We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and Delicious!”

George's Place Fish Market
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Owners Scott and Linda Kelley of Chatham and their staff are "local people providing local seafood!" We offer classic seafood meals, including fried or grilled seafood, lobster rolls, baked stuffed lobsters, and chowders. Our homemade items can be called in and made to order. Picnic outside seating
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

George's Fish Market has been in business for many years. They have expanded their offerings in recent years, now selling cooked dishes such as fish and chips. A counter holds fresh fish to be bought by the pound and includes a label identifying the fish as wild or farmed. Not surprisingly, most of their fish is wild and taken right off fishing boats in the harbor. One may also order a Maine lobster steamed and cracked to take home and enjoy. Really, this should be the go-to place for fresh fish, clams and lobsters. You won't be disappointed with the flavor and quality of your purchase.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty dirty”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This market used to be great. Went in an saw the fish on display and was appalled it was sitting in lots of juices and none of it looked fresh. The place was dirty and the staff needed new aprons for sure. Such a disappointment as it used to be so clean!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskuk, Owner at George's Place Fish Market, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Donna,
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our customers with the best possible service has always been our mission. We have addressed the cleanliness issue with the employee aprons and display procedures.

If you come back to our store I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Sincerely,
Linda Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish market on the Cape”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

For the second year we ordered our lobsters from George's. We have purchased large (8lb) lobsters and picked them up already steamed and cracked. Raw oysters were delicious. Prices are more reasonable than what we have found at the local grocery. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“friendly service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

they cook the lobster and clams and crabs for you. just pick it up bring it home and eat it. always perfect. I have used them several times. always clean and good fresh local fish to bring home and cook the way you like it. Off street parking out front

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
208 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Last minute lobster rolls!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The one thing we had not yet had on the Cape was a lobster roll. It simply was not possible to leave without that very Cape meal. We stopped at this fish market which sells them to go and took them home for a lovely evening meal on the patio with friends. A nice good-bye. They were excellent, served on a croissant which we found a real plus. Loads of lobdster meat, hooray.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank zullsandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Place Fish Market also viewed

 
Harwich, Cape Cod
 
Harwich, Cape Cod
West Harwich, Harwich
 

Been to George's Place Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing