We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weeks stay after a bad start”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Village at Jiminy Peak
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“Good weeks stay after a bad start”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Country Village at Jiminy Peak in a 2 bedroom unit (2 couples) as part of an Extra Vacation through RCI, Country Village has two and three bedroom units in one story buildings in 8 separate areas--about 50 units.

Our week turned out fairly well after a very bad start. After reading the reviews, we called and asked for an updated, renovated unit, After checking in (which was a pleasure--pleasant staff, no time share hype or pressure) we were told we were in unit #85. This unit had to be one of the worst we have ever seen--the entrance had unpainted plywood ramps for handicapped (which we did not request). The ramps, door, etc looked ugly and uninviting. In the unit, there was old furniture, all the lamp shades were in bad shape--they had what looked like burn marks and holes, but it did have 3 flat screen TVs. In the closet of the master bedroom was bathroom equipment for the handicapped which took up half the space of the closet.

We called and complained and indicated that we wanted another unit. We talked to and met Kevin, the Time Share Coordinator, who told us that there had been a screw up and that was not the unit we were supposed to have but there was nothing he could do that day--we would have change units the next day. After a short time that decision was changed and we moved to unit #35 which was more up to date, new paint, more attractive. This unit had 2 TVs--not flat screen, but adequte; better furniture and even had a washer/dryer. There are two somewhat small bedrooms--one with a king sized bed, the other with 2 twin beds. There is only one bathroom for 4 adults--we made due, but it is obvious that it would be better to have 2 bathrooms for 4 adults in these 2 bedroom units (we learned that only 3 bedroom units have 2 bathrooms).

The unit had a full well stocked kitchen and a dishwasher. There is a wood patio is the rear with a lovely view and in #35 there was added privacy by having trees on both sides of the patio.

There is an outdoor pool and children's pool available to the Country Village units. We were also able to use the indoor hot tub and spa in the main building--the Country Inn. The Inn also has free wifi in the lobby--there is no wifi in the units.

The are different outdoor activities at Jiminy Peak for additional charges. There is also a Country Store that has some basic items--milk, wines, beer, bread, some packaged goods--not really a supermarket. To get food items for a weeks stay, you should go to a supermarket in Pittsfield, the closest large city. In addition, there are no gas stations around the resort, so tank up before coming here.

It is difficult to rate this place-our stay started poorly--Unit 85 was bad--it should be gutted and redone. I am surprised that Country Village would put anyone in that unit. However, we did enjoy our stay the rest of the week once we moved to another unit. We love this area in the Berkshires and it is easy to go north to Williamstown and Vermont; Mount Greylock is close by and the great towns of Lenox and Stockbridge are about 20 miles south.

In the end I thought about rating our stay very good because the problems were resolved, but I had such a bad reaction to unit #85 that I am giving the restort an average rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked at the last moment and were pleasantly surprised after the negative comments on trip advisor. There were four of us, adults, in a large condo unit not in the main hotel area. It was very quiet, had two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a large living room with a fold out couch and a full size kitchen with a washing machine and dryer. There is a John Harvard restaurant for food and a country store for odds and ends. The main reason to stay here is for fun outside adventure.
To mention a few, there is a ski lift and alpine side activity right on property. (You have to pay for the rides, not included for staying on the property). We were going to Richmond, Pittsfield, and Williamstown so we didn't do the rides. Jiminy Peak isn't near anything really, you will have a 20 minute ride to anything else. If you have children that like outside adventure this is a good weekend get away resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzy-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

this is a perfect place to spend some days with your kids on the slopes. There is sufficient and friendly and dining- easy for us all to eat apres ski. Kids are skiing in a safe environment and really enjoyed it with their friends. They had enough freedom as well as safety - and had the time of their lives.

Room Tip: This is a family oriented ski resort- places have bedrooms & kitchenettes for convenience and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at the Country Village over Martin Luther King weekend in 2013. I was concerned that the unit would be old, but it was lovely. It had been updated and even had a small jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There was plenty of space in the foyer and the large living room for our skiing gear. The two bedrooms were comfortable - one with two twins and the other with a king bed.The staff was very friendly. The only inconvenience is that the units are a bit of a walk from the slopes. There was a new shuttle service, but it was $8 each way, so we opted to drive our car to the main parking area each day. We were in Village 3, which less than a 5 minute walk from the country store and the country inn, where John Hancock's restaurant is. We did opt to walk when we weren't carrying our ski gear. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Mary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Normally we stay at the Wyndham Bentrly Brook II, but this year they were all booked. Our vacation was booked from December 28th - January 4th. Our unit was very spacious. Full kitchen, living room with huge sectional and electric fireplace. Both bedrooms were very good size. The masterbedroom sported a very comfy kingsize bed while the guest bedroom had 2 full size beds. This was a family vacation with my husband, myself, two young adult children and their boyfriends. Plenty of room for all. It would have been nicer if there were 2 bathrooms - but we made it work. Since there were 6 of us, I had facilities bring up more towels and face clothes. I gave room service an excellent rating, however there really isn't any room service, but everyone was incredibly nice and accommodating to any request we had. This unit was in an excellent location: around the corner from the Country Inn and John Harvard Restaurant and a short walking distance to the Country Store and the Ski Slopes. It is away from the hussle and bussle of the slopes, but still close enough to be part of the community if you wished. Our unit was pleasantly clean and spacious. After reading some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor, I was hesitant of booking. You need to check in at the Country Inn and then drive over to the village (short drive). Helpful hint: I did call a few weeks prior to our arrival date and spoke to Kevin at Customer Service/Guest Relations at the Country Inn and explained all of the negative reviews and hesitations I had about booking there. He assured me our unit will be pleasing....and it was. Great time had by all....

Room Tip: Village #3 = first end unit. Call the Customer Service/Guest Relations line ahead of time to disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja_Hutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stay far away couples!
There Memorial Day weekend and I have never been so turned off by a hotel. It all started with check-in -- no checking in without my driver's license..I wasn't driving and they wouldn't accept my boyfriend's...Luckily my license turned up!
The really great welcome though was entering the lovely elevator with the carpet that hasn't been changed or even cleaned since I would guess 1970. I can’t even imagine the germs in that stinky elevator. For a property not to take the care to ever change that carpet – for what – 20 dollars, says a lot right there.

The 2 room suite – kitchen was still from the Brady Bunch era. The carpeting too – wear shoes!! No dish soap (that would cost 99 cents!), so I wouldn’t use the cups or silverware as I doubt it was clean by past guests. Luckily the bathroom was fine and looked updated in the last 9 years.
The other plus was the bedroom had a door and this is necessity as the guests with the pizza party in the room next to us with 50..yes looked like 50 kids were loud. The bedroom door shut out the noise. The noise was only shut out since I had specifically requested a room with no noise/cross-traffic. This is a must! They put is completely secluded on end room of the opposite end of hotel. Still, we couldn’t escape the kids gathering outside in the hallway. Wake up, come out of room – and there they are right at the door!!

But the real bad news was the facilities. I complained only to get a few blank stares. I asked them - $175 for this?? Seriously..it was kiddieland nightmare. I have never seen more careless parents letting their kids over take everything. 20 jumping in and out of the germ-filled hot tub- all looked under the age of 10! An accident waiting to happen. No adult in site. Of course the tiny pool was taken over by so many kids, you couldn’t even see the water.
Think you are safe from the chaos in the ‘fitness center’..Think again. If you don’t slip and fall on your way there from the super wet floor from the kids – you make it in to the most decrepit gym you will ever see. Good luck getting a work out as half the machines are out-of-order. The noise from the hot tub next door is unbearable even with the machines on.
Good luck getting a work out as half the machines are out-of-order. The kid noise from the hot tub next door is unbearable even with the machines on! When 5 little kids then entered the gym (how did they get the key).. I had enough. Management came to get them out.

I told them it is not right they let 200 kids take over ALL the faciliites and keep the noise level unbearable at a resort. They told me it is a FAMILY resort. Oh, what is that - discrimination against child-less couples?? Well advertise it on Expedia as only a family resort then.

The biggest laugh was seeing the bar at John Harvard's taken over by the 200 kids. Chaos at it's greatest.

I hid in our secluded room and boyfriend wandered out to find bottle of water -- (no- they won't provide even one in your little fridge). He said by 10:30 it was finally all quiet.
Of course- kids screaming and running around all day with boundless energy, they must pass out early and sleep time is their parent's only escape.

Holy nightmare of a hotel. After this one, boyfriend and I have mutually banned self from booking future hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hancock hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We decided to try out COUNTRY VILLAGE AT JIMINY PEAK since our usual stay with Bentley Brook was unavailable. Arriving late that in the evening Unit 84 was smelly, outdated and had mouse droppings on multiple beds! Would not advise at all! They offered us the building next door, which made no difference to us since all the units in that section most likely had mice. They eventually gave us Unit 33 which was updated, but it still did not feel as comfortable. We made the best of it given our late arrival. We left the next day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkneebikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.3 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Village at Jiminy Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Village at Jiminy Peak

Property: Country Village at Jiminy Peak
Address: Corey Road, Hancock, MA 01237
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Village at Jiminy Peak is a quaint neighborhood of 2 and 3 bedroom vacation homes located near the base area and village center of the resort. All units have private parking and many offer decks off the back. 2 bedroom units have 1 ½ baths, while the 3 bedroom units offer 2 full baths. All come with queen size sleeper couches, and cable/satellite TV. These units are perfect for families or larger groups on vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Village At Jiminy Peak Hotel Hancock
Country Village At Jiminy Peak Berkshires/Hancock, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing