We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No personality but clean, large room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
300 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“No personality but clean, large room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Ok so we usually prefer lodging with personality. B& Bs, boutique hotels. Obviously this motel is neither. What it is though is a very clean, chain motel with great beds (at least our king bed was terrific). You won't feel like you are in the Berkshires from the inside, but when you walk outside, you will see the Berkshire hills. Breakfast was pretty ok, lots of choices. ( plastic tableware was tacky). Good internet, take the free option. I watched Netflix without a problem. Oh, and if you run out of reading material, because it's a Marriott, in addition to the Bible there's the Book of Mormon in the bedside table. A definitely good choice for a short stay in GB if you don't care about the lack of character.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear NewYorkNYTraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to the Berkshires. I also want to thank you for mentioning some areas for improvement. There are so many choices for shopping, dining, and entertainment in the area. I am certain we can continue working on combining small town charm with the quality and consistency of the Marriott brand.

The Berkshire Fairfield Inn & Suites is dedicated to being the premier choice for lodging in the Berkshires. This type of input will help us in this mission and I can't thank you enough for your consideration.


Always Listening,


Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    77
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
93
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms very clean and comfortable. Hotel ends move away from plastic cutlery at breakfast - much too focused on the cheap fast delivery, doesn't work. Most staff were very pleasant and helpful with the exception of one female at reception who was nasty, rude and very unpleasant. We were there as part of a wedding entourage, her behaviour and attitude towards us marred what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. This woman, Jennifer would possibly be better suited to boot camp training or working with animals. She does not have the manner or personality for the service industry.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mary M,

Here at the Berkshire Fairfield Inn & Suites, we are constantly striving to offer our guests a more comfortable and relaxing stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend and would be interested in speaking with you regarding the areas that can be improved. Feedback such as this is essential for our growth in the industry, Please contact me at your leisure at 413-644-3200. I look forward to hearing from you.


Yours In Hospitality,

Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable and pleasant. The new manager Zack was very helpful. Breakfast was included and included FOUR waffle irons. We were there just overnight so we weren't able to use all of the facilities, but the room was large and comfortable. We had everything we needed. We saw Zack when we checked in. He made sure we got checked in OK and we saw him at breakfast. The hotel is back from the highway and nicely situated. We had a view of the woods. I recommend it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the right (facing the hotel) have views of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mike G,

I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! I especially enjoyed our conversation in the morning. Meeting wonderful guests like the two of you makes my job extremely enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you when you are in the area next time. Take care until then.


Sincerely,

Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Engand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff was welcoming, helpful, and extraordinarily affable from the moment we stepped into the Fairfield Inn. The location of this Marriott property makes it an ideal launching pad to all Berkshire towns, attractions, etc. The breakfast was free, plentiful, and rife with choices. The fitness center, albeit small, was just perfect for my needs. The family relished the indoor pool and jacuzzi. I would absolutely stay here again. Thanks for making us all feel so welcome. One idea to offer...consider updating some the games in the game room...would love to see some classic Nintendo games or a Ms. Pac Man.

Room Tip: First Floor near lobby keeps you in command central area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValleyVoyagerMangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ValleyVoyagerMangia,

I would like to thank you for finding time in your busy schedule to offer such high praise of our services and accommodations. We take a great deal of pride in making sure all our guests are treated like family during their time with us. Part of being great hosts for our guests is offering top-notch amenities to pair with our award winning staff. Nothing delights us more than receiving a review like this and hearing that you will be back at a later date. I can assure you that you will find more of the same fun and relaxing atmosphere you experienced on this recent trip. We look forward to seeing you later.


Looking Into New Arcade Games,

Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
344 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for three nights and slept like a log on every one of them. The staff is superb. The dining recommendations from the front desk were all spot on. The housekeeping staff were cheery and helpful. This place ios set back far enough from Rt 7 so that even if you have a front facing room (which I did) you won't be bothered by road noise. The room was spotless, everything worked and the free continental breakfast was simple and fresh (usual assortment of waffles, bagels, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, cereals, breads, muffins, and pastry). I did not iuse the pool or the weight room but there looked to be a nice collection of free weights in the gym. The room had a microwave and a refrigerator, as well as a couch and a hassock for reading or viewing in comfort. Free wifi was a big plus (I have often seen charges for wifi in full service Marriotts). All in all, a positive experience and I will go back.

Room Tip: There are ice machines on each floor, so you may want to avoid a room near these noisy appliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Trainman334,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service and accommodations in the Berkshires. I will be sharing your kind words about our staff with each of them throughout the day. If you enjoyed your time with us recently, try coming sometime in the Fall. The surrounding areas are absolutely breathtaking when the foliage begins to change colors! Hope to see you again shortly.


Sincerely,

Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel for my daughter's wedding with approximately 20 of our guests. The rooms were clean and exceeded our expectations for a Fairfield Inn. The staff was wonderful. The young woman at the front desk was so accommodating and passed out gift bags as our guests checked in. They made no fuss when I asked them to do this.

My 83-year old mother forgot to pack her stockings and went to the lobby. One of the employees offered to drive her to K-Mart. This was so kind and so small town. I was blown away.

The best was that our friends from Michigan checked in late and missed the bus we had arranged to take our guests to the wedding venue - 35 minutes away. The general manager got his personal car and drove them to the wedding. Now come on . . . when have you ever stayed at a hotel that provided this level of service? We were thrilled.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Cori M,

Wonderful to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us. I am new to the property and have found the staff here to be incredibly well-tuned and compassionate. They all seem to really embody the spirit of hospitality! Thank you for sharing such fantastic examples of the type of service I am happy to now be a part of. Make sure to come back and visit next time you get a chance. Take care until then!

Yours in Hospitality,

Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Do not stay here, support the local bed and breakfasts or any other hotel in the area but not this over priced rude chain hotel.

Negatives, seemed like they never ran into an interracial married couple and for one of the first times felt that negativity. If you happen to be a mixed couple, truly avoid. If your not out of support you should avoid this place to stop this type of thinking/treatment.

Rooms nothing great for the price, just stay at the motel across the way. Pillows, flat like sleeping on the mattress.

Ran into a manager who was the rudest person I met and acted like he was king of a very bad hotel.. I say avoid and stay anywhere else..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZackOxley, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Corin C,

Here at the Berkshire Fairfield Inn & Suites we take claims of this nature very seriously. I urge you to contact me directly at 413-644-3200, so we can discuss the circumstances surrounding your visit in greater detail. I look forward to speaking with you.


Zack Oxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
9.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Address: 249 Stockbridge Rd, Bldg 1, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1297 (Formerly Comfort Inn Great Barrington)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington, in the beautiful Berkshires, is located near the area's best attractions and outdoor activities. This hotel offers 93 comfortable guest rooms and luxurious suites equipped with high-speed internet, microwave and refrigerator. The amenities include complimentary breakfast, Jacuzzi, fireplaces, indoor swimming pool, fitness room and game room. Complimentary full hot breakfast for all guests! The Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington offers a variety of exciting activities nearby including skiing, golf and romantic dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Great Barrington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing