We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed 26 September 2008

There is absolutely no way this is a 3-star property. The room reeked, the carpet was ancient and dirty, the wallpaper was peeling off in places. Usually when exposed to a bad smell you get accustomed to it and don't notice it anymore -- not so here. The sheets had some stains. I wouldn't let my kids go barefoot.

I'm all for cheap, but it needs to be clean. Needless to say, we did not even look at the breakfast offerings. If we hadn't arrived so late, we would have left immediately upon entering the room.

For $50 more we could have had 2 queens at the Courtyard, a nice, new, CLEAN property.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iggie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    170
    147
    92
    65
See reviews for
286
57
56
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ma.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

I've read the reviews and I have to say .I enjoyed my visit in Hadley for business. very clean nice friendly people and they have a breakfast bar. It was better then my business breakfast
I'll go back then again

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dynagirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed here for a family party with several adults and children.
Location was convenient, room was clean, and was a very good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
646 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

This place sits in a prime location and could be a nice place. It has been there since before I was in high school and has always held the same standards, a rundown, shabby old hotel that needs a serious upgrade and renovations. The place looks nasty from the outside and it used to have a Howard Johnsons restaurant attached to it, but that is no longer. It is surrounded by brand new hotels in fact one across the street is a Holiday Inn Express and outshines this place. The spot is a haven for local college students from the 5 colleges to frequent and party and do who knows what. Don't let the cheap prices fool you, this place is not even worth that price. The rooms are rundown, the linens are old and the bathrooms are falling apart. Even the hallways and the lobby are beat up. Skip this place and pick one of the 20 other hotels in the area that are a bit more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadley hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Stayed 3 days because there were no other options of where to stay on short notice - reserved a room here a month prior to the date of arrival. The carpet was so stained and moldy that I would never think of walking on it barefoot; the furniture was the same way and gave pause to sitting directly on the material coverings. The room was not vacuumed, bathroom was not washed, waste paper containers never emptied in the 3 days there. They only changed the towels and remade beds. This used to be a nice and convenient place but has gone downhill in the past few years. Major rennovations are needed beside proper maintenance. They put a permanent safe in the room and charge you per dium for it whether you use it or not; they charge $20/night for a dog - I would not have my dog step directly on the carpeting as it was worse than any place outdoors that the dog would step. We complained but it did not matter as they know that all rooms locally were filled.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank auntimarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

Myself and my partner have just come back from a week at this hotel for a family wedding,here is a quick run down of how we found the hotel.
The room was large, 2 double beds, lge tv,fridge,microwave,air con,electronic room safe(charge),2 chairs and a table, overhead shower in bath,lots of room to spread out, very comfortable beds.
The staff were very friendly and keen to help with any questions.

The outdoor pool and sunbathing area was great, if you get a room with a balcony or veranda it is easier to get to the pool as we were up on the fifth floor and it was quite a trek.

This hotel is in a great area on a main road with shopping and restaurants right nearby (walmart etc) try applebees diner,its fantastic!

We had no problems at all with this hotel, the only thing we seemed to find was the housekeeping could be looked at a bit more,having worked at travelodge I expected the sheets of our bed to be changed once during our one week stay but only the top sheet was not the bottom(believe me in that heat u need it changed!) I asked for a sheet at reception and changed it myself,also we noticed our toilet was gettin a bit smelly, so think they could improve a bit in these areas.

This hotel is in a great area, it was my 1st time in America and this made it so comfortable,relaxed and safe.

We will stay again in the future!

  • Liked — its location and quality of room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tuscan159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This hotel is really in need of renovations - the room we stayed in was really dirty and windows were slimy. We were also given a smoking room, which added to the insult. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast room has only three tables, so peoples had to stand around while eating - not pleasant. I stayed three weeks before at Holiday Inn Express across the street. What a difference!

  • Liked — Close to Amherst College
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sledet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing