We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good To Go”

Freedom Cruise Line
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lease expensive fast way to Nantucket Island! Sail away on the vessel Freedom from Harwich Port, Cape Cod and you will experience Nantucket within just 80-minutes. Convenient parking just 200 yards from the dock. Enjoy our enclosed lounge, outside decks, full-service snack bar and our friendly crew! Daily sailings beginning at 8:00am from late May to mid October. Group discounts for 10 or more passenger available. Discount coupons online
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good To Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a great way to go to Nantucket. The departure from Harwich is the best. It makes it all so easy even for those last minute adventures. I'll definitely use them again. What a great time. :))

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Freedom Cruise Line to Nantucket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

While visiting Cape Cod, our friends (who live in Brewster) suggested we take this boat to Nantucket vs. the one from Hyannis. I'm really glad we did!!! First of all, this one has free parking, and there is plenty of parking spots. Second, the boat is not overcrowded. We did not have to wait in line to board at all! There are bench seats outside, and bus/airplane type seats inside (some even have sturdy tables). We sat outside for a while until it got too windy, and then we set inside. There is no air-condition, but there is a big fan.

On our way back, we came early and saw a huge line, so we lined up, but realized that it was a line for Hyannis!!! Our line was only 3 people long, so we had time to get an ice cream (right next door), and then get right away on board, without having to wait in line! So happy we didn't take the Hyannis boat. Our kids enjoyed eating ice-cream on board, and the ride was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mamasanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The way to get to Nantucket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Freedom cruise line is a great way to get to Nantucket. The boat leaves from the smaller port of Harwich. Parking is free. The crew is friendly. Can't beat it. For passenger convenience there is a small restroom onboard and snacks available for purchase. The passage takes a bit over an hour. You can sit outside on nice days or inside in comfortable airline style seats. Sea sick bags are available... if required.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank clherrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice way to visit Nantucket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Freedom cruise facilities were comfortable offering airplane like seating in an interior cabin as well as deck seating. Parking was free and the cost of the cruise was an affordable option for a mid range travel time. I would recommend making reservations in advance. The boat is large and has a small snack bar where refreshments may be purchased.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Professional Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We rode the Freedom Ferry from Harwich Port to Nantucket (80 minute sail). One of my guest uses a wheel chair and the crew were excellent, respectful and lots of fun. The crew assured our safe boarding and passage to Nantucket. The seas were high, and the crew continually monitored all passengers and assisted any in need. We opted for the slow ferry from Harwich Port, (a fifteen minute drive from Chatham to Harwich Port) instead of the Hyannis fast Ferry (a 45 minute drive) and we were please with our decision. Parking dockside was plentiful.

HINT: In high seas or those prone to sea sickness, choose a seat close to the rear of the vessel. Mention any special requirements when making your reservation.

Yes, we will sail with the Freedom Ferry again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lionheart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Cruise Line also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Cruise Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing