We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the Berkshires!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Housatonic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English Hideaway Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Housatonic B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in the Berkshires!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the English Hideaway so we could go see some friends perform at The Guthrie Center which was less than 5 minutes away. Denise and Trevor were so wonderful and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast and coffee was delicious. I hope I will get a chance to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticdogmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The English Hideaway B&B is nestled in a quiet valley in the Berkshire Mountains of Western Massachusetts. The B&B is spotlessly clean, well appointed, and perfectly managed by two very talented and friendly inn keepers; Denise and Trevor. My wife and I live in Southeastern Connecticut so it was an easy two hour drive to reach the area. We stayed there for two nights with another couple (our friends from upstate New York) in mid November for a mini-reunion and were able to have rooms 2 and 3 in the Carriage House. This worked out wonderfully since the rooms are opposite one another on the second floor which allowed us to visit and coordinate daily activities merely by walking across a common stair landing and knocking on each other’s doors. The rooms had very comfortable beds, two large chairs, an LCD TV (with cable), a DVD player, a large dresser, and a recessed area next to the bed for hanging clothes (with spa type bath robes and slippers provided for use of the guests). There was internet access in the rooms and the common areas. The shower, vanity, and toilet area were fine with all supplies needed (including a blow dryer). Breakfasts were excellent with yogurt, fresh fruit, orange juice, a variety of breads, jams, bacon, eggs, and freshly brewed coffee. In the evening after dinner we relaxed in the common area beside a very warm and welcoming wood stove and were able to catch up on the events of the past year. Complementing the accommodations was Denise’s warm and welcoming manner, her obvious desire to make the visit a complete joy, and her knowledge of the area. She helped us plan our day’s activities and find local restaurants that were perfect for dinner. We travel frequently and have stayed in many B&B’s in the U.S. and Europe and with no reservation we can say that the English Hideaway B&B is among the best in value and comfort that we have encountered. Our thanks to Denise and Trevor for a wonderful visit in a very attractive area of Massachusetts that we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 are perfect if 2 couples are staying (convenient across the hall access).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozone Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a great way to spend time with friends...relaxing and catching up on life! Denise and Trevor are wonderful ... this was our second trip there...and we plan on making this an annual trip with great friends! The rooms are wonderful...the breakfast was great...close to town of Great Barrington to walk around and enjoy! Would definitely suggest this as a place to visit...hope you give it a try and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth garden city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our first visit to the Berkshires and indeed English Hideaway inn. Both were outstanding and we were blessed with very fine weather as well. The inn run by Denise and Trevor Forbes is everything one could hope for. From the well appointed rooms, ours was the Berkshire, to the most sumptious breakfasts, with a wonderful choice of home made breads, freshly cooked eggs, anyway you want, and delicious crispy bacon. Fresh fruit with the most divine yoghurt, the list just goes on.
The Forbes are a great team, dedicated to making your stay as comfortable as possible, whilst giving you space and time for privacy should you want it. I cannot recomend this property more highly.

Room Tip: There are four rooms, all are very pleasant, but the " Berkshire " is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandergordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I can heartily triple-underscore every one of the lovely and well-deserved compliments made about Denise, Trevor, and their wonderful haven. Delicious breakfasts, cozy rooms, and tranquil surround. And if all this weren't enough, in Denise and Trevor you have the finest hosts imaginable – they somehow intuit and fulfill your needs before you yourself can put words to them! We so very much look forward to returning with our children, and soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Other reviewers have already said it well. This beautiful B&B was a wonderful experience from beginning to end for our 35th anniversary trip to Tanglewood. The breakfasts were amazing and healthy and the room was lovely. Denise and Trevor think of every little thing to make a stay extra special. Their hospitality absolutely cannot be beat. We hope to return many times in the future.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the Salisbury Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contrebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My cousin and I just returned from a trip to the Berkshires and stayed at the English Hideaway. Denise and Trevor couldn't have been nicer, more accommodating or helpful. Denise called us in advance of our trip to find out our breakfast preferences! And the food was vary good, fresh and healthy. The room was spacious, clean with a bed very comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B and will certainly stay there again.

Nancy
New York

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyPz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Housatonic
4.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
992 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
448 reviews
4.3 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
591 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stockbridge Country Inn
Stockbridge Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Stockbridge
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Hideaway Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Hideaway Inn B&B

Property: English Hideaway Inn B&B
Address: Rte. 41, 325 North Plain Road, Housatonic, MA 01230
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Housatonic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Housatonic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New England Inn family owner since 1987. Tea Room on site. Packages and Special with Business Travlers Rates ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing