We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed overnight to attend daughter's soccer game against UMass. The hotel is located fairly close to the campus and appears to be well maintained. Room was clean; bed was firm and staff was excellent! Restaurant suggesions: Judy's for lunch/dinner (downtown) and Stables for breakfast (just down Hwy 9 from the hotel and is a cash only place - Dave Ramsey would love it).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IPTraveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotels looks brand new inside and out. Room was extremely clean. Very nice courtyard setup with bonfire, beautiful lobby. Front desk staff is as courteous and professional as you would find in any 5 star hotel. The hottub was actually clean and "hot". Most hotels try to get away with "bath water" temperature. The pool was clean and the gym was clean with working equipment. There was a bar that openned at 5PM, which was a nice addition.

What I did not like was the breakfast -it was limited and was not worth the price. There was much less than I had seen at other Courtyards. The service was poor - cold coffee, no refills, lobby coffee empty, not refilling items. It did not seem to match the top quality of the rest of the hotel and staff.
It was not busy but only a few tables of people, they had more than enough staff and should have done a better job.

I did hear a lot of noise through the walls/ceiling of the room when we first checked in - more than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. I think there is some major mistake in the construction because it was really loud. Maybe they cut corners to save money. But luckily it was quiet the rest of our stay.

Although there were some excellent points about this hotel, it was too way expensive. I only stayed here because everything was booked solid and it was only a mile from Amherst College. I also prefer a better breakfast to be included in the rate.

Would I recommend it - it really depends what you are looking for and how much money you can throw away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I've had my selection hotels in thearea over hte summer having travelled to Northern MA for 10 weeks. Although this location was not the most convenient to my place of business (20 miles north), it is my favorite place to stay in the area. Breakfast is consistently good, andlocation is prime. Exercse room is really nice with flat screen TV, dumbells and weight press machine (Lifecycle, PreCor or Nautilus style).

I will definitely stay here again the next time I travel to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redfish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Seems a bit expensive for this time of year.

Facilities were what we'd come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Only one surprise: the breakfast buffet is not complimentary. I didn't see any signs or menus. Certainly, we didn't mind paying, but this appeared to be the standard free-breakfast setup.

I agree. You can hear the hard-walkers in the room above.

Small pool. Wonderful heated spa. Nice, 24-hour gym.

Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

A little pricey for the area but worth it. My husband and I traveled with our teenage son to look at some of the colleges. Very close to UMass and Amherst College. The facilities are all new. We chose a king bed with a pullout coach on the top floor (I had read in earlier reviews that it's noisy on the bottom floors, and it was very quiet where we were). My son seemed to sleep OK, but the room could have been a little bigger. The bathroom had an oversized tub and nice tiled floor. The AC worked very well. The fitness room was excellent and there was a patio outside of the hot tub. We didn't eat breakfast there as we chose to go to the Rt. 9 Diner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If our son decides to go to school in Amherst, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyvac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a clean and modern hotel. The staff from the reception desk to the cleaning staff were all professional and pleasant.

The pool is a bit small so we waited for it to empty out . Not more than one family can be in the pool at one time. The gym, equally is small but if there is no one else there, basic and efficent.
The noise as suggested by other reviewers is the main problem. If you are a light sleeper, the noise enters the rooms easily. There is a gap between the door and the hallway. The walls are rather thin as well. The blackout curtains can be much better. I have stayed at hotels where the blackout curtains keep light out. Here they leak light and it is harder to stay alseep with the light.
The location is convenient if you are visiting colleges in the neighborhood. The best coffee shop is Amherst Coffe, less than 5 min. away by car.
The small Amherst downtown is wonderful for foodies. The best bookstore is in So Hadley. It is a must visit bookstore.
As mentioned before the staff at this hotel is excellent. Note, the hotel breakfast is not free.
For a charge there is a chef who can make omlettes and then the regular buffet breakfast. There is a wait staff to bring coffee and OJ as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

A relatively new Courtyard with all the expected amenities: restaurant, work-out room, free Wi-Fi, functional, clean rooms--no schnick-schnack. One knows what to expect from this concept. The only gripe I had was with the price for the room during this time period in this particular, rather out-of-the way town. Far too expensive!! The Howard Johnson's next door looked new and there were other choices on Rt. 9 that likely would have offered the same comfort level at a far more reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
5.5 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hadley Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Address: 423 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: £107 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hadley Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum award winning facility. Where modern conveniences such as 30 meg high speed internet make both visits for pleasure and work more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Hadley Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hadley Amherst Hotel Hadley
Hadley Courtyard
Hadley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing