We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way to see Monomoy Refuge”

Monomoy Island Excursions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The seals of Monomoy are a rare treat seen close up from the shallow drafting seal watch vessel Perserverance. You will glide though narrow channels and into isolated lagoons where hundreds, sometimes thousands of Gray Seals swim and lay out along the shore. And you will spy sea birds and once in a while, the shadow of a great white shark passes by. Some of the best ocean fun adventure for your family.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The only way to see Monomoy Refuge”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A smallish boat holding about 40. On our trip it was half empty so easy to sit where we wanted to. A very shallow draught boat so able to cruise the sand bars and channels and get very close to the seals. A nice touch was our guide told us on the way back it was going to get a bit windy and where we were seated was going to get sprayed with water. Meant I could put the cameras away and as the boat was not full we had the option of moving back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
205 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic outing!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time on their boat! Enjoyed Barry's excellent narration of the area and wildlife. The seals were adorable, with the younger ones often poking their heads up to curiously look at the boat and humans! They cruised real close to the protected island of Monomoy so we could see the gulls nesting and some young chicks. Their boat is very clean and I thought brand new until I asked and found out it was 15 years old! They keep it in great shape. Very comfortable ride, very personable service, highly recommend as part of your Cape Cod experience!

Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Monomoy!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I could have relaxed on this boat all day. It is very comfortable and the views are some of nature's finest. Take the crazy chaotic whale tour out of Provincetown first, then come do this and soak up the sun. At first we saw like one seal but then the guides took us to absolute seal heaven. Wow are they adorable and very interested in people. We also saw some nesting birds and their babies and of course, a lighthouse. It is the islands and water that will just take your breath away. I could have stayed out all day but sadly just an hour and a half. It was refreshing not to have people sitting on top of me so keep in mind this is what you pay for when comparing whale tours to this one. I can't recommend it enough!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachykeen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was the best thing to do on a beautiful day. Trip was an hour and half and the crew gave us a lot of info . We saw nesting birds, but the stars were hundreds of seals swimming around us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbuddies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

In some ways I liked this better than the Whale Watch which I would say was a once in a lifetime experience. The guides were really friendly and knowledgable and the people that were on the trip with us were nice also. We saw TONS of seals and got really close, some almost swam right up to the boat. Unlike the whale watch you are guaranteed to see seals on this trip. Do it!

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monomoy Island Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing