that you choose the Berkshire Fairfield Inn and Suites to stay with while skiing with your family at Butternut. Friday and Saturday evening during ski season we offer a family friendly movie to provide a little relaxation after a long day on the mountain and we are so pleased that your family found that and the pool so welcoming. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is brand new inside. From furniture to bathrooms. The lobby is amazing!! Check it out. Great location with a new experience. Beautiful breakfast area and hot breakfast items. Pool is huge and hot tub!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue123Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear sue123mass,

Thank you for choosing the Berkshire Fairfield Inn and Suites to stay with while in the area. The staff is so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the new renovations on the property. We do have a hot breakfast that’s included with every guests stay and a great pool facility with Jacuzzi as well. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire_Fairfield, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
9.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
185 reviews
12.4 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires

Address: 249 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1297 (Formerly Comfort Inn Great Barrington)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: £96 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires is a hotel in Great Barrington, Massachusetts, situated in the beautiful Berkshires. We are located near the area's best attractions and outdoor activities, including concerts at Tanglewood and the Lee Premium Outlets. Our hotel offers 93 comfortable guest rooms and luxurious suites equipped with high-speed internet, microwave and refrigerator. The amenities include complimentary breakfast, Jacuzzi, fireplaces, indoor swimming pool, fitness room and game room. Complimentary full hot breakfast for all guests! The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires offers a variety of exciting activities nearby including skiing, golf and romantic dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Great Barrington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing