We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We didn't get off to a good start here when we discovered upon arrival that our reservation had been recorded for an hour later than we had agreed on the phone. But they rallied and gave us a larger table - excellent service recovery. Then we looked at our menus and there were no vegetarian entrees - and I distinctly recalled seeing a vegetarian option when I checked their web site. (Later I discovered that the first menu on the web site, with the vegetarian option, is for Restaurant Week - the regular menu is lower down on the page and I missed it.) But my vegetarian wife was able to piece together a meal with plenty of food from the tapas menu. She had a green salad, mushrooms al Ajillo, and a Mooncussers Tart with fresh asparagus substituted for the coppa. She pronounced all as delicious. I had a daily special sea bass, which was perfectly cooked and had a very nice presentation. The wine list is brief but well-selected, and we enjoyed the Frog's Leap Sauvignon Blanc with all our food. Service was efficient and polite, and there was live music. The noise level was fairly high, but we were able to converse without a problem. The noise level pretty much drowned out the live music, though. Overall, a very pleasant experience. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve7P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    67
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Liked it enough, just didn't love it. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant on a whim from a previous Trip Advisor review. Overall, not bad at all. They had a large tapas menu but their entree choices were limited - but very good. It's a casual atmosphere with good service and attentive hosts. There's just nothing special or "wow" about it that makes us want to give 5 circles. We would go there again, but probably not before We try some other places. We liked it but didn't love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank TracyZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Faith Restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After eating at many so called great, wonderful, the best.I am happy to say that Mooncussers Tavern fills all these descriptions. Most place in Cape Cod have inflated ego's this is to go with their inflated prices. NOT this restaurant, they produce food the quality of which would compared to Paris, London and most other good city's in the world. Yes this is high praise but it is worth it. I have had the pleasure and privilege of dining at some of the best, and must say that the food last night was up there with the best. The startling thing was the bill at the end, to say it was reasonable would be an understatement. The family who own and run this establishment show the enthusiasm that it takes to make a great dining place. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS DIAMOND

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of our favorite places when vacationing in the Harwich area. Started off with the dirty peppar martini. Can't really go wrong with that! There were three of us, me, my wife and a good friend. We did tapas for dinner and they were fantastic. The Drambuie mussels were superb! You could honestly put the sauce on a piece of leather and it would be delicious. Great atmosphere and to top the night off we think we saw a wizard! What fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perhaps just a bad night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Four of us went to Mooncussers a few nights ago. It was our first visit, a weeknight, and we arrived a little after 6PM. There were several customers seated at tables or at the bar but it was by no means crowded. There was no wait for a table but there was a noticeable wait for the waiter to come to our table. At that point we noticed that it seemed there were only two people working the tavern that night: our waiter and a waitress. They were alternating between waiting on tables and attending the bar. Perhaps the number of customers had been underestimated or perhaps a worker had been unable to work that night but, whatever the reason, the service was very slow. The three people with me each ordered the scallops and said that they were very tasty. I had the pork chop and my reaction was the opposite to theirs. It was almost tasteless and the reason might have been that it was very, very tough, even difficult to cut with a sharp knife. I was tempted to send it back but didn’t want to wait again for another to be cooked. I chewed my way through much of it. After we left, we agreed that we would not return to Mooncussers. Our decision was based on the long wait (which, likely, is not the standard), the desire for a menu with more offerings and the almost inedible pork chop. There are other Cape restaurants to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rufus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooncussersTavern, Owner at Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Our sincere apologies for the wait. Yes we unfortunately had staff family pass away that night.
Usually our service is prompt, helpful and friendly. Thank you for understanding.
Unfortunate you feel we don't deserve another chance, for as you can see here, our reviews are quite good. If you like pork and wish it tender, try our Pork Belly dish, our customers rave about it.
In fact we had a family come back in last night, second night in a row, simply to have and not share that one dish... All 5 of them had their own Pork Belly Tapas. Fun thing about Tapas... can be shared. Our menu is not static, reason we have specials most nights, to try new dishes and keep our customers happy. Cheers, Patrick Wiseman - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
Harwich Port, Harwich
 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing