We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Happiness”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hatfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Happiness”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife & I chose this Inn because of it's quiet location. We both work very hard & needed a recharge. George, innkeeper, greeted us warmly & gave us a tour of the Inn & our room. The room & Inn were very very CLEAN. The dining room was beautiful, sunny & breakfast was perfect. The Town of Hatfield is quiet, friendly with many roads to bike on. The FishTales & Chill & Grill were perfect spots for dinner. The short trip to Shelburne Falls & Historical Deerfield was fantastic. Can't wait to return for another recharge!

Room Tip: Choose the deck in the afternoon for sun & reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaii9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Old Mill Inn, and are glad we could offer you a place to rest and recharge. We also love the fact that it's quiet here, yet just a short distance from all Northampton and the Five College area have to offer. We certainly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The old mill inn is a hidden gem- well maintained, charming, comfortable, inn and rooms - plus an outstanding breakfast. George did a great job making sure that our needs were taken care of and was very accommodating

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantatvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
We appreciate your very complimentary review. We work hard to do everything we can to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Liked location, food, room, linens, soaps, shampoo. The breakfast was both imaginative and delicious. Our host, Georg, was helpful, friendly and a lover of arts. We took a walk around the town which was of interest architecturally and historically.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to a return visit if you are in the Northampton/Amherst area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a good find! My husband and I stayed here during one of two nights in Western Massachusetts for our anniversary. Some historic establishments make you feel like it hasn't been touched since the 1800s but that's not the case here. The inn has rustic charm but is still polished. We stayed in the Mary Porter Room, which was cozy and clean! It's located in a nice, country area. We took a nice scenic run down the street the morning after our stay. And it's just a quick ride to Northampton. It's also affordable - the price rivaled that of generic hotels in the area and you get so much more. There also isn't a two-night minimum for weekends, which is good if you're just look for an overnight. The best part was the Creme Brulee served at breakfast, it was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeresaHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked several rooms at the Old Mill Inn to house our guests for a wedding in South Hadley. We had the Cascade Suite, which is really a small apartment right over the waterfall - the waterfall is a great background soundtrack. This suite was clean as a whistle, very comfortable, had great views, and the best part was the enormous king sleigh bed with high quality mattress and linens. It was the kind of bed you hope all hotels and inns will have (one that encourages wallowing), but almost none do.

The breakfast room is really pleasant and all of our guests enjoyed their stay. They adapted to the couple of vegetarians in our group very well.

One of the best parts of the stay were the extremely flexible and accommodating innkeepers - Georg met all kinds of special requests from us, including storing a case of wine and some other guest gifts for us and not batting an eye when we exploded on him four hours early for our primary arrival, needing to change and get ready for an event even though we were well before check-in and they were still cleaning our suite. They worked around us quickly and were so kind even though we should have called ahead and we were really in their hair.

We would highly recommend two nearby places - FishTales restaurant and bar with fantastic fresh seafood, and B&B bar - a block away from the Inn full of friendly locals who treated our group with kind festivity.

Overall a wonderful stay, very special and a great value.

Room Tip: Talk to Georg about your preferences and he'll take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marge246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgInnkeeper, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing us! It was a privilege to host you and your lovely wedding guests. We are happy we could accommodate your requests and hope to see you back in the future - perhaps for an anniversary stay!

Best regards,

Georg and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The inn is under new ownership and everything was wonderful. We spent 2 nights at the Old Mill and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Attentive, laid back owners serving excellent breakfast both mornings. Our room was very cozy and clean and the bed was super comfortable. The river runs right next to the inn so you can relax to the sounds of the roaring waterfall from most rooms in the building. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank park5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgInnkeeper, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We have been hard at working making improvements and updates since we took over ownership in August 2013, and we are happy to see you like the results and enjoyed your stay!

Best regards,

Georg & Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
4.4 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
3.7 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Property: The Old Mill Inn
Address: 87 School St, Hatfield, MA 01038-9732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill is a historic building located in the town of Hatfield. Originally a grist mill, the Inn underwent an extensive conversion to a very unique B&B in 2006. We are situated on the Mill River, and our most in-demand rooms overlook the river and our own private waterfall. Our nine rooms and three extended-stay suites are beautifully appointed with vintage art and antiques, comfortable beds with luxury linens, private baths, hardwood floors, HDTV Cable, free WiFi and personal coffee stations. We have an on-site coffee shop open weekend mornings, and specialty coffee drinks are available at breakfast for our guests, free of charge. We also have one fully ADA-accessible room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill On The Falls Hotel Hatfield
Old Mill On The Falls Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing