We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could expect from a microbrew pub”

Barrington Brewery & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1995 the Barrington Brewery has been serving our own Barn Brewed Beer and food made from scratch. We were the first brewery on the east coast to install a solar panel system that supplies solar-heated hot water for brewing and restaurant use.
Otis, MA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All you could expect from a microbrew pub”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We've been here several times, both by ourselves (my wife and I) and with various friends. The food is excellently prepared in all cases, I've never had a disappointing meal. Specifically I can recommend the Shepherd's Pie, the Chef Salad, the Herb Baked Cod, the BBQ Beef Brisket, the Classic Reuben, and several other sandwiches.

And then there's the beer. I'm a huge fan of the Black Bear Stout, but the Black and Tan and the Raspberry Ale are also very good. My wife LOVES that they have the local Johnny Mash (hard) cider.

The only knock is that the waitstaff service can be spotty. We've had outstanding waiters, and we've had some that clearly wish they were somewhere else. Last night we had an outstanding waiter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    199
    88
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A nice evening”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We dined here many years ago. Since our hotel is across the street we voted on a return visit.
We were quite pleased.
This writer enjoys unique beers, the IPA was splendid. My wife had a pleasant glass of wine.
The menu has extensive choices, we ordered a Shepard's pie (this writer) and my wife ordered an eggplant spinach casserole. Both were served appropriately hot, preceded by excellent bread and salad. I recommend the house vinaigrette. The bread receives a strong A on its report.
Your have a choice of many beers, wines,and nonalcoholic beverages.
Our server was tremendous. She was quite busy yet never lost her focus or humor. Plus she did a great job.
We left heartily satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average place with a very good vegetable pot pie where service is fair and the beer is tasty.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This place is an average brewery restaurant that is consistent. Rate it at 6.5/ 10.
Sometimes too loud and could be cleaner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

The Hopland Pale Ale is the best beer that I have ever had in the US. A little on the bitter side and nice and hoppy. The food is good bar food that complements the beers. Nice in the off season when the tourists go home, otherwise a bit crowded. The owners Gary and Andrew are nice people who do a lot for our community. I would recommend giving it a try if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffield, ct
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good beer, nice food, classic New England”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Here you will find good beer and food served either in a lovely garden or an earthy tavern dining room. This is classic New England. You could be in Vermont or Maine, and you feel caught in a little time warp. The old floor boards and dark wooden walls say as much. They only serve their own beer and it is actually very good. (Not always the case elsewhere!) Our party drank their summer shandy and amber ale. I also had their 5 beer sampler in which you get five 3 oz. glasses of their IPA, Port, Stout, and 2 more for just $6. It's a great value. We enjoyed their salads, one topped with chicken, the other with salmon. Our friends ate burgers with sweet potato fries. Everything was very good. Here is a quick message to the guys out there: If your wife likes to shop (d'uh !) take her to the Outlets at nearby Lee, Ma., and then bring her here for some chit chat, beer and food in a beautiful relaxing setting. A+.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athomeatfenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrington Brewery & Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Barrington Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing