We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricepoint seems high...although would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Seems a bit expensive for this time of year.

Facilities were what we'd come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Only one surprise: the breakfast buffet is not complimentary. I didn't see any signs or menus. Certainly, we didn't mind paying, but this appeared to be the standard free-breakfast setup.

I agree. You can hear the hard-walkers in the room above.

Small pool. Wonderful heated spa. Nice, 24-hour gym.

Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

A little pricey for the area but worth it. My husband and I traveled with our teenage son to look at some of the colleges. Very close to UMass and Amherst College. The facilities are all new. We chose a king bed with a pullout coach on the top floor (I had read in earlier reviews that it's noisy on the bottom floors, and it was very quiet where we were). My son seemed to sleep OK, but the room could have been a little bigger. The bathroom had an oversized tub and nice tiled floor. The AC worked very well. The fitness room was excellent and there was a patio outside of the hot tub. We didn't eat breakfast there as we chose to go to the Rt. 9 Diner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If our son decides to go to school in Amherst, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyvac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a clean and modern hotel. The staff from the reception desk to the cleaning staff were all professional and pleasant.

The pool is a bit small so we waited for it to empty out . Not more than one family can be in the pool at one time. The gym, equally is small but if there is no one else there, basic and efficent.
The noise as suggested by other reviewers is the main problem. If you are a light sleeper, the noise enters the rooms easily. There is a gap between the door and the hallway. The walls are rather thin as well. The blackout curtains can be much better. I have stayed at hotels where the blackout curtains keep light out. Here they leak light and it is harder to stay alseep with the light.
The location is convenient if you are visiting colleges in the neighborhood. The best coffee shop is Amherst Coffe, less than 5 min. away by car.
The small Amherst downtown is wonderful for foodies. The best bookstore is in So Hadley. It is a must visit bookstore.
As mentioned before the staff at this hotel is excellent. Note, the hotel breakfast is not free.
For a charge there is a chef who can make omlettes and then the regular buffet breakfast. There is a wait staff to bring coffee and OJ as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

A relatively new Courtyard with all the expected amenities: restaurant, work-out room, free Wi-Fi, functional, clean rooms--no schnick-schnack. One knows what to expect from this concept. The only gripe I had was with the price for the room during this time period in this particular, rather out-of-the way town. Far too expensive!! The Howard Johnson's next door looked new and there were other choices on Rt. 9 that likely would have offered the same comfort level at a far more reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my two girls and my aunt. We were on a road trip in new england looking at camps. The hotel appears new. The rooms were well decorated and spotless. The kids enjoyed the pool. The staff was friendly. The lobby is designed to be a common area, with a lounge area, TV and computers all in one clubby room This was great because my aunt and I were able to have a glass of wine near the kids while they used the computer. The only disappointment was the breakfast. It was nothing special, and I would have been happier if it had been free.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is a very comfortable hotel, and the desk staff was completely on the ball -- helpful, friendly, always aware of what was needed. Things were a bit noisy in the hallway one evening, but it was the aftermath of a wedding. What can you do, and I wish the couple well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaucerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We priceline'd this hotel last minute at a great rate. It's a step above the Holiday Inn Express where we stayed the next night.

This hotel is very conveniently located between Amherst and Northampton with easy access to the colleges, recreation and plenty of shopping movies etc. Parking is plentiful and painless.Our rooms was clean, spacious and well kept. The lobby area was nice with a large lounge bar area, fireplace and internet enable computers and free wi-fi throughout.

The pool and hot tub area is a bit small, but the gym is great for a hotel - full set of dumbells and benches, with a precor universal machine as well as precor treadmill, bike and elliptical.

Breakfast is not included and we didn't have any food here so can't comment on that.

I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunksny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hadley Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Address: 423 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: £119 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hadley Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum award winning facility. Where modern conveniences such as 30 meg high speed internet make both visits for pleasure and work more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Hadley Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hadley Amherst Hotel Hadley
Hadley Courtyard
Hadley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing