We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great location to UMass, service was not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
GRIMSBY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, great location to UMass, service was not great”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Overall good hotel for money. Clean, spacious rooms, quiet, all amenties in room except small fridge (would be nice if they could add these). They charge for room safe unless you do not use it. Front desk attendant a little slow with service and even not being there. Add a bell to the desk so people are not waiting for you come out of the back room....breakfast, even though we never ate there, looked decent but could add some boiled eggs as other hotels in the area do with their continental breakfast......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank rgmannca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    167
    144
    90
    64
See reviews for
282
56
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canossa, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The best and cheaper hotel I stayed during a tour of New England and Eastern Canada.
Huge and clean rooms, free continental breakfast. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly.
It is close to the Amherst town line, so to Amherst College, Massachusetts University and downtown Amherst, where I've been to enjoy the visit of the Emily Dickinson Museum.
Many restaurants and shopping centers in the area.
I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMOK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights here's . And everything was just great the staff was kind & helpful even when we got lost we called & got directions that was great .nice conterntial breakfast . Clean & very quiet nice too sleep nice view of hotel front parking lot . Room cleaned every morning towels etc soap nice big bed very cozy.. Wake up call big tv coffee machine ice machine / soda everything close people if you stay here you must eat at golden ginger chinese sooooo yummy good price and Arizona pizza & grill best brick house pizza 4 all u pizza lovers good price & a stop & shop & whole foods ..the gym was a little small but they had bikes stepper/ treadmills & a gym pack machine the pool was cool outside great place to stay if your in Hadley 4 some time hope I was helpfull I tryed to cover everything .. Ok folks

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexxy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is the toilet so low to the ground?
Have they been using these same towels since 1981 or what?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?

--questions I asked myself repeatedly while staying at the Hadley HoJo

TWO DOTS BECAUSE:

(the bathroom was clean and the bed appeared free of vermin)
(gorgeous view of the credit union next door)
(neighbor's barky dog eventually stopped barking)
(the wi-fi worked and i could stream videos of a stupid guy playing guitar all i wanted)

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadley hotels

Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Nneeded to find apt so we took the cheap hotel with buffet...I am used to holiday inn express and this place was a flashback to the 70's. Buffet was weak and seriously not worth the advertisement. Room was ok but ..wow...dark and extremely dated. Staff is weak...pool services carloads of city folk and no one cares. No one checked my aaa card for discount and overall go I told my brother to go else where for umass functions...creepy old.

Room Tip: Go across street to holiday inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylew512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My kids and I arrived late to find a sign on the front desk, "Attendant back if a few moments."
No problem, 10 minutes passed and a young man walked in through the front door smelling of pot.
He had obviously been smoking. He was pretty good at checking us in, but when we checked out 3 days later, the bill was a mess and took 25 minutes to sort out.
The front desk manager in the morning needed to wait for a younger employee to help him with the computer system. We were not told of an additional charge for a cot and more.

The breakfast buffet was not very good but restocked. The rooms are big, but old and out dated.

I would not recommend staying here, unless you need to save money.

Room Tip: No advice here. All are old and somewhat dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTraveler804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonia J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
My goodness, we are very surprised to hear of your experience. Would you please be so kind as to contact me so that we can learn more about this situation and quickly get a resolution in place? My name is Tonia and you can reach me at 413-586-0114 ext. 1401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Its seems that this hotel has had a decidedly mixed review. After spending a rainy weekend in the Pioneer Valley, I enthusiastically join the "very good" crowd. And here's why...after reading the reviews I carefully inspected the room and found it to be very clean, with no musty smells, etc. The room, with its unusual high vaulted ceiling, had a very spacious feeling, with beds that were soft but comfortable. The pillows are worth noting, not those rock hard versions found in most hotels in this category, but more like the downy soft pillows you find in most upscale European hotels. The bathroom was very bright, especially when both heating lamp and halogen ceiling lights were on. The only drawback was the timer that switched off the bathroom lights at the most inconvenient times. The "retro" feature of the dual shower heads is a treat. I like hotels that have windows that open and the sliding door to the balcony is a nice feature, giving me the opportunity to freshen up the room. A nice feature was the free New York Times and Boston Globe available in the breakfast room. What a welcome change from the ubiquitous news shows that greet you for your morning coffee. A great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms in the "300s" floor seem to feature the vaulted ceilings, an unusual feature of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing