We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value on certain days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great value on certain days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

the hotel seems fairly new and is very well kept. Everything worked just fine and was quite clean.. It was just me in a double-double room, but space could be a little tight if the whole family was along. Breakfast was standard and included some serviceable hot items. Staff was uniformly friendly. The indoor pool seemed quite nice although I did not swim. The a/c unit is one of those high efficiency Amanas that, by default, turns completely off when the compressor is not engaged. These units are the bane of my lodging existence. Fortunately, I know where the switch is to have the fan run continuously but if you don't, and a constantly cycling a/c annoys you, keep it in mind, Also, beware of price fluctuations on various days of the week. I stayed for about $80 but the price almost doubles on some weekends, precluding my staying there again when returning to the area next month.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meatslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    73
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
74
32
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. Okay, there are a mix of reviews for this place. Not sure what people are expecting, but come on, this is not a 5 star fancy pants hotel. Lets put things in a proper perspective its a chain motel. Front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was clean, and was cleaned nicely every day. TV, A/C worked just fine. WiFi got sluggish in the evenings, so I just switched back to 4g data. The place seems to cater to bus tours (while I was there, had different youth sports teams staying) so I avoided trying breakfast as you had a load of people getting food during the time I needed to get moving in the morning. That is the only downside to staying here. However there is a Duncan Donuts right down the road! I prefer their coffee any day over hotel coffee. Yes I would stay again. This is an expensive area and for the money its a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lf479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Night caught us while traveling from Boston to Montpelier so I looked for a Comfort Inn, found the one at Hadley and it's just a small town hotel and not much more to say about it. It was clean but it is an older hotel and nothing to write home about. So if you need a comfortable bed for one night and don't want to pay much, go for it. And by the way, it's a little far from the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jet1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although I'm appalled by the lack of recycling (hopefully this will change soon), this hotel is a decent value for what you pay. The rooms are clean, not extravagant, and comfortable. Room had a TV, microwave, coffee maker, fridge. Free wifi internet access (occasionally very slow, but usually reliable).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We priced several hotels in the area, and decided to try Comfort Inn for its good rate, even though it was obviously an older hotel. We worried that the hotel was not a no smoking facility since I have allergies - so asked when checking in if they had a block of rooms for no smoking; he said that the smoking rooms were in the wing across the parking lot - great! Our king room was large and very clean. There was a card on the bed saying soft pillows were in front, and firmer ones in back - I don't think I ever stayed in a hotel that gave you a choice of pillows, so I was impressed with that. The bed was very comfortable. There was a small microwave and fridge in the room, and a coffeemaker. The free breakfast was what you would expect - but a staff member was there to help you and keep it stocked - very nice! They had some hot items (eggs and sausage on the day we went), and a waffle maker, along with pastries and bagels. Very nice for a free continental breakfast. This is a great value and a nice place to stay - we will be back when we visit our family again. The only down side was the old style heat/air unit under the window, which was noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for AAA or AARP rates if you qualify, or Choice Hotel website offers discounts as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Needed a hotel for a business trip to Amherst. Checked TripAdvisor and saw about 8 hotels listed. As I was arriving late and leaving early the next morning I was looking for a economically priced hotel in the area. Econolodge, Holiday Inn, Courtyard and Holiday Inn Express were some of the hotels listed. Courtyard and Holiday Inn were quoting over $135 for the night while Howard Johnson and Comfort Inn were quoting $85.00. The reviews for Howard Johnson focused on it being an 'aging' hotel with a need for refurbishing while review for Comfort Inn were mostly positive so I chose Comfort Inn. Very comfortable bed, bathroom was clean, good size TV with lots of channels, had heat/AC. Only downside was that I did not have a car and any place to eat (restaurant, diner, etc.) were probably going to be a good walk and the area is not attractive. It is probably the farthest hotel (of the ones mentioned above) from Amherst, but maybe located about 5 miles max from downtown Amherst. Definitely a good choice.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room. Breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvingPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting Northampton and Amherst.

We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, which were of average size. There were a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The shower had good pressure and one of those great drenching showerheads.

The best thing was the quiet! We requested the top floor, which was accommodated. Although it was graduation/reunion weekend and fairly busy, we were not disturbed by noise at all -- and I am a very light sleeper and in many hotels often miserably awake much of the night due to noise.

We also were pleased with the free breakfast and comfortable dining area, which were both above average in quality.

The location was convenient to both Amherst and Northampton, although not walkable to either. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantelleM641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.8 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 237 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9520 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Route 9, the hotel is within minutes of the Five Colleges area, which includes the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Hampshire College, Smith College, Amherst College and Mt. Holyoke College. The hotel offers Comfort Sunshine Breakfast, Heated Indoor Pool and wireless internet access in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hadley
Quality Inn Hadley
Comfort Inn Hadley
Hadley Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing