We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, very different.”

Cafe Adam Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$50
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A chef owned destination restaurant featuring local ingrdient driven cuisine. Award winning wine list, full bar, outdoor seating, special events, and large parties can be accomodated. Menu features homemade pasta, raw oysters, extensive native wild fish dishes, house smoked salmon, and in-house pastry chef. The restaurant is owned by Berkshire Native Chef Adam Zieminski and was established in 2006. In it's new location there multiple dining rooms and an open kitchen. We suggest reservations for both brunch and dinner.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, very different.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had Sunday brunch which was excellent. Food appears to be locally sourced. Choices are varied and very interesting. If you're looking for the usual run-of-the-mill menu, this is not the restaurant for you. Although I did have their burger and fries at a later date that was also great. Beef was local organic, fries were hand-cut and the ketchup was homemade and delicious. The service was also very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    64
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Housatonic, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My cousin and his wife were coming into town. I would have been happy to cook for them, but they suggested, that since they were vegan, it would be easier to eat out. I chose Cafe Adam for a couple of reasons. I've been there before and have been extremely pleased. I knew they had a lot of vegan options, and I happen to know the mother of the owner/chef so I knew this was a great choice. Our service was attentive but not too in our face. The food was delicious and my cousins were very pleased and impressed. There are only a couple of really, really outstanding restaurants in our area and Cafe Adam is at the top of the list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not like what it used to be”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We discovered Cafe Adams several years ago, liked their funky website, edgy decors, interesting locally sourced menu with great "punch" of flavors and "out-of-box" wine and beer selections in a nondescript strip mall. We always had take-out of the home-cured salmon packed for our 2-hour trip home. Now that it has gone "up-scaled" to a larger nicely decorated space in another nondescript location since last year. The food, although is more "refined" with larger portion size for perceived value and "main-streamed" menu for more general audience. For example, the Tuna Bento Box is filled with other distracting, however "tasty" sides, such as summer spring rolls, and crab fritter, you can't properly taste the main attraction of tuna although seared nicely. The broiled organic tofu is nicely done, however, a bit heavy handed with the sauce and veggies. We understand that the limited season in the Berkshires to generate revenue. The restaurant is packed in late July. However, we really missed the beautiful Berkshire Pork Belly cooked two ways in the fall menu and other creative dishes that no longer offered.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Whether lunch or dinner, both the atmosphere and food are very enjoyable.

You'll find a beautifully-decorated, open space with several dining room choices
offering a very welcoming atmosphere.

The menu offers a broad spectrum of choices.
Irrespective of your selection, your meal is likely to be above your expectations.

A wonderful find in the Berkshires!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F-J-1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Delicious Food with Impersonal Service”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We dined with a friend from Pittsfield. She had heard the restaurant was good. She was correct, in so far as the food was concerned. Excellent TUNA BENTO BOX and PASTA. The service, on the other hand, was indifferent and impersonal. They never refilled our iced tea or our coffee. They never asked if we enjoyed our food. And they seemed to be perturbed when we didn't order immediately and didn't leave promptly. An unfriendly experience. Too bad, since the food was quite good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Adam Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Cafe Adam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing