We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ever Been to a Holiday Inn?"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Homosassa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"Ever Been to a Holiday Inn?"”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Sorry, couldn't resist the line from a Turtles album from the 60's. Newer building. Rooms were good sized, breakfast OK, staff was corporate nice. Internet included. In general, it was a good place to stay. Doesn't blow you away, but wouldn't expect it to.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    111
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
32
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I checked into this hotel and 10 minutes later we checked out.
We walked into our room, put our luggage down and surveyed the place. Much to our horror,
the white sheet covering the bed had a dried blood stain on it. That definitely led to further inspection. The sheets were not only worn and rough but there was hair(lots) on the sheets and pillow cases in both beds. The carpet was stained and filthy as well. We obviously decided we couldn't stay in this hotel and went to the front desk to advise them of the change in our plans and the reasons why. The young woman at the desk was very unprofessional in her handling of the situation and did her best to tell us that we were under the 24 hour cancellation time frame. We insisted we weren't canceling but the room and the hotel were unacceptable. Finally, she refunded our money. We went down the road to the Courtyard Marriott where the room was clean, the beds spotless and the cost less! Travelers to Amherst, Beware!!!! The Holiday Inn Express should be avoided!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pattikwestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear pattikwestfield,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unusual condition of your room and the poor service you received from our staff. I'm grateful you brought this to our attention as this enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,


Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, NY
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Set far enough from road to eliminate road noise and surrounded with varied shrubbery that pulls in the birds, this motel is a good value for the money. Spacious rooms, well-appointed and large breakfast area. Clean. Sufficient supplies. Free wireless. Yet, still reasonably-priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The rooms here are average--plain and unadorned, but clean and well kept. The mattresses left a lot to be desired; they are well past their prime and need to be replaced. The microwave and refrigerator in the room were nice amenities to have. The hotel staff is amazing--friendly, warm, accommodating--and make each guest feel that they are special and welcome and genuinely cared about. Every staff member we dealt with, from the front desk staff and managers to the breakfast people to the housekeepers, were all gracious, pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancycraigmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Most accommodating staff. Front desk staff was very welcoming, accommodating, personable and friendly. Rooms were clean and well kept. Was upgraded complementary to a suite...nice added bonus! The breakfast staff even offered me muffins and juice although breakfast ended 30 minutes prior to my arrival.

Would highly recommend this property for your stay in the Hadley/Amherst area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContinentalFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent two nights and was looking for a serviceable hotel for working in the room. Bedding was acceptable, middle of the road. Windows were tight and modern and helped reduce traffic noise. Mini fridge and microwave in room are nice additions. Also, it had a in-room coffee maker. Curiously, the bathroom had only one switch controlling lights and the noisy exhaust fan, so if you just want a glass of water in the night you risk waking your roommate with the fan. Shower was acceptable, but no shower head on a hose just a fixed head. The work table and chair were serviceable, but there was no power socket except the wall socket under the table that you have to crawl on your hands and knees to reach?!? A pain. Work table is starting to show its age and is a little beat up, carpet is starting to show some wear as well. Room lighting is all CFL bulbs, good. But, the setup has a very bright wall mounted reading light next to the head of the bed and a table lamp on the work table across the room now operated by wall switches was a bit awkward. The free wireless was strong and free. The flat panel LG television was good.

Front desk and staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast was the standard and free. Finally, access to the hotel was a bit awkward as well. You have to come in on Russell Street, drive past the hotel make a U-turn and come back a block to the hotel. To exit you drive thru neighboring parking lots to the street access point. Not easy in and out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professorgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for a night during a trip out to Amherst. Pretty standard across the board. Staff was very friendly, checkin was easy, room was smallish, clean enough, bed wasn't the most comfortable I have slept in, but certainly not the worst. The breakfast was actually pretty good. Very good selection, not the usual continental. There was a pancake-making machine, eggs, breads, coffee, juice, etc. All in all not a great value, but the location is very good as it is quite close to the University of Mass., restaurants, shops, etc.

Room Tip: Bottom floor by the back exit was not a great room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing