We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, quiet out-of-the-way spot near Tanglewood”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Housatonic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English Hideaway Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Housatonic B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, quiet out-of-the-way spot near Tanglewood”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came to the Berkshires for 5 days of hiking, biking, and music and found the English Hideaway Inn B&B. We were stunned at how comfortable and welcoming it is. The breakfasts were topnotch as Denise, the proprietor and cook, made whatever was your whim for breakfast. Eggs, French toast, whatever you wanted were outstanding. We ate seated next to her flower garden, which was visited by a constant stream of birds, including hummingbirds. Denise and her husband Trevor's suggestions to our planned bike routes turned out to be spot on. And they didn't spare any effort to respond to our needs. They treated us as if we were visiting friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marches, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Denise and Trevor are a great couple who made us feel at home straight away in their lovely historic house.. They were both very helpful and informative about the area.

The room was spacious and had a small patio leading out into the beautiful garden with lovely herbaceous plantings. The B&B has a guest lounge and seating areas outside including a pagoda and is on a quiet road on the outskirts of Housatonic, ideally located for exploring the Berkshires.

We stayed for two nights and breakfast each morning was sumptuous feast freshly prepared and cooked by Denise.

We loved staying with our hosts and are very happy to recommend them to anyone planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at an English Hideaway during a trip to the Berkshires for our first wedding anniversary. The owners were very accommodating and helpful. They provided everything we could need, including a delicious breakfast. They even gave us advice for our upcoming trip to South Africa (they are experts on South African tourism and run their own travel business). This inn is a great value, a wonderful stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visited recently for our 18th anniversary and were so pleased with every aspect of our stay. The owners, Denise and Trevor, could not have been more welcoming and lovely. We arrived after dark, and they came outside immediately to greet us. Our room was cozy, with a gas fireplace and a supercomfortable bed, pretty linens. There was a vase of beautiful fresh flowers and a bottle of wine with a note wishing us a Happy Anniversary! The bathroom was immaculate, with a stall shower. Our room, the Berkshire, was a few steps from the main house, where a wood burning fire burns in the living room. Delicious brownies awaited us in the tea/breakfast room. Breakfast was scrumptious, and Trevor and Denise even made scones and bought clotted cream when we told them how much we liked them. The hosts were great at recommending restaurants and things to do in the area, and were ever present for philosophical chats without ever being in the least bit intrusive. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBTThornwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I recently stayed at the English Hideaway Inn while attending a friend's wedding in Housatonic. It is very good value for money with my husband being pleasantly surprised by the bill (a very rare occasion). The Inn is a beautiful 230 year old Berkshire cottage farmhouse. The owners, Denise and Trevor, are warm and friendly hosts ready to serve your every need and full of interesting conversation if you are looking for it. The breakfasts were excellent - in fact my taste buds are tingling at the memory of the "Creme Brulee French Toast" and crispy smoked hickory bacon that Denise made for us this morning. The grounds are beautiful and full of bird-life. The surrounding mountains and forests are great for the casual or serious trail hikers, and for those more inclined towards less strenuous pursuits the nearby small towns like Great Barrington, West Stockbridge and Lenox are full of amazing delis, patisseries, antique stores and boutiques. I can recommend Olivia's Outlook in West Stockbridge for a lovely view of the mountains and lake and we also stumbled across an incredible wine shop in Lenox where we stocked up before making the trip back to Montreal. We had a wonderful two days and I couldn't recommend this great b&b and pretty area of Massachusetts more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 in the Carriage House, which had lovely views of the gardens. The four poster ir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the English Hideaway so we could go see some friends perform at The Guthrie Center which was less than 5 minutes away. Denise and Trevor were so wonderful and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast and coffee was delicious. I hope I will get a chance to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticdogmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The English Hideaway B&B is nestled in a quiet valley in the Berkshire Mountains of Western Massachusetts. The B&B is spotlessly clean, well appointed, and perfectly managed by two very talented and friendly inn keepers; Denise and Trevor. My wife and I live in Southeastern Connecticut so it was an easy two hour drive to reach the area. We stayed there for two nights with another couple (our friends from upstate New York) in mid November for a mini-reunion and were able to have rooms 2 and 3 in the Carriage House. This worked out wonderfully since the rooms are opposite one another on the second floor which allowed us to visit and coordinate daily activities merely by walking across a common stair landing and knocking on each other’s doors. The rooms had very comfortable beds, two large chairs, an LCD TV (with cable), a DVD player, a large dresser, and a recessed area next to the bed for hanging clothes (with spa type bath robes and slippers provided for use of the guests). There was internet access in the rooms and the common areas. The shower, vanity, and toilet area were fine with all supplies needed (including a blow dryer). Breakfasts were excellent with yogurt, fresh fruit, orange juice, a variety of breads, jams, bacon, eggs, and freshly brewed coffee. In the evening after dinner we relaxed in the common area beside a very warm and welcoming wood stove and were able to catch up on the events of the past year. Complementing the accommodations was Denise’s warm and welcoming manner, her obvious desire to make the visit a complete joy, and her knowledge of the area. She helped us plan our day’s activities and find local restaurants that were perfect for dinner. We travel frequently and have stayed in many B&B’s in the U.S. and Europe and with no reservation we can say that the English Hideaway B&B is among the best in value and comfort that we have encountered. Our thanks to Denise and Trevor for a wonderful visit in a very attractive area of Massachusetts that we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 are perfect if 2 couples are staying (convenient across the hall access).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Housatonic
4.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
448 reviews
4.3 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stockbridge Country Inn
Stockbridge Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Stockbridge
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Hideaway Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Hideaway Inn B&B

Property: English Hideaway Inn B&B
Address: Rte. 41, 325 North Plain Road, Housatonic, MA 01230
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Housatonic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Housatonic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New England Inn family owner since 1987. Tea Room on site. Packages and Special with Business Travlers Rates ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing