We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super disappointed with this stay! Left 2 days early.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Hornell, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super disappointed with this stay! Left 2 days early.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The worst thing about this place is the units were not insulated from each other and you could hear everything from those staying on both sides of you and above you. You could hear their conversations, the buttons on their microwave, them coughing all night long, etc....we left 2 days early because my husband could not sleep due to so much noise. It was very uncomfortable.
Not impressed with the receptionists at all. They were not friendly and I would go so far to say they had an edge to them.
There were cigarette butts all over outside of our units and the fence was falling over going to our unit. My husband said he could tell it had been that way for a long time. There are no restaurants on site, not even a convenience center. They had two snack vending machines for the whole place, really bad.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your experience. We’re very disappointed to read that our resort did not meet all of your expectations. It is our goal to offer great vacations for our guests and we appreciate your comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance. We hope you will consider choosing us again so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting The Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    237
    87
    35
    33
See reviews for
250
222
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Overall, this is a solid choice for families who want to stay close to Jiminy Peak for skiing, but that's probably the limit of my thumbs up.

As I wrote above, the location is very good. 2 minutes from Jiminy Peak, which is a decent mountain for skiing. If you're going there, this is a good value. Prices are generally fair, and they offer multi-room suites. We had a 1 bedroom suite with bedroom and big living room with foldout couch for the kids and a kitchenette. For this trip, it did the trick (since we just needed space and somewhere to crash after skiing). Great views of the mtn from its perch on a hill across the street.

Still -- its not upscale and does present issues. $25 "resort fee" and another $10.50 per night for wi-fi, which is spotty at best. "Activites" are limited and not great. Gym equipment does not all work, and the indoor pool, which is ok, was a complete zoo.

Towels are not replaced on weekend days, which comes across as cheap, since people come for ski weekends.

The rooms are dated but functional - hard beds and cheap bedding, though it was clean. Hot water lasts about 30 seconds, making the in-room hot tub (jetted) utterly worthless unless you want it lukewarm. Bathroom was clean and functional. Kitchen appliances that we used did work. We didnt watch much tv, but the tvs were about 24 inch ones from 1998. The theme here is this -- the place is not updated and makes little effort to address it. They could probably update things and charge 25% more for it and get better reviews, in my opinion.

We'd consider staying again if the price was right, but only b/c its convenient for skiing and has lots of space for the kids. So recommended for families, but not couples really (unless you're comfortable with the trade-offs here).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we’re sorry that we weren’t able to meet all your expectations. Each year we make a significant investment into the property with refurbishment and renovations projects. We’re actively converting the rooms to flat panel TV’s, new living room furniture for some buildings (other buildings received new furniture in September 2013) and ongoing refurbishment to our coffee tables, armoires and dining tables as well as updated bedding for a portion of the property as well as some new carpeting in certain buildings. We have also treated our indoor pool deck tile with an etching process to make the surface more slip resistant. We will be continuing to do more scheduled renovations, ongoing painting and general repairs throughout 2014. We hope that our warm hospitality and great location will encourage you to return so that we will have the opportunity to show how we are constantly improving our resort and our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent February school vacation at the resort. I will start by saying that it is the largest 2br unit in all our stays. It consists of 2 1br units each with a bedroom, kitchen, living area and bathroom. The view was great as we looked at Jiminy Peak. Kitchen had plenty of pots and pans and counter space. We spent the first weekend around the resort. While using the gym the 3 treadmills all were broken. Luckily there was a YMCA in Pittsfield which wasnt the nicest of gyms but it had working equipment. After dinner Sunday night we went to the pool. There were 35 people in a small pool and 20 people around the outside of the pool. The towel bin was empty. We complained about the lack of adult supervision in the pool and the woman stated to us that it was February vacation. The hot tub had about 15 people in it which had to be over the limit. We have spent February and April vacations every year in other places with our timeshares and yes it is busy, we expect it, but the lack of control over the guests was nothing we have encountered before. We were charged a mandatory charge for the internet ($25) which worked occasionally, but for another ($15) we could get better internet, we didn't.

Room Tip: In the units you can hear everything that is going on in the building. If you have older kids like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ant w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy that you pleasantly surprised by your spacious room, but we are sorry about the issues you experienced using our resort amenities. The rules for the pool area are posted but we try to handle those situations you noted as best we can to ensure that everyone has a pleasant vacation. The $25.00 fee you paid includes more than just internet service in the private rooms. It includes in-room safe and access to resort activities and amenities such as morning coffee, DVD rentals, water aerobics, family movie night, arts & crafts, use of the fitness center & Internet room, and games like Bingo & Texas Hold 'em. Thank you again for writing and we hope that all the comforts of home we provide will entice you to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at Vacation Village for two nights while my family and I went skiing and Jiminy Peak (a beautiful mountain) and it was awful. Not only were there simple basic problems like the minimal scratchy sheets provided and not nearly enough silverware but there were a whole host of major problems that made the stay almost unbearable. The TV quality was horrendous, you could see each individual pixel. You had to pay an outrageous price for daily internet (which only two devices could access) that was, by the manager's own admittance, incredibly slow. The gas fireplace made a ticking sound whenever it was on, and the heating system was incredibly hard to control. The programming made it swelteringly hot in the middle of the night even after we turned it down to 68 before going to bed. However the worse part was the hot water. I was with my two daughters and son and after my eldest daughter took a bath when she got back to the room at 5, we had no hot water until after 11 at night. Even then the hot water only filled 1/4 of the tub (which in itself wasn't bad at all) before turning ice cold. That night the hot water heater kept me up all night with it's incessant whirring. Would not recommend this hotel. Save yourself the trouble and the money and stay at a motel. At least there you will get free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations because we strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. We’re successful most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we clearly dropped the ball. Your comments have been shared with our management team because reviews such as yours are vital in helping us make Vacation Village in the Berkshires the perfect vacation destination. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we hope you will reconsider and return so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The view of JP driving up the hill to the resort was awesome, especially at night. The night we arrived it was snowing and magical to look at. The check in was quick and easy, although I didn't go in the pool- I saw it at check in and it was big with a great view of the mountain. Room was clean, we stayed in 401B, no view of the mountain. The 'queen' bed was super small and the blankets supplied were very thin. We all were very cold the entire night even after trying to turn the heat up. I have to say it was the worst sleep I've had anywhere- in part because the beds (that's right I switched in hopes the pull out was better) were pretty uncomfortable. But it was very quiet at night- no complaints there. Overall the room served its purpose of a place to sleep....I would probably return, but wish there were more dining options closer to the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshinedreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation with us. We’re thankful that overall you enjoyed your stay, but we’re sorry that you felt you couldn’t get a good night’s sleep. We wish you had contacted the front desk about your concerns when you were at the resort so that we would have had a chance to help you. We hope that our fantastic mountain views that you enjoyed will entice you to return so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent Christmas week here to use as a closer location for family visiting over the holidays and it worked out well. This is the second time I've stayed through time share points and brought my small dog and it is nice to have somewhere to bring my dog along when trying to burn up time share points when you do not want to fly for a getaway. There is a nice trail to walk your dog and the dog building is on its own so you are next to people who are aware they are in the pet building. The resort is nice if you are a skier in the winter or looking to engage in all the wonderful arts that the Bershires offers in the summer. The highest caliber summer theatre I have ever encountered and I am picky! A good central location to many things but not much near the resort...it sits deep in the country in the mountains.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony that has a good view...some do, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rt66mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! Positive comments here on tripadvisor are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share their experience. We’re happy that your family members (including the furry ones!) enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Vacation Village in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from this resort. I had read several reviews before booking and found them to be accurate. We requested a unit close to the main lodge as we were bringing our 2 and 4 year old granddaughters and wanted to use the indoor pool.
The unit was in excellent condition and provided us everything we needed. The laundry room on each floor-free to use just bring your own detergent-was very handy. The DVD player in the main living area was a nice touch. With IPads we generally bring whatever we need but did use the DVD player for a movie one evening.
The heating unit worked exceptionally well. The walls are indeed a bit thin but to be expected in this type of unit. I brought music to play for the girls at night so they didn’t hear the noise from the halls or above us.
Internet was one thing that really didn’t work well. Although they advertise WiFi it must only work well in the lodge area. Again, not a significant problem for us as we have unlimited data on my IPad but if you are planning a working holiday you may need to inquire in advance of the options available for better service.
This resort is very close to Jiminy Peek if you are going for a ski vacation.
Pros of the resort: Friendly staff. Very well kept exercise area and indoor pool. The game room looked to be in good condition although we didn’t go into it.
Units provide everything advertised and provided a nice view of the woods. Other units have different views so if that’s important to you call in advance and request what you want.
Cons. Although the indoor pool is very nice it is just not easy to access in the winter. Having to dress up little ones in their winter gear and then walk to the pool in the very cold temperatures is just too inconvenient. This is not a complaint but rather something you might like to know if you are planning a trip in the winter with toddlers. The views from the pool are truly beautiful and you can see the skiers across the way at Jiminy Peak. No convenience store onsite. However we drove to Jiminy Peek and bought what we needed at their country store. Thankfully they had diapers too as somehow that bag didn’t make it to the car before departure!
Overall we would return here but next time in the summer. The area has many places to explore and Pittsfield is only about 15 minute drive. We had no trouble finding some nearby restaurants that were good. The fall foliage must be beautiful here as well.

Room Tip: If indoor pool is important to you ask for unit near the main lodge. Building 10 was great for proxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village in the Berkshires here on tripadvisor. We appreciate you sharing the details of your family vacation with us. If you enjoyed your stay in the winter, you’ll LOVE our summers and the foliage of the fall. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
542 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village in the Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Property: Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Address: 276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village in the Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally decorated in a traditional New England style, Vacation Village in the Berkshires offers spacious suites with amenities such as fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and fully appointed kitchens. Commanding a stunning view of the Jiminy Peak ski area, your home at Vacation Village will also serve as your gateway to all that the Berkshires has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vacation Village in the Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hotel Hancock
Vacation Village Berkshires
Vacation Village At Berkshires
Village Berkshires
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hancock, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing