We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at Vacation Village for two nights while my family and I went skiing and Jiminy Peak (a beautiful mountain) and it was awful. Not only were there simple basic problems like the minimal scratchy sheets provided and not nearly enough silverware but there were a whole host of major problems that made the stay almost unbearable. The TV quality was horrendous, you could see each individual pixel. You had to pay an outrageous price for daily internet (which only two devices could access) that was, by the manager's own admittance, incredibly slow. The gas fireplace made a ticking sound whenever it was on, and the heating system was incredibly hard to control. The programming made it swelteringly hot in the middle of the night even after we turned it down to 68 before going to bed. However the worse part was the hot water. I was with my two daughters and son and after my eldest daughter took a bath when she got back to the room at 5, we had no hot water until after 11 at night. Even then the hot water only filled 1/4 of the tub (which in itself wasn't bad at all) before turning ice cold. That night the hot water heater kept me up all night with it's incessant whirring. Would not recommend this hotel. Save yourself the trouble and the money and stay at a motel. At least there you will get free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations because we strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. We’re successful most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we clearly dropped the ball. Your comments have been shared with our management team because reviews such as yours are vital in helping us make Vacation Village in the Berkshires the perfect vacation destination. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we hope you will reconsider and return so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    231
    85
    34
    33
See reviews for
242
216
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The view of JP driving up the hill to the resort was awesome, especially at night. The night we arrived it was snowing and magical to look at. The check in was quick and easy, although I didn't go in the pool- I saw it at check in and it was big with a great view of the mountain. Room was clean, we stayed in 401B, no view of the mountain. The 'queen' bed was super small and the blankets supplied were very thin. We all were very cold the entire night even after trying to turn the heat up. I have to say it was the worst sleep I've had anywhere- in part because the beds (that's right I switched in hopes the pull out was better) were pretty uncomfortable. But it was very quiet at night- no complaints there. Overall the room served its purpose of a place to sleep....I would probably return, but wish there were more dining options closer to the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshinedreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation with us. We’re thankful that overall you enjoyed your stay, but we’re sorry that you felt you couldn’t get a good night’s sleep. We wish you had contacted the front desk about your concerns when you were at the resort so that we would have had a chance to help you. We hope that our fantastic mountain views that you enjoyed will entice you to return so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent Christmas week here to use as a closer location for family visiting over the holidays and it worked out well. This is the second time I've stayed through time share points and brought my small dog and it is nice to have somewhere to bring my dog along when trying to burn up time share points when you do not want to fly for a getaway. There is a nice trail to walk your dog and the dog building is on its own so you are next to people who are aware they are in the pet building. The resort is nice if you are a skier in the winter or looking to engage in all the wonderful arts that the Bershires offers in the summer. The highest caliber summer theatre I have ever encountered and I am picky! A good central location to many things but not much near the resort...it sits deep in the country in the mountains.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony that has a good view...some do, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rt66mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! Positive comments here on tripadvisor are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share their experience. We’re happy that your family members (including the furry ones!) enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Vacation Village in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from this resort. I had read several reviews before booking and found them to be accurate. We requested a unit close to the main lodge as we were bringing our 2 and 4 year old granddaughters and wanted to use the indoor pool.
The unit was in excellent condition and provided us everything we needed. The laundry room on each floor-free to use just bring your own detergent-was very handy. The DVD player in the main living area was a nice touch. With IPads we generally bring whatever we need but did use the DVD player for a movie one evening.
The heating unit worked exceptionally well. The walls are indeed a bit thin but to be expected in this type of unit. I brought music to play for the girls at night so they didn’t hear the noise from the halls or above us.
Internet was one thing that really didn’t work well. Although they advertise WiFi it must only work well in the lodge area. Again, not a significant problem for us as we have unlimited data on my IPad but if you are planning a working holiday you may need to inquire in advance of the options available for better service.
This resort is very close to Jiminy Peek if you are going for a ski vacation.
Pros of the resort: Friendly staff. Very well kept exercise area and indoor pool. The game room looked to be in good condition although we didn’t go into it.
Units provide everything advertised and provided a nice view of the woods. Other units have different views so if that’s important to you call in advance and request what you want.
Cons. Although the indoor pool is very nice it is just not easy to access in the winter. Having to dress up little ones in their winter gear and then walk to the pool in the very cold temperatures is just too inconvenient. This is not a complaint but rather something you might like to know if you are planning a trip in the winter with toddlers. The views from the pool are truly beautiful and you can see the skiers across the way at Jiminy Peak. No convenience store onsite. However we drove to Jiminy Peek and bought what we needed at their country store. Thankfully they had diapers too as somehow that bag didn’t make it to the car before departure!
Overall we would return here but next time in the summer. The area has many places to explore and Pittsfield is only about 15 minute drive. We had no trouble finding some nearby restaurants that were good. The fall foliage must be beautiful here as well.

Room Tip: If indoor pool is important to you ask for unit near the main lodge. Building 10 was great for proxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village in the Berkshires here on tripadvisor. We appreciate you sharing the details of your family vacation with us. If you enjoyed your stay in the winter, you’ll LOVE our summers and the foliage of the fall. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiting Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile


My kids and I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family over New Year's week. We had both an A and B suite which were attached and gave each group a bit of privacy while allowing togetherness.

The rooms were fairly spacious while being cozy, the bed was comfortable and I would definitely stay there again.

It was very well appointed and the kitchen had just about everything we needed, except a cookie sheet for heating up appetizers that we had brought. (We improvised and just used foil.)

The pool and clubhouse area were clean and a nice treat after skiing.

The resort is so close to Jiminy Peak that we went back for lunch during our ski days.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank redallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your sharing your 5-star recommendation with us on tripadvisor! We take great pride in the fact that we offer amazing accommodations for vacationing families. We’re honored that you chose to ring in the New Year with us and we hope to welcome you back again to Vacation Village in the Berkshires in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We vacationed for a week which included Thanksgiving day and reserved the A/B units. From check-in to check-out we had a wonderful experience at this lovely resort. We all noticed the cleanliness and well stocked units. The staff and crew are doing a spectacular job with maintaining this place. Awesome view of Jiminy Peak, at dark, during their snow making time was captivating. Our entire family enjoyed swimming in the clean pool. Appreciated the warm water and warm air temperature. I requested a tea kettle and it appeared with in moments! We had a great time and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had end units, on the first floor, and found this very quiet. We requested this ahead since we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your trip at Vacation Village in the Berkshires. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful views and well-stocked accommodations. We’re happy to know that we provided you with a nice vacation and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spend long weekend here with fresh mountain air, hot outdoor jacuzzi, fireplace and quietness nobody can beat. Partial kitchen, we stayed in B-style unit. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we'll try to return in nearest future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg02282014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your 5-star recommendation! Many of our travelers return year after to year because a relaxing Berkshires vacation just can’t be beat! We take great pride in our beautiful surroundings and in the services we offer our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again at Vacation Village in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.6 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
13.0 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village in the Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Property: Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Address: 276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village in the Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally decorated in a traditional New England style, Vacation Village in the Berkshires offers spacious suites with amenities such as fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and fully appointed kitchens. Commanding a stunning view of the Jiminy Peak ski area, your home at Vacation Village will also serve as your gateway to all that the Berkshires has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vacation Village in the Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hotel Hancock
Vacation Village Berkshires
Vacation Village At Berkshires
Village Berkshires
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hancock, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing