We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and love music...”
Review of Castle Street Cafe

Castle Street Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food and love music...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

An upscale setting to hear live jazz, we love to visit this place for dinner when there is live music in this intimate setting. The menu is diverse with something for everyone, and we have not had a bad meal. While it certainly isn't cheap, we enjoy the setting for music and dinner. The whole family can find something yummy to eat and enjoy the music.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    52
    19
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had high expectations based on other reviews; but, we were very disappointed. I cant figure out how a chef can make goat cheese tasteless; but, the chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese and asparagus had no flavor (even with some sort of vegetable based sauce.) Mashed potatoes were runny, and the vegetables had way too much oregano!!! Service was friendly, but lame. We had to ask for iced tea refills and then had to ask for ICE for the tea. We would have been better off at 5 Brothers Pizza joint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rshwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great dinner”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Anytime I go to the Berkshires I choose Castle Street Cafe. Their food is fresh and innovative with a seasonal menu. There is always something different on the menu. Staff is friendly and informative. Wonderful ambiance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Maybe the Meat based Dishes Are the Key”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we returned after a year for another Tanglewood visit and had pleasant memories of this restaurant. the staff are nice and pleasant but the food was not as we had remembered. My appetizer, a portobello mushroom, spinach, tomato, was promising but had too much dressing on it. My companion had a simple green salad which was fine. we both ordered fish dishes (salmon and trout) and were very disappointed. The fish dishes were served with too much of a lemon flavored sauce, the fish was bland and did not seem fresh. My salmon dish was served with quinoa, served cold rather than warmed so it added nothing to the dining experience. Overall, disappointing food, pleasant atmosphere and service but not certain it is worth another return visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Coming from Worcester area and met with my friend and another couple, two ordered appetizers. 'Crab cakes' was actually one crab cake and he stated it was "alright", not made with lump crab meat. For dinner three ordered the surf and turf and i believe one ordered a fish dish. Waiter was asked if filet was butterflied to determine what temperature to order. Waiter said it was not butterflied. When food came out the 'surf n turf' and fish dish was on bed of at least a 2 1/2 cup portion of mashed potatoes. Filet mignon was sliced (4-5 sliced thin pieces, ends overdone) and mixed vegetables were minimal, unseasoned and not consistent with each plate. Surf n turf included a whopping three medium shrimp that across the board were overdone. Overall I have had better food cooked properly and portioned accordingly at a chain restaurant. Our meals were disappointing for an establishment that crumb scrapes before dessert. Dessert was nothing to rave about either. Hope this is posted to show this cafe is mediocre at best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Street Cafe also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Castle Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing