We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi south of Boston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dalat Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Dalat Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Hull
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi south of Boston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

By far, this is the best sushi south if Boston. The spicy tuna (my fave) is a nice chunk of the freshest tuna, not ground into minced tuna and ladened with spicy mayo, like most places. They have great quality, skilled sushi chefs here. Awesome variety, and their prices can't be beat. On top of that, they are have an awesome Vietnamese menu of fresh, seasonal dishes, cooked to order. Everything is fresh and creatively prepared. Not your standard Chinese food with heavy sauces and everything fried. I have been going to this place since they opened, over 20 years ago, and I am never disappointed. The staff is friendly, the place is small, not fancy, but comfortable. A nice dining experience, without being pretentious and overpriced. But don't tell anyone. I want to keep it our little secret.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi at resort prices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Ya, the sushi was tasty but I have never paid $17 for a spider roll! And the rest of our dishes were just ok. The bar scene sounded fun and lively but the dining room was dull and boring! Not in a rush to visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Lindasnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location by the water, but just so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stopped by just because we were walking along the beach and saw it was close by. Staff was friendly and there were some neat features, but atmosphere was rather average. Lots of menu choices and drink options. Veggie rolls, steak and salmon were great, but other sides left a lot to be desired. We just considered it an adventure since we didn't know what we were getting into so it was fun, but I wouldn't go there for a nice dinner out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimber_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall Good, not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading a view reviews that were all over the place I had to chime in. I have eaten at La Dalat probably 10 times over the past 6 months and I have had varying degrees of success with the food there. Food is always some where between a 6 and a 10, I have never had anything that needed sending back like an earlier review. The sushi in my opinion is pretty good but over priced for portion size and presentation compared to other local prices. The drinks are excellent and it won't take more two or three at the bar to have had plenty. My favorite things to get involve all the appetizers. Their appetizer sampler is huge and I have even ordered it as a meal for myself. Staff is very friendly to me and I have no complaints about them or the service I have had there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodReviewNEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre sushi. Will go back for the grilled hamachi cheek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

La dalat is a bit confused on cuisine... The combo of Chinese, Vietnamese and Japanese make putting together a cohesive meal a bit tough. We decided to stick with Japanese. The tempura was a little dense. The sushi was fresh but nothing special. All the different rolls were a bit over kill. The one reason I will go back is for the grilled hamachi cheek. Perfectly cooked and seasoned, fatty, meaty and crispy! Perfect $10 lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dalat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Dalat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing