We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

So many people have written glowing accounts of Hasu Patel and his motel and I can now understand why. Actually, there's not much to add.

From outside it looks not much different from your average highway motel, well except for the Gazebo, inside is where the difference lies. A Clean and tidy room, great shower, beds were nice (my room had two, my preference was to the more firm one), microwave and 'fridge, WiFi, and a good value, particularly for the location.

The only thing that was a disappointment was that there was no breakfast on offer when I stayed. Yes there's a coffee shop nearby but breakfast was a missing item which was a little bit of a downer.

I'm often in the area and will most definitely put this little place to the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    113
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
123
116
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

First time here, will defineately return. Great value & location for $$. Nice size room with tv, microwave, refrigerator, own thermostat, lots of towels & hot water. Very friendly & helpful staff. Close to outlet mall & skiing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisab4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Brad and I have been coming there for a little over 3 years and great service, $ is right for a quick ski adventure, love the new rooms done over very well and sharp, This is how we heard about you through this on line experiences and I hope you to will take the chance on what I have written. Great Barrington is just so pretty, we are thinking about after retirement to plant ourselves here. And everyone here is so pleasant. Joann Kerr New London.CT

Room Tip: # 8 I love this room Thank you Hasu for the great manager you are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in February 2012 with our three-year-old. The room was super-clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is quite convenient as well. The owner, Hasu, is very friendly and spent a bit of time talking to me on the phone and explaining the different accommodation options, and even showed me an additional room when we checked in so I could decide which one I preferred. We were in Room 15, which is actually in a separate building from the main motel, and I loved it because due to the configuration, we had no adjoining rooms on either side of us. So not only was it very quiet for us, but we also knew our daughter wouldn't bother anyone with her early-morning wake-up call! It was also nice to be able to control our own heat on a chilly Berkshires night.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and 11 are in a separate building and both very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br1de2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had another wonderful Ski vacation at Butternut, and stayed once again at the Lantern. Also, my sister and her family came up this year and stayed there. The rooms are very clean, reasonably priced, warm and inviting and the beds were like heaven to sleep on. As always, Hasu Patel, the owner is very hospitable and attentive to his guests. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: The Lantern has a separate unit consisting of several connecting rooms that have their own bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean rooms, comfy beds, wonderful choice. He showed me three rooms to pick from. Great price too. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandracapozziello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Hasu's delightful motel on a number of occasions. It's my preference to the chain style hotels I could have stayed in just up the road. It's the personal attention Mr. Patel extends to his guests. When he knows I'll be arriving late he fills my ice bucket for me. The extra little effort adds to the value. Thanks Hasu.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,006 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing