We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience; won't go back again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
New City, NY
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience; won't go back again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel needs some serious work. Our room (323) was clean enough, but very bare-bones, definitely not worth the $130 we paid, and based on some of the other reviews, our room was one of the better ones. The phone did not work to reach the front desk, just got a beep beep beep when trying. Bathroom was functional but small. Inadequate outlets in room. Breakfast was poor--No yogurt (the girl at the front desk said oh, we are out of yogurt), no cold water, no variety of tea bags, only frozen bagels, waffles, bread, muffins, and cereal available. Apparently "gluten-free" is not a concept that has reached HoJo. The tables were not cleaned when people finished and left. Although people dumped their trash, there were crumbs left all over the tables. There was nothing in the room stating the breakfast hours, and as we could not call down to the front desk due to the defective phone system, we had to guess. As we were finishing our breakfast, such as it was, a young couple came into the dining area. The HoJo staff member who was standing around in the room doing nothing snapped at them in a rude and obnoxious manner, saying You eating breakfast? They responded that yes, they were there for breakfast. He then grunted at them that breakfast was over and he was shutting it down but he'd give them five minutes. Lousy service, no upkeep in the room, even for a low priced hotel chain, this was unacceptable. We won't be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Thank nancycraigmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. I'm very sorry that you had a disappointing experience. I apologize that we did not have any yogurt in stock during your stay. As soon as I was aware of the issue, spoke to the person in charge of ordering it and he assured me that the issue will be corrected immediately. We strive to have quality service in all aspects of our hotel. I have spoken to the supervisor of the breakfast attendant and we are taking the necessary action to assure that our guests have an enjoyable breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have experienced the worst experience that I have ever had staying at a Hotel. We arrived at 11:00 pm after having reservations for over 3 weeks. When entering the Hotel room, we were discussed to see that the beds had dirty sheets on them , dirty filthy full ash trays on the bureaus, pizza boxes all over the room. The room had not been cleaned and it was very very very disappointing. TO TOP IT OFF...the TOILET WAS CLOGGED and we were informed by the front desk that we would be needing to use the bathroom in the LOBBY during our stay. Ok well we were on the 3rd floor with no bathroom for my family. It was pretty embarrassing going back and forth from our room to the lobby at 4:00am to take my 7 year old to the bathroom, and again at 8am. I cannot believe that I have even experienced this type of service from a Howard Johnson's Hotel. This was totally un expectable, and should never happen again to anyone. We should of known....WHEN YOU WALK IN THE FRONT DOOR in the LOBBY, they are missing CEILING tiles and have 3 trash buckets under the missing tiles trying to catch the water leaking out of a mine pipe in the ceiling.

Room Tip: Do Not Rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
Thank mom5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing