We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back for sure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and will be back for sure.”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Reservations, check in and check out were simple.
Room and bath were clean and beds and chairs were very comfortable.
Surrounding area included restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms appear equally good. There are no bad .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    113
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
123
116
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Drove up to Great Barrington as a weekend lark and found the Lantern House Motel - so glad we decided to stay here. Room was super clean, well appointed and the location terrific. Owner is wonderfully accommodating and manages the motel with pride and terrific customer service. Will definitely stay here again when we come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyarmstrongowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The room was immaculate, large and well appointed with the added bonus of a microwave and a refrigerator. OMG! Free wifi. The owner of this independent hotel was extremely accommodating. We enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My cycling friends and I found the location, the service and the POOL fabulous. The proprietor, Hasu, went out of his way to see all our needs were met. The rooms were very clean and affordable, the morning coffee and continental breakfast was surprisingly good while the gazebo and pool were an added bonus.

The hotel is located just outside of Great Barrington where I recommend Bizen for excellent Japanese food or Joe's for coffee and an Arlo, as in Guthrie who occasionally performs in town. And a 10 mile bike ride to Kripalu if you'd like a rewarding massage.

We had a wonderful weekend and the Lantern House was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garynycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel for about a week and would definitely do it again. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great service and newly remodeled. Has rustic wood paneling that adds a nice, cozy feeling. Microwave and small fridge in room. Very clean and comfortable beds. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This was my third time staying here. The motel was easy to find, very clean, with a friendly staff. I like that the room had knotty pine paneling, adding to the retro motel vibe; a mini-fridge and microwave; and a table - good for playing cards when I traveled with a group. It is well located, close to downtown GB, and you can walk next door to the donut shop for breakfast and to Catherine's chocolates for delicious souvenirs. The heat works well and quietly. The beds were comfortable. My reservation has been correct every time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltimorefilmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This is a great little independent motel. Always clean - enormous rooms - love that they have a fridge and microwave and table to work/eat.
Glad I found this place!

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VermontGal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing