We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great place to stay at an affordable price. The salt water pool is a nice touch plus the playground in the back if far removed from the road. Rooms are immaculate. Satu and his staff are very welcoming. Location is a five minute drive to downtown Great Barrington. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Howie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    111
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
120
110
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked a room here at the last minute and couldn't be happier. The owner was extremely pleasant and the room, while old fashioned, was fresh and clean. Comfortable beds, too! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

If you don't mind not having all of the bells and whistles, this is a great deal. The owner is pleasant to deal with. The rooms are clean and the bed is better than most for this price. The rooms have a small microwave, refrigerator, TV and wireless internet. If you use a hair dryer you should bring your own. I've stayed here twice now and will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

So many people have written glowing accounts of Hasu Patel and his motel and I can now understand why. Actually, there's not much to add.

From outside it looks not much different from your average highway motel, well except for the Gazebo, inside is where the difference lies. A Clean and tidy room, great shower, beds were nice (my room had two, my preference was to the more firm one), microwave and 'fridge, WiFi, and a good value, particularly for the location.

The only thing that was a disappointment was that there was no breakfast on offer when I stayed. Yes there's a coffee shop nearby but breakfast was a missing item which was a little bit of a downer.

I'm often in the area and will most definitely put this little place to the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

First time here, will defineately return. Great value & location for $$. Nice size room with tv, microwave, refrigerator, own thermostat, lots of towels & hot water. Very friendly & helpful staff. Close to outlet mall & skiing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisab4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Brad and I have been coming there for a little over 3 years and great service, $ is right for a quick ski adventure, love the new rooms done over very well and sharp, This is how we heard about you through this on line experiences and I hope you to will take the chance on what I have written. Great Barrington is just so pretty, we are thinking about after retirement to plant ourselves here. And everyone here is so pleasant. Joann Kerr New London.CT

Room Tip: # 8 I love this room Thank you Hasu for the great manager you are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in February 2012 with our three-year-old. The room was super-clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is quite convenient as well. The owner, Hasu, is very friendly and spent a bit of time talking to me on the phone and explaining the different accommodation options, and even showed me an additional room when we checked in so I could decide which one I preferred. We were in Room 15, which is actually in a separate building from the main motel, and I loved it because due to the configuration, we had no adjoining rooms on either side of us. So not only was it very quiet for us, but we also knew our daughter wouldn't bother anyone with her early-morning wake-up call! It was also nice to be able to control our own heat on a chilly Berkshires night.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and 11 are in a separate building and both very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Br1de2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing