We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonegate Mansion
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wind in the Pines(Great Barrington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (17)
    Filter reviews
    17 results
    Traveller rating
    2
    6
    3
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    2
    6
    3
    3
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 17 reviews
    Reviewed 19 September 2009

    The photos from their website are very misleading. I agree the outside is what it is but the inside is terrible. From first impression of the smell and the poor quality of repairs make for a very uncomfortable feeling. I know the place is old and I enjoy the supposely charm of this but when it comes to living there for a week means "not enjoyable". The heat had to be requested, the carpet was dirty, the a-c unit had paper towels stuffed around the unit to keep air from penetraing, the wood trim has never been painted, but the most uncomfortable was the bedding. The sheets are very old and are yellowish. The pillows, after stripping the pillow cases, were stained and the top bedding had rips and tears throughout. The carpet around the perimeter of the room had never been trimmed and was very ragged. It is apparent that the owners could care less about their place and are very cheap in their repairs and their taste of quality to the customer.

    Did not enjoy it and will not go back, and will advise the owners. I don't typically complain, want nothing in return, and will very much want to hear the owner's comments.

    • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank smeegel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2009

    Stonegate in the Berkshires of Mass. Review:
    Stonegate should not be called luxury or a resort by any means. We have been RCI owners for over 25 years and Stonegate was the worst vacation experience ever.
    There is no central air, just window units not capable of cooling the entire unit. We were confirmed to unit 1103 on floor one, which has direct access to the front porch, eight months in advance of my arrival. Upon arrival, Emma, the resort caretaker and receptionist reassigned us to the third floor attic because she rented our confirmed unit to someone else. If she rents a unit on floors 1 or 2, an RCI member is given an attic unit since no renter would want to go up three narrow staircases to stay in a unit with slanted walls. It was a basic bait and switch. Her hospitality and demeanor leave much to be desired.
    Be aware that Stonegate has been getting away with charging an extra $35.00 so-called energy surcharge (she insisted CASH ONLY!). RCI members already pay substantial maintenance fees and should not be forced to pay this. Since the building has eight units, that amounts to approximately $12,000 extra cash a year to them for no valid reason. The “resort” has no activities, or any amenities of any kind and during the summer, the mosquitoes around the building are numerous and ferocious.
    The RCI info sheet states all the BR’s have a queen bed, but there was only a small double bed because a queen would not fit into our attic unit.
    Our unit, 1302 did not even have a tub in the bath; only a small shaky shower stall that would not accommodate someone over 6 ft. without hitting your head.
    Also, she refused to give us a second key to the unit. Also, the exterior is in need of painting.
    We would not have even stayed there, but had already purchased tickets to events in the area for the week so decided to stay anyway. However, we left before the end of the week when one night bats entered our unit and were flying all around buzzing our heads. We managed to get them out of the bedroom and shut that door and confine them to the other areas so we could try to sleep for the night. We immediately left the next morning.
    Stonegate was a vacation in Hell, complete with bats. My advice is to go somewhere else. If you stay there, you will be sorry.
    See photos if you dare!

    • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank BossJersey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2008

    Stonegate is a nicely appointed facility that's close to town, but removed enough to be "woodsy". As there are only 6 units every visitor has plenty of privacy and they have been recently updated with decor that not only fit the period of the house, but also had a modern feel.

    There were 2 major problems with Stonegate. The first was the mattress on the pull-out sofa. My husband and I drew the short straw to sleep there and it took my back 3 days to recover. I've slept on pull-outs before, but this one was by far the worst. I think it's time to spring for a new mattress! The other issue we had was with the level of noise coming from the unti above us. Thankfully the people staying there were basically on the same schedule we were, however, it was quite annoying to hear not only feet walking around, but laughter and conversation.

    I would go back to Stonegate, though I would not sleep on the pull-out sofa and I would request an upstairs unit.

    Stayed: March 2008
    3  Thank staclinusa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 March 2008

    Booked this through RCI and directly with the property - have stayed there several times over the past five years. Love the ambience - lots of charm - with the comfort of a grand old home! Close to town and the woods - so can dine or hike to your heart's content. Cozy and romantic!

    • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank kmpmessages
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 April 2007

    We rent about 4 - 5 weeks a year thru RCI extra vacations. We love Stonegate. Perhaps we get treated well becasue they know us? We have never had the problems like the other reviewer. Beautiful old place. Very confortable. Great restaurants and shopping nearby.

    • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    1  Thank Bob A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews