We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Still Good and Service Much Better”

Barrington Brewery & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1995 the Barrington Brewery has been serving our own Barn Brewed Beer and food made from scratch. We were the first brewery on the east coast to install a solar panel system that supplies solar-heated hot water for brewing and restaurant use.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Food Still Good and Service Much Better”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Barrington Brewery and Restaurant. Went last year around this same time and had good food and not so good service. This time the food was still good and the service was much better. Our server was friendly, attentive, and efficient. There were absolutely no issues. We were seated quickly, orders taken with minutes, and food served to us in a snap.

I tried the cheddar ale soup this time and really liked it. I ate the reuben sandwich with sweet potato fries. The sandwich was served open and it was huge. I could only finish half of it, but it was quite tasty. The sweet potato fries were hot and crisp. My dinner companions ordered the chicken quesadilla and the chicken pot pie. They seemed to enjoy their meals as well. I ordered a raspberry beer to go with my meal. This was a refreshing and light brew with just a hint of raspberry taste to it.

I would go back again to try more of their menu and, of course, a few more of their great beers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    208
    89
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great beer”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

my husband and I went to dinner here.my husband had the bratwurst which he said was very good.i had the eggplant parm with spinach,it was good,not the best I have ever had but it was still good and tasty,they have homemade soup ,which was delicious.i had a light strawberry beer which was absoulutely the best I have ever had,it was so good.plenty of food ,wanted to try dessert,but too full.atmosphere was nice.we had a male waiter who was very good.really enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing outside dining”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have passed this place plenty of times and so we decided to try it for our anniversary. The food was great. We both ordered the brisket and quesadillas and they were good. The brisket was cooked perfectly I just didn't care for the extra BBQ sauce they put on it. The quesadilla was excellent. I hate beer but my husband ordered the pale and and it was actually not to bad. I had 3 sips! The house dressing was very vinegary but wasn't to awful. Would definitely go back. The outside was nice and quite and relaxing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazyhairlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent beer and food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I like very hoppy IPAs. Their IPA and pale ale were okay but not great. The homemade veggie burger was dry but the sweet potato fries and spinach salad were pretty good. Service was variable but the atmosphere is classic pub style.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SKDEWITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wareham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, food was tasty!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place has a really good beer selection, but the bar only serves beer and wine. So sorry ladies, no cocktails! My husband and I looked over the menu, which had a great selection of options, from soups and salads, to sandwiches, burgers and other miscellaneous dishes. We had decided on an appetizer to start, the Jackets. These were described as large baked potato wedges served with butter and sour cream and your choice of toppings. We were hoping they could be compared to potato skins, but were sadly disappointed. They were plain old baked potato wedges, practically floating on a pool of melted butter and sprinkled with cheese and broccoli. The broccoli was a little bit too crunchy for my taste. We both got cups of soup with our entrees, so I had the black bean soup (soup of the day) and he had the cheddar ale. My soup was very spicy, almost as if they had dumped a handful of pepper in there. I was quickly running out of liquid to calm down my burning tongue. My husband enjoyed his soup, so no complaints there. For our entrees, my husband went with Shepherds Pie, while I got the Sweet Potato veggie pot pie. The shepherds pie had perfectly seasoned beef, with some yummy mashed potatoes on top. My husband almost finished the whole thing. My veggie pot pie was delicious, a great vegetarian option. The broccoli on top was not too crunchy, and the sweet potatoes were creamy and delicious. The filling was also very good, with carrots and corn. Our meal also came with some beer bread, which I used to soak up some of my spicy soup. Our total bill came to just under $60, a little pricy but worth it. Overall, a great place to go with friends and family! Just be sure not to order the Jackets, unless you want to eat a baked potato cut into pieces.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrington Brewery & Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Barrington Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing