We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Harwich Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Found this wonderful place online after looking for places all around the Cape. Cannot say enough about the people that own and run the Winstead Beach Resort. Thank you Doug, Anne and Greg for the most wonderful experience. The attention to all our details concerning anything and everything was amazing. We were treated in such a way that it felt as if we were family. Clean, top location, cozy atmosphere, top notch people. Lary and Leah were fantastic too. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JFG3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
You are the best. I think i like being here as much as you do. Waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    33
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
134
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in room 6 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. You can't beat the location and views, very serene and relaxing. The staff really was the icing on the cake though. Ann, at the front desk was so friendly and helpful and Doug made everyone feel at ease, the whole staff made the visit worth while. They made our decision to visit again that much easier.
Thank you so much,
Doug & Dee Webb

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dw10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Doug and Dee,
You have the right doctor; thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was the 5th time for my wife and I, but the first for my mother-in-law. She enjoyed the Winstead Inn and Resort very much. Greg, Doug, Dave and the entire staff made her feel right at home. She now understands why this is the only place we will stay when we visit the Cape. Already looking forward to next summer

Room Tip: Second floor rooms toward the front have the best view. #12 is our favorite for view and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bocha120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The location is excellent right on the beach and walking distance to dining and shopping. A real plus is being able to catch the ferry to Nantucket very close in Harwich. The AC was great and the new flat screen TV's made my husband very happy. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of fruits and breads including delicious homemade banana bread each morning. This place is spotless clean. My only downsize is the size of the rooms. We were in room 2 which had a great great view of the ocean but each time someone went to shower from the ocean we saw them at eye level. I will say after a couple of days we got use to having people walk right by and look in at us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GolfRocks1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We are staying in room 11 at the Beach Resort. Two boys age 12 and 10, my husband and myself...the space is terrific. The whole Inn is beautiful, very clean and well cared for. The staff has been friendly and helpful and very quick to help whenever we have needed. We have stayed at many different places on the Cape, including Harwich Port...this is by far our favorite! Thank you for a wonderful vacation to all at the Winstead!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tkmorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

As a couple if Aussies on our first visit to cape cod we spent many hours Internet searching for an absolute beachfront retreat to follow our hectic New York visit. In our minds eye was the iconic New England beachhouse overlooking a wind swept beach and ocean. All we could find were large condos or places that purported to be on the beach but in fact were several blocks away.Thanks to the trip advisor forum Winstead Inn was recommended and it didn't disappoint.
We chose the balcony room overlooking the beach much to the envy of other regular guests. The beach was just as we imagined and we rushed in for a swim soon after arrival on the glorious sunny afternoon much to the amusement of other guests (yes it was a bit brisk in late May but we are a tough lot!). Breakfast was pleasant with home baked goodies and the local pub near the marina 5 mins away served good quality seafood with a picturesque outlook. There were a number of small ports nearby that were delightful.
Even though the sea fog and rain descended for a few days it was still relaxing and catching up with other guests (shared wine around the lovely stone fireplace) reminded us of why we chose a small hotel/ b&b. It was a real treat to meet a range of american visitors and share travelling stories in such a cosy environment.
Our hosts were very welcoming and very interested in helping us get the best out of our visit (don't miss the whale watching out of P-Town even on a rainy day cloudy days are the best in fact - 12 whales over 90 mins!). Thanks Doug for directing us to a local camera store to replace our faulty camera with barely an interruption to our holiday. We have been recommending Winstead as a great place to stay on the Cape. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Choose the balcony room on the upper floor overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the Winstead Village Inn in the Chandlery Starboard room for 3 nights in July with our 12-year old daughter and loved it. We decided to stay at the Inn to be close to the pool (the Beach Resort is 1 1/2 miles away, a 5 min drive). The pool was gorgeous, in the back of the property surrounded by mature trees and beautiful landscaping. We swam 2 of the days we were there around 5pm (it was open 11am to 7pm) and had it completely to ourselves. Deciding which property to stay at was tough, but our daughter's preference was to be by the pool. The Inn isn't really walking distance to anything (you can walk to Harwich, but we found there wasn't much in Harwich to visit, other than the bike trail). The Beach Resort is beautiful, and has its own private beach going down to the public shoreline (public beach is about 3(?) miles long and the Winstead is in the middle). You will recognize the value of the private beach when you see how crowded the public beach gets on a nice day! There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas to use. Breakfast was served at the Beach Resort (from 8am) and there were lots of great places to sit: inside in the dining room, outside on the front porch, or out on the deck overlooking the beach - all have beautiful views of the beach and there is ample seating. The continental breakfast was included - choices were freshly baked muffins and banana loaf, various breads (we were appreciative of the multigrain bagels), a beautiful fresh fruit salad, yogurt, and various cereals.The Beach Resort is walking distance to Harwich Port, which we found to be much more picturesque than Harwich, and there are lots of great restaurants (The Sea Grille, in particular, was amazing!) The service at the Winstead is top-notch, from the completely immaculate room to helpfulness of staff in suggesting restaurants and making reservations (thanks Anne and Doug!) Our room, the Chandlery Starboard, was half of a building which has been converted, quite nicely, into 2 suites. Our suite was quite large. It entered into a living/dining room with table and chairs, pullout sofa, TV and A/C. There is an adjoining master bedroom (with sliding door) with a king bed, TV, A/C and basic kitchen (sink/microwave/mini fridge/nice glasses/dishes), with a master bathroom which has a tub/shower, and then through another sliding door, the toilet/sink. We found the suite to be very comfortable and I loved the fact that there was tons of storage, so you could really make yourself at home. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. The one downside, an important one for us, is that the pullout sofa bed had seen much better days.The slip covers on the sofa were stained, and the mattress was very uncomfortable. Our daughter, who is generally quite low maintenance, refused to sleep on it. Anne at the Beach Resort immediately offered to send a cot, which was adequate once we stuck some thick blankets under the crease in the middle of the mattress. To end on a good note, we would highly recommend the Winstead Inn and Beach Resort for its top service, beautiful location and premises.

Room Tip: Chandlery Starboard and Port are about 50 feet away from the pool whereas the rooms in the Carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately the furniture industry has not developed the perfect sleep sofa yet. We have changed the mattresses to the foam type hoping to make them more comfortable for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich Port
6.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
22.5 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 19 in Dennis Port
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winstead Inn and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winstead Inn and Beach Resort

Property: Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Address: 114 Parallel St & 4 Braddock Lane, Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > Harwich Port
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Harwich Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winstead Inn and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished, yet casual and unassuming. The Winstead Inn enjoys the serenity of Harwich Center. Just 100 yards to the Cape Cod Rail Trail and only 1.5 Miles to our private beach front Beach House. Our private vehicle will transport Winstead Inn guests to and from the Beach House. The Beach House enjoys its beach front location while being only a seven minute stroll to Harwich Port village. Enjoy the beach, restaurants, and shops without ever needing your car. Cape Cod at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Winstead Inn and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winstead Inn And Beach Hotel Harwich Port
Winstead Inn And Beach Resort Harwich Port, Massachusetts, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing