We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paid too much for location..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hadley
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“paid too much for location..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was my second year staying a night with my daughter who was attending umass amherst vet camp. my mistake for waiting too long to book beacuase all of a sudden everything was sold out like the comfort inn which we had stayed at last year. tried to book online in a panic -got the last room here at a triple a discount and made the mistake of hitting back and lost the room. called the hotel and they couldnt give me that discount now but had that one room which I booked in a panic. So when I checked in and entered the room I was assaulted by a super strong chemical smell that appeared to be coming from the handicap bathroom. I tried to open the windows best I could but since its on the 1st floor wasnt much. Went to the front desk and they gave me a spray febreeze like thing. Even after vigorous spraying that underlying harsh smell remained. When I picked up my daughter and took her to the room all she could say was what is that smell? As i said we stayed at the comfort inn maybe 7 minutes down the road the year before , had a fridge and a lovely room for so much less .. motto of the story i guess is book early, these amherst hotels sell out for sports shows ect in may and can charge whatever they want because of the demand , many different buses at this hotel. very disappointed how much I paid for the really basic room and that terrible smell...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corb2000msn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    48
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
32
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is good, clean, basic hotel. Great friendly staff.

Would stay again in area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cttraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Prices can be high for rooms in this area because there aren't a lot of options. In general, the staff at the Hadley Econo Lodge provides service like you'd find in more expensive lodging, instead of the budget category of this hotel. They are friendly and they work hard.

The rooms are fairly basic as you might expect, but there's a lot of natural light because the rooms are not the standard long narrow spaces due to the location of the bathroom. Instead of locating it on the short wall adjacent to the hallway, it's on the long wall of the room. The 2-bed rooms have full size beds, not queens so they're not cramped, and there are extras like a full length mirror, iron, ironing board, coffee maker in the bathroom, and free WiFi.

Our room was kept clean, but I did find more flaws than a more expensive hotel might have allowed -- a small hole in the shower curtain, a slight stain on a blanket. I could have asked for replacements if it really mattered. What's more important to me is that the front desk staff was grateful to hear about these issues at checkout. And when the toilet wouldn't flush, there were two employees in succession pretty quickly until the problem was fixed.

The breakfast is better than adequate, but I was surprised that there was no peanut butter either morning. The computer and printer in the lobby worked fine, and guests seemed to enjoy the pool. I'd stay here again, no problem.

Room Tip: As other noted, the back of the hotel is quieter. Don't miss the pastry shop down the road, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Not the place to go for a vacation or looking for luxury, but fine for a convenient overnight. We spent one night while visiting colleges in the area. The location was convenient for our needs, but it is on a busy road - there are several other motels/hotels nearby - with a shopping area behind (including Panera which was great for a quick and easy breakfast). The room was small and ordinary but very clean. The best part was the friendly and helpful staff. They were able to give us accurate directions, make dining and activity suggestions (all of which were great!), and offered shopping advice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the building. The main road is audible in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carries529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel located on major highway in Hadley, next to a mall, close to Amherst, with only a few fastfood restaurant within a walking distance. Room was good for price we paid, clean, somewhat noisy, free wifi, breakfast was barely OK, not a lot of options. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night while visiting a school in the area. Our room was very clean and quiet, the price was right, and the location was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. As an added bonus, there was a Dunkin Donuts right next door. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firefly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Note to manager: Please train Josh and Valerie on how to treat valuable customers.
I book Choice hotels 200 nights per year while working in various states.
On this reservation I worked all night (later than usual) and called 6:25am to let the staff know I would arrive after 7am. Josh said he would see what he could do. I got a voicemail 45 minutes later stating that they haven't seen or heard from me so they couldn't hold the reservation any longer. I called back and Valerie got smart with me and said me "apparently you don't know the rules". No concern, no attempt to help, and even a little condescending. AND I later found out from customer service that they had booked another reservation without my consent. To avoid things from getting any worse, I called and politely requested Valerie cancel it. Politely, even thought I was fuming I decided to deal with it as calmly as possible.
The saving graces: New hotel. Clean. I stayed here the night before and the receptionist was rewardingly helpful and cognizant of my Choice Privileges status. The room was comfortable. The price was a good value.
The irony: Even I was working a distance away, I was willing to drive 20 miles to this location because of the good reviews.
So I'm going to be fair with 3 stars because somehow 2 bad apples named Josh and Valerie slipped past management. Shame.
I also agree with one reviewer about thin walls. I could hear conversation or TV (not sure) from an adjacent room but that didn't really bother me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousExpectation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.9 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hadley

Property: Econo Lodge Hadley
Address: 329 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-3535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hadley Hotel Hadley
Hadley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing