We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good stay for the price”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed there a weekend visiting our son at college. The room we had a lovely view over some woods and was quite comfortable. The free internet worked. They had free breakfast with the room that had some issues (eggs made with some mixture), but overall had a good variety -- and you could have a healthy breakfast. There were a few loud guests that made some noise (maybe some signs in the halls to keep quiet after 10PM would help), but overall, it was a very pleasant place to stay and get a good night's sleep. Wouldn't rate so highly if we paid more, but given the price, it was great.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the wods in the back if you like such views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Robby71,

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Hadley. We are so happy that you enjoyed the amentities here at the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that there was noise in the halls after 10pm. We do have a guest service agent at the desk 24 hours who can assist you with any noise complaints during your stay if they arise.

We hope to see you again when you come for your next visit to see your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    111
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
32
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

visiting colleges in the area and chose this HI Express. This the second HI Express we've stayed in and been impressed with (other being in Playa Del Carmen Mexico). Husband travels quite frequenlty for business and also agreed, HIE has very state of the art rooms, immaculate, newer bedding, furniture, WiFI, etc.. Tons of different pillows (firm, soft). Matress was extremely uncomfortable but not fault of hotel. Great breakfast area, very quite as its on main road but set way back off the road. Had a queen suite which was huge. Furniture looked brand new and actually quite nice. Would stay again in a heartbeat if we return to area...

Room Tip: Queen Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERCUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Ercur,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We look forward to seeing you when you return to this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Patchogue, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Holiday inn isn't our usual hotel chain. We are a family of three visiting extended family, and wanted to stay very close, and not willing to drive 20 or 30 minutes out of town. The second hotel I called had no vacancies, and that clerk suggested this HIE.

The queen size suite is 2 rooms that could accommodate 6 (between the 2 beds and the sofa bed in the separate sitting room). It was roomy. The light bulbs were compact fluorescent and harsh. The bathroom was large and clean. The suite had a separate bar sink, microwave, and small prep area.

I looked at the pool and it seemed clean, but we did not have time to swim. It was due for its periodic cleaning, according to the hotel's website. I saw 2 treadmills in the adjoining fitness room.

We did not stay for the complementary breakfast, though I grabbed some coffee and hot chocolate. It seemed adequate, the usual fare, with disposable plasticware and cups.

We were happy with the accommodations. I was disappointed by the lack of response after accidentally leaving some property behind. A response to my inquiry would have been appropriate.

Room Tip: stayed in a Queens Suite on 3rd (top) floor. Mostly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear ChrisP,

We were pleased to hear that you stayed with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Our two queen suites are quite roomy for large families traveling together and we were so glad you enjoyed the space.

We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you had with an item that was left behind. Please contact the hotel directly at your earliest convenience the management team would love to hear more about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was great for our UMass visit since it's practically around the corner. The room was clean, front desk was pleasant and they do have a complimentary breakfast although we only got coffee and a muffin and brought it back to the room. It really was fine for the purpose of a one night stay and even a two night stay would be fine, it's a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mjasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Mjsap,

Our staff appreciates your positive feedback and kind words. Please come see us again for your next UMass visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Convenient location to the school, less than a 5 minute drive. Front desk friendly and helpful. Room clean. Beds need to be updated. Good breakfast to get us started. Room was quiet. Plenty of dining in the area and shopping for students. No street noise.

Room Tip: Away from elevators which ring when doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sox60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Sox60,

Thank you for choosing us to stay with during your recent visit to the Amherst-Hadley area. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we offer here at the hotel. We shared your review with the staff and they were so delighted to hear that they could assist you while you were staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Building and furnishings are quite new. The rooms and bathrooms are very big with lots of space, especially nice if traveling with a family. Beds are very comfortable. The whole building is maintained very well. Microwave and frig in the room is nice to have. Breakfast is expansive, with many hot items such as pancakes, eggs, meat (either sausage or bacon), and tater tots, along with all the normal cold items like cereal, pastry, and fruit. Didn't try the indoor pool or hot tub, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbavguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Hbavguy,

The staff at the Holiday Inn Express would like to thank you for your review and are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and breakfast items. We look forward to seeing you in the future for your lodging needs while in the Amherst-Hadley area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express – no more, no less. Decent rooms, very basic “continental breakfast,” good value for money. Front desk staff were helpful. Good location in the Amherst area, but you’ll need a car to get to town or to any restaurants other than fast-food places.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Phil C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always happy to hear from our guests. We are delighted to share that since your stay in April 2012, we have renovated our public spaces and guest rooms. There is now new carpeting, chairs, sofas and much more in our rooms and public spaces. Our continental deluxe breakfast has even evolved as well to include scrambled eggs on some days and french toast! We hope that you will come see our newly renovated hotel soon.

At Your Service,

Stephanie C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing