We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood, beautiful setting”
Review of Cape Sea Grill

Cape Sea Grill
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Three of us went our for a special dinner at Cape Sea Grill. The swordfish, salmon and filet were all top notch. The server was attentive, the atmosphere relaxing, and the food delish! Peach tart dessert was really fab too.

Helpful?
Thank wanderingKmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    72
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Four of us visited the Sea Grill. We picked this restaurant at random based upon the person at the visitor's center saying she liked to eat here. We were grateful she sent us there. Nice atmosphere where your party's conversation can be heard. The appetizers were all great but the main meal selections were outstanding. Four of us had four different meals and we all loved them! I don't think you could go wrong with anything that you order in tis restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wan2travelBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
388 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Excellent overall, fine service, fine food, pleasant atmosphere.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Four of us went to the Cape Sea Grille for a dinner on a Friday night. Reservations are a must. We hoped for 7 PM, but accepted 6 PM and were happy with that. This is a popular restaurant and we reserved on relatively short notice. When we arrive the restaurant was less than half filled, but that changed quickly. We were fortunate to get a window seat - which is nice, but this is not a restaurant you visit for the view, you visit for the food. The service is excellent, not intrusive, typically there when you need it, and quite friendly.

We started with a green (mesclun) salad and asked that it be shared. It came on two plates and we opted to add the warm goat cheese. The salad was nothing special, but fresh enough with a simple nice dressing. The goat cheese was a little hockey-puck with a bit of crusty surface, like it had been quickly quench fried, and really good.

I opted for the filet, asked for it medium rare and it came just right with a nice flavor and no parts that were not nice meat. The flavor was good.. A potato cake came with it and that was quite good. The vegetable was spinach and this was lightly sauteed and also very good. There was a sauce (I asked for it on the side) that had an onion base with a bit of tomato. Typically I use very little sauce on filet, but I did put this on the side of the place and enjoyed it. Another had pan fried scallops (about six of them) and these were judged to be acceptable, but not exceptional. Rice came with the scallops. Also with it came some sauteed mushrooms and cabbage. One did not care for this, but another who tried it thought it to be very good. Another had the soy half-chicken and found it to be very nicely done and very tasty. The fourth person had a mixed seafood dish with shrimp, lobster and scallops. That person did not complain.

We also shared a flourless chocolate truffle cake, which was thick, rich and very good.

The wine list is quite reasonable, with a broad selection that should suit most patrons. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the noise level modest. All in all, this is a very good restaurant, one we hope to return to again and again. We had been to this location quite a number of years ago and found this visit exceeded our expectations based on the long-ago previous experience. There is adequate on-site parking. Children are welcome, but it would be a mistake to bring any unless they were quiet and well-behaved. This is a place to enjoy a peaceful very fine experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed; going in the wrong direction”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been big fans of the Sea Grille for years and returned this summer for a weekend dinner. We couldn't be accommodated in the main dining room, an attractive old cape tastefully designed, and were directed to the new section to the rear of the main dining room. This turned out to be a major mistake. The "new area" is a vaulted ceiling bar and dining area with many tables serving off the same menu as the main dining room. Service was ok though the wait for our entrees dragged on (our server apologized and offered a free drink).

We had 2 areas of dissatisfaction. The new dining location is awful, unattractive with no touches of the main dining room; the noise levels were so high that table side conversation was virtually impossible. No noise abatement or absorption were evident in the design; no divider between an open and noisy bar and dining tables added to the volume. This is really disappointing; this is high end dining with prices to match. It gives the impression of maximizing revenue at the cost of ambiance and comfort. The result is a poor dining experience that degrades the name of what was a top attraction on the Cape.

To add to our disappointment the appetizer were highly overpriced and of average quality; $15 for fried calamari that is run of the mill and $13 for a tomato mozzarella salad that contained 1 slice of tomato, a few chunks of mozzarella, 1 beet slices and a small pile of greens felt like we were paying for reputation only. The entrees were very good; stripped bass special with a beet risotto and a lobster, shrimp pasta with fennel cream sauce were what we expected from a former James Beard recognized chef.

It's an expensive night with entrees, appetizer, a drink and a dessert running close to $100 with gratuity. I used to think it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, very accommodating”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here with our two daughters while on vacation. Both girls have food allergies and dining at restaurants geared primarily to adults is often challenging. We were very pleased with how accommodating our waitress and the owner both were - they checked ingredient lists and even called one of their pasta suppliers to confirm the food was safe for the girls to eat.

On top of that, the food was outstanding. The ingredients and preparation of the appetizers and main courses were first rate. Even more phenomenal than the main courses were the desserts. I've had flourless chocolate cake many times at great restaurants but nothing even close to what I had here. If you dine here, make sure you order it and you can thank me later.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Sea Grill also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cape Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing