We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Food, Great Atmosphere”
Review of Gibbet Hill Grill

Gibbet Hill Grill
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Had a wonderful Birthday dinner here with family. Relaxed but refined atmosphere (all types of dress - from jeans to elegant attire) with lovely pastoral views. Although the variety of the menu was not large, it had a good array of choices, which were all freshly prepared in the kitchen which was within view. They make use of fresh, local foods and they are wonderfully prepared. All members of my party raved about their appetizers, dinner, desserts and the top-notch service we received.

Definitely will return here!

Note: This is a BUSY restaurant on weekends. Make reservations well in advance (at least 5 days) for optimum seating.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    129
    58
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, excellent beef”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We've eaten at GHG at least a 1/2 dozen times. It's consistently good, even during the Christmas Holidays (when some restaurants fall flat on service, attitude and quality of food) with a large crowd (10 of us) we still had good service and the food was great. The mussel appetizers are some of my favorite out of all the local places I've eaten (Nashua, Hollis, Milford, Brookline and even Boston). The ambiance is really nice, a large fireplace dominates the main dining room, and is very welcoming. The "silo" dining rooms (one downstairs, one up) is great for a party of 6 and they offer great views of the fields as well as the beef! ;-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Beef in New England”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you want a "country atmosphere" with rolling hills and black angus roaming the hills, this is the place to go for a delightful evening out. The food was exquisite, the fish is great served atop chowder. The beef is absolutely scrumptuous! Enjoy this special place in the countryside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charger06Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic steak and service”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Tried Gibbet Hill for the first time and loved it. The food was great. I got the Porterhouse and my husband got the large bone in sirloin both were excellent! The staff were very attentive also. On the expensive side but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Visited on a Saturday night in September. Great atmosphere, menu and service. Fairly priced menu with lots of good choices. I wish they made getting a reservation a little easier.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mass_traveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbet Hill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gibbet Hill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing