We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family spot, tasty food!”

Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southwick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family spot, tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Tasty thin crust pizza, we tried 5 different kinds and all were delicious. Our large family of adults and young children were served quickly and pleasantly on their clean and lovely patio!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chop64kline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    123
    84
    49
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Used to be better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited Ember in the summer of 2013 and thought it was pretty good, but when we went tonight, it was a disaster. Not sure what happened over the last year. We had a reservation and were seated on time, but that's about where the good experience ended. We waited a VERY long time for our food. The waitress eventually apologized saying the kitchen was really backed up with 'take out' orders. I'm pretty sure the people SITTING in the restaurant waiting for food take priority over take out orders. When our food eventually came, four of us ordered pizzas, which came out quite cold. The other two in our party had ordered sandwiches, which came out a full 10 minutes after the cold pizzas (by which point they'd become even colder). When we mentioned the issues to the waitress she just said 'sorry'. Didn't offer to do anything about it. My husband also ordered a beer which didn't arrive until he was almost done eating. A total disaster all the way around---made even worse because I'd brought guests with me on the promise that we'd had a good experience in the past. A shame since it is walking distance from our house and we'd planned to go again during our visit---not now. Definitely has gone downhill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TLHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, not sure it is worth the long lines.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were fortunate enough not to have to wait to be seated at this highly acclaimed Harwich restaurant. I have heard rumors of 3 hour waits. We sat outside which was comfortable albeit loud due to the busy street it is on. Nachos were just okay; tri colored chips sprinkled with very little shredded cheese and served with salsa, guacamole and sour cream on the side. I think I could do just as well at home. Pizza was yummy and there were many to choose from. Coal fired doesn't appeal to everyone as some in our party considered it to be burnt. Wine list was extensive and pleasing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueP413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a steak and cheese sandwich, It came out almost unrecognizable as a sandwich. Looked like a pile of mush. Very little steak or cheese. Wings were dried out, Service was very slow. Pizza not great either. I won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank retired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't go....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to try something new at the cape. Bad idea. This place was not terrible but certainly not good. Pizza crust was burnt...black! Long wait, okay it's summer at the cape, understood. Service took forever. What really got me was being served my drink in a red solo cup! Then they bring us paper plates! Not sure if this is the norm or something was going on that night. Broken dishwasher? Bottom line....not recommended. Plenty of places on the cape that far exceed this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 206shannonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings also viewed

 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing