We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
yardley, pa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband stayed here after I read reviews and the place was described as "recently remodeled and clean". He sent me pictures of a dark, drab room. We stayed at other hotels in the area for the same price ($150) which were modernly decorated with courteous owners. The owner called me to tell me that my husband had not checked out of the room and check out was 10am. He said he already rented that room and needed his things out to clean it. I assured him I would call my husband who was taking my son to mass and that he would be back soon to clean it out. He asked if he wanted to stay another night, and I said "I'm not sure" and I would check with him. When my husband got back to the room around 11:30 the owner followed him to the room and said he had to pay him $50 because he "stayed late". He said he was not staying another night. He told my husband he had to come to the office to pay the extra $50. He refused because the office smelled of incense and would not go to the office, so waited by his car to sign for the bogus overcharge. We have stayed at top hotels all over the world and have NEVER been charged for staying past checkout. Do Not stay at the Lantern, it is not at all as described on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cinpfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    113
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
123
116
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Berkshires has many different accommodation options and Motels fill a very important need. For this trip we decided at the last minute to extend our stay by one night and we decided to use this opportunity to spend the day in a different location. We looked for a place which was centrally located, was excellent value for money, and did not require a multi-day commitment. For simple, value accommodation this is an excellent choice

We chose the Lantern House motel based on reviews and we were very satisfied.

I can't vouch for availability at other times, but in late July they had a room or two availability with one days notice.

Even though the motel fronts the highway, the rooms are well set back and we did not hear any traffic noise at all.

What we liked:
- Check in was quick and easy
- Room location was nice. The owner tries to spread guests out.
- Kid and Family friendly. We did not try the pool, but it defiantly is kid friendly with a pool, a play set, and lots of open grass for running around, playing soccer, Frisbee or tag.
- The coffee. If your looking for a good cup of Joe then stay here
- The donut shop next door. Yes, they have all the tasty treats and breakfast sandwiches etc you could crave

What we did not like
- Our room had a "squeeky" floor in one specific location. We simply moved the table to cover it and it stopped bother us as we no longer walked past it.
- The in-room fridge was loud. We simply unplugged it
- The WiFi in our room was spotty (but we were the furthest room from the hotspot.) If connectivity is important, then request a room closer to the router!

Room Tip: This is s single level motel. If connectivity is important let the owner know so you can get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miklos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EASTPORT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We drove up to Great Barrington from Long Island, just to get away for a couple of days. We needed to find a motel room and pulled into the Lantern House Motel because the Vacancy sign was lit, it was centrally located, and very charming looking. Mr. Patel, the owner, personally showed us three different rooms - each slightly different from each other with different configurations of amenities and different prices - and then asked us which room we would prefer. That, in itself, was a unique experience. The room we picked had a comfortable king-size bed and beautiful honey-colored pine tongue and groove paneling. It had kind of a retro feel but everything was newly renovated and sparklingly clean. Mr. Patel is extremely friendly, very kind, and takes such good care of his property and patrons. We were very comfortable at his motel and the price was very reasonable. There is a gourmet market across the street and a handmade chocolate shop within walking distance. Also, there is a wonderful donut shop with delicious breakfast sandwiches and smoothies directly next store - although the motel provides a very nice continental breakfast with the cost of the room. We would absolutely stay at the Lantern House Motel the next time we are in the Great Barrington area and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was here for one night with my wife for visiting day at a near by camp. we were told about the Motel by other friends who have stayed her before. The motel is newly renovated and was clean. We stayed in room 11 with a king bed. It was a large room and even had a mini fridge that worked. The bathroom was adequate and clean too. They have a pool in the back and some lounge chairs.
The best part of the stay were the owners. They take pride in their Motel and it shows. Very friendly and answered any questions. We will be staying there next yea for visiting day but more than one night this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My classmate and I get together for an annual reunion in the Berkshires, and for the past two years, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lantern House Motel. Our rooms are each clean and comfortable, and Hasu, the owner, is most accommodating. We noticed that he did some updating since our previous visit, and we hope it continues. The only drawback each of us noticed was the lack of good soundproofing between our rooms.

Room Tip: Call in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thojofraski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Lantern House Motel for 5 days. While the facilities and service were standard and acceptable for this $200/night motel, the service was off. The facilities were run by a husband/wife team. While the husband was friendly and helpful, the wife was awful - mean, rude, and very disrespectful to my son, and my mother, and me on several occasions. This began from the moment I checked in, and proceeded to get worse. She even yelled at us and made an unnecessary scene with my son and me when walking back from the pool. To make matters worse, my son and I were playing catch with a soft ball in the large field, near an unused playground setup, at a safe distance from the rooms, and she yelled again, and directed us tp play way back near the woods, in a wet, uneven, buggy area just to be mean. Truly, she had no good reason to treat us like this and I think she is mentally deranged.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was skeptical when Hasu gave me a price of $65 for a room with 2 queen beds for a Thursday night. I had previously called the nearby Holiday Inn Express and Comfort Inn and their lowest price for the same accommodations was $170. The property is clean well maintained and the room was up to date beyond my expectations.

Hasu was extremely accommodating and very concerned that I was satisfied in all respects with my stay there. I would not hesitate at all to stay there again if my travels take me back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_Pais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing