We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Decent Value”
Review of Knights Inn Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Hadley
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Value”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking to stay in the Amherst/Hadley/Northampton area for a staycation of sorts. We chose the Knights Inn, as it was the least expensive option of all the accommodations in the area. Located on Route 9 in Hadley, it is near many other hotels, as well as restaurants, the movie theater, the local mall, several grocery stores (including Whole Foods and Trader Joe's, if you prefer those types of places), CVS Pharmacy, the post office, it's all right there within a mile or two. I didn't meet the owner, as my boyfriend checked us in, but he didn't report any problems. The Knights Inn is a motel and it is only one floor. It is a "no-frills" option, as it were, but I found it to be clean and adequate for our one night's stay. Yes, the TV is a bit old. Yes, there isn't a ton of counter space in the bathroom. Yes, it's odd that there is no actual blanket on the bed, just the comforter that everyone who stays in a hotel takes off, expecting a blanket underneath. Yes, the air conditioner is loud. But it has a fridge and a microwave, it has wi-fi, it has cable (including HBO), it has a free continental breakfast (which I can't comment on because we didn't indulge). It was clean, relatively quiet, and cheap. There is a Mexican restaurant literally right next door that people seem to love, though I've never been there. Bottom line? I can't complain, I'd stay there again, and I think some of the reviews touting this as an awful place are unfair. It's a bit outdated and if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look elsewhere. But if you need an inexpensive, clean place to stay for a night or two? This is a decent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chedeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    11
    11
    16
See reviews for
22
11
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Staff so friendly after a 7 hour drive. Very helpful with my dumb questions. Maybe a mid to high price but with the colleges in the area you can't find a better deal. Huge bathroom big room, quiet. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 while in town for a college graduation. WOW, was this place overpriced for a fairly rundown motel. Air conditioning unit on the outside back of the building was WICKED loud. I thought it was a tractor-trailer truck idling!!

Room was filled with what looked like used furniture. Just an old motel. And paying about $150 for the room was so ridiculous we felt REALLY taken advantage of that night. If you are going to have a motel in below average condition you can't gouge people just because it is a college graduation weekend near UMASS. That isn't right.

Room Tip: Keep looking for different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSoxRule27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadley hotels

Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The add is false advertising. There was NO microwave or refrigerator in the room. I bought soup from a restraunt and had no way to keep it cold .I had to throw it away. Only 2 small thin towels in room for 3 people. Was second guessing me when asked for more. Pillows paper thin and get only 1 per person. The tv was older than my parents. Not even 19" push button with radio dial on it. Tube style that needed to heat up before picture, not really color.. umm maybe shades of pale color. Stayed 2 nights for graduation. They didn't even dump garbage,make bed, or take dirty towels way after first night. Coffee in moring is fine but only powder creamer.guess there frig. disappeared also. No closet, or vanity in bathroom , have to put clothes, toiletries, hair products...ect in sink. The picture must be a staged room because that was not the furniture in my room. So much went bad that I would not stay there again and would travel to springfield for a room nexttime.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Be very careful of this place. The owners are nice people who try. But they are limited with the property. The walls are PAPER thin, no getting around that. Some rooms have portable heaters which is kind of scary. The toilets run and the TV's although functional, are very old. I will say the room was clean and the carpet and paint seemed new.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 679Bruschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This used to be such a great place for the price, but now there is a little wear and tear all over the place. Carpets look old and are stained along with torn lamp shades. TV's are losing picture and our room smelled of cigarette smoke. I hope the owners are not letting this place deteriorate! There is so much to do in this area, that, if all you need is a place to sleep, this hotel was perfect! Not anymore.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTrueStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was booked this hotel through hotwire as a 2 star hotel and paid quite a bit ($82/nt). The room was in POOR condition and extremely dated. Old carpet, 2 torn lamp shades, ZENITH tv, beat-up furniture (missing knobs etc). For heat, a space heater was left in the room! A sink was once in the main room but all that remained was capped pipes protruding from wall. The bedding was old with 2 flat pillows. We were there 3 nights and only 1 bottle of shampoo was supplied for the entire stay. We will never stay there again. NOT A 2 STAR HOTEL!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 135Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Hadley

Property: Knights Inn Hadley
Address: 208 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor heated pool; comfortable Cloud 9 bed; wireless internet access, On the House hot breakfast buffet, 100% Hampton guarantee, 24-hour coffee/tea in lobby, business center, conveniently located just off I-91, minutes from UMass Amherst, Smith College, Hampshire College, Mt. Holyoke College & Amherst College. Minutes from downtown Northampton. Hotel opened in 2005. #1 Hampton Inn in New England according to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Hadley Hotel Hadley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing