We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nantasket Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Beautiful place at the beach. Easy to reach downtown Boston. Motivated and helpful staff. The room was spacious, a little dark and smelled a musty. The breakfast provided is meager but unimportant for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behindthescenes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    65
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
64
68
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were on a girl's week away from the hubbies, staying a few days in several coastal cities along the Boston and R.I coast We loved the room that had just been updated with new paint, carpet, draperies, queen beds and other amenities. The hotel was located walking distance to several restaurants and the beach. By recommendation from the front desk, we took the commuter ferry to Downtown Boston from the neighboring city and avoided the traffic, parking and actually the trip was like a long harbor cruise. The ferry drops you off right in downtown Boston. 3 hours after checking out, my phone rang while on a trolley tour in Salem, Ma. The hotel was calling to say we had left a camera charger in the room. They mailed the charger to my girlfriends home and she in turn forwarded the postage back to the hotel. I was amazed that they were that nice to call us. We live in California and if we ever travel to that area again we will surely stay at the Nantasket Hotel at the Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper rooms with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sevans102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your time away! We have a great staff here at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, I'm glad to hear you got your camera charger back without a problem and it's great that you had the chance to experience the Ferry to Boston, it is really an enjoyable way to get into the city. Please come back and stay with us again if your travels bring you back to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed two nights in early September in their newly renovated property located right behind their main building. The house was beautiful, and the value was really good too. It has 3 bedrooms and 1 bath, a big living room connected with the open kitchen, which is fully stocked (with dishes, etc.). There is also a big porch that wraps around the back and side of the house.

The place was really clean and comfortable. We all loved their sheets/bedding and towels. I don't understand why most hotel's go with white sheets and towels, probably for the illusion of cleanliness, but I prefer the comfort and style of their sheets/towels.

The value of the rental house was really good as well. I've spent more for a regular hotel room than what the house costs a night, so it's a really good/fair price. Free WiFi, too. The house is close to the beach and restaurants/bars, it's maybe a nice 10 minute walk from popular locations like the Red Parrot, etc. If you want something closer, Marvel's Lunch Box is right down the street and is awesome. The owner is a great guy and the food is delicious.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and not just the rental house either. I've stayed in the regular hotel rooms in the past and they're just as nice as the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realest, General Manager at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we're glad you enjoyed the guest house and all of the amenities and that you were pleased with the rooms at the hotel in the past. Please come and stay with us again, we appreciate your repeat visits with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Not good value. The room was big but the place feels dingy. Brown rugs, sheets and towels, no elevator and no amenities to speak of. High point is free WiFi. It is a plain motel from days gone by - extremely (way too!) expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. Over the past few years the hotel has been through extensive renovations and we do offer quite a few amenities (you mentioned the free WIFI), including complimentary snacks & bottled water in the rooms, kitchenettes in every room, and a light continental breakfast every morning in our lobby area. We also provide complimentary beach chairs and beach towels for our guests to enjoy across the street at Nantasket Beach. I hope you'll give us another try in the future, we do have quite competitive rates in comparison to the Boston chain hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had reservations at a different resort on the beach that was overbooked. Was relocated to this property...if you need elevator to get to second floor this is not the place for you ! Staff was excellent. I arrived about 930 p and quite frankly neighborhood looked worrisome. Staff assured me she worked nights and always felt safe. I was very glad I stayed. Room was very large with snacks provided and bottled water. Lovely furniture which was very comfortable. Bathroom was small with little counter space however room set up with large closet in hallway leading to bathroom provided plenty of shelf space. rates are not cheap and it is not a resort but is an excellent option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I"m glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here! Hopefully the next time you are in Hull you will come back and stay with us again. We appreciate your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked our trip online and like most people trusted that the pictures shown were somewhat accurate. The exterior pictures depicted a true taste of what the motel, not hotel, looks like. We arrived at the "motel" at around 8:30 pm and were greeted by an employee at the main office. Our reservation was for a double room with an ocean view. We were told our "king" room was all ready. I explained that we had booked a double room with the ocean view as we had 4 people in our group. She double checked our reservation and confirmed that our room was given to someone else. We were then offered a room on the ground level which we took. We asked if there was anywhere nearby that we could get a bite to eat as we had been travelling all day. We were directed to a "family style" restaurant called Schooners which was around the corner. We walked in the door and the foul smell from the place was disgusting. The first person to comment on it was my 7 year old who did not hide his disgust. That being said, we were starving and really had no options as everything in Hull on a Sunday closes at 9 PM. When we finally made it back to the motel and entered the room for the first time, again, not a pleasant smell. It was musty with an attempt of spraying something to mask it. The bathroom was dirty as it had a not very well washed rubber mat in the shower but the stains all around the drain were unsettling. The pictures on the website obviously are a room that may have been renovated but it was nothing like room #10. The walls were marked, the carpet looked dirty, the sink area looked like it was more of a laundry room and there were little black things on the fitted sheet in the bed. Not sure what they were. There was either something through the night that was ticking or it was the sound of mice in the room as that was what the noise was like. The next morning we informed the manager that we were checking out and moving to a "hotel" and relayed our disappointment with the accommodations. At that time is when we saw the Continental Breakfast that some reviews raved about. The muffins were obviously bought in bulk and wrapped in saran wrap. If you asked for ice you got a little measured bag that if you liked ice in a drink may get you 3. As we were leaving, we asked about the amenities in the area so that we may enjoy the beach. We were directed to a building, by the manager, that was supposed be the change rooms. You guessed it, wrong building. We were also told about the Carousel up the road that was really interesting but you could not ride it, you could only watch the person who is restoring it work on the horses. Again, not the case. In speaking with a local vendor we had relayed our comments to him and he said he was surprised as they had spent so much money renovating the whole motel. If I was the owner of this facility I would fire the person who forgot to renovate our room in the process.

It was a very disappointing start to our time in the Boston area but thanks to the Hampton Inn in Braintree, it ended up being a fabulous vacation. I would never say that I would not return to Hull as it is quite quaint. But next time I will be sure to give enough notice and stay at the Nantasket Beach Resort instead. We had breakfast in their restaurant and if the quality of service and cleanliness is any indication of their rooms then there should be only satisfaction from staying there. It was our first choice originally but they were unable to accommodate our dates.

Room Tip: There is nothing good from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What an excellant value and friendly staff! Neat , Clean , Perfect location & Friendly. I suggest you stay here and save hundreds of dollars! Hull has limited hotels and i assure you wont be disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realest, Manager at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you, we take great pride in our hotel here in Hull!
Come back and visit us again if your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hull
0.8 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
7.7 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
9.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantasket Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantasket Hotel at the Beach

Property: Nantasket Hotel at the Beach
Address: 115 Nantasket Ave, Hull, MA 02045-3131 (Formerly Sea Shore Motel)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hull
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nantasket Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantasket Hotel has recently been completely renovated and offers spacious, quaint rooms with a beach motif. All of our rooms have private baths, King or Queen beds, plasma TVs, Free wireless internet, and a kitchenette area with microwave and refrigerator. Located directly across from 3 mile long Historic Nantasket Beach and close to the boardwalk offering all kinds of restaurants and entertainment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nantasket Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantasket Beach Hotel
Nantasket Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing