We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the area”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After having looked at a variety of B&B's, Inns, Hotels and Motels in the Berkshires we chose the Mountain View Motel based on location, price and rating here on Trip Advisor. We found the room to be clean and comfortable with good bedding. The room could use the wallpaper removed and a coat of paint but it did not affect our stay. Coffee/tea is provided in the morning at 7:00 AM which is a plus as I am an early riser. The minus is that is is Keurig, which I do not care for. There is no type of breakfast. Overall, it is good value for the money and certainly clean. Very convenient to many sites in the Berkshires. It would probably not be a place for children as there is no pool or playground.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLPBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    41
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
55
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here when visiting the area for the weekend, The owner was very helpful and the room was clean and neat. It was warm and the beds were comfortable. It's a great deal for a simple place to stay in Great Barrington. Thanks to the owner and his family for helping to make it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There were families who had kids there and they seemed to be very accommodating. Plenty of room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a basic motel but if that's what you're looking for, don't overlook the Mountain View Motel! I've stayed in several motels and hotels in the area over the years. This is definitely the cleanest and best cared for. And really, when it comes to a hotel, I'll take a clean room over a pool or a continental breakfast. As other reviewers have stated, the room was simple (two queen beds, fridge, table and TV) but immaculate. The owner is a great guy as well. I stayed here for two nights in May and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My new favorite place to stay in great Barrington. Will definitely return. Convenient to everything. Modern room, great surroundings. Off the main road so a much better experience than most hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here many nights when I was working on a contract position at a local business in early 2013. The owner was extremely accommodating and went out of his way to make me feel comfortable. The rooms were simple, but clean and sufficient to meet my needs. All utilities worked perfectly. Will definitely come back, if my work brings me here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shriram54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed for two nights in a room with two Queen beds. Room was basic and immaculate. Effective heat and plenty of hot water. Moments from Butternut in one direction, 5 minutes from town in the other direction. Can't beat it for the price or location. Owner helpful and accommodating. Discount coupons available in office for Butternut.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 4 I would reccomend the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good old fashioned motel - it is what it is. The rooms are a bit dated but super clean and have mini fridge and microwave. Could use a coffee machine or something in the room instead of having to get over to the office for coffee in the morning when its freezing out. Room was very warm. Owner can do a deal on lift tix for butternut which saved us a few $$$

Room Tip: Some rooms are right next to a Chinese restaurant. Ours was quite near but didn't give us any pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
9.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 304 State Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1461
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing