We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Surprised by Pictish history in quaint village

We were visiting nearby small seaside villages after a suggestion from the Tourist Office in... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2017
Pam Q
,
Adelaide, Australia
Very Historic

Visited for an hour primarily to see the very fine Pictish Cross Slab inside the church. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2017
DB812014
,
Wick, United Kingdom
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Attractive T-shaped church of a pattern common in the 17th and 18th Centuries. This building is most noted for a very important Pictish carved stone displayed inside the Church. Entrance is free and there's adequate parking outside the graveyard. The rural population of the parish of Nigg has declined drastically, even over the past fifty years, but a mere mile away thousands work on oil rig fabrication and repair.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Feinschmecker12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We stopped to view the Nigg Stone which is held in Nigg Church on Sunday 5th October. The Church itself is beautiful in its simplicity with a wonderful stained glass window, a poor loft and the Nigg Stone - a Pictish cross slab of great intricacy in carving. You don't have to travel far from the A9 to see this wonderful church and stone. We will go again. Highly recommend it. The website for the attraction is http://www.niggoldtrust.org.uk/index.asp and it is open between April and October, though check the website details for any change to that.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank dancingthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Pictish history of NE Scotland is old (500 - 800 AD) and very mysterious and the old church at Nigg holds an amazing cross stone. At some point in the past it has been broken and Historic Scotland have done an amazing job restoring it. It's part of a Pictish Trail, which has a number of really interesting sites, and continues up onto the north coast west of Thurso. I really recommend you take the time to stop at some of these sites, you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlander20, Trustee at Nigg Old Church, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments about Nigg Old Church and our wonderful Pictish Monument. Nigg Old Trust the custodians of both the church and the monument raised a substantial amount of money to pay for the restoration and new display of the cross-slab with help from the Heritage Lottery Fund and the Highland LEADER Programme. On this occasion we received no financial assistance from Historic Scotland. We are delighted with the feedback we are receiving from visitors about the new display making all the hard work worthwhile. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Getting to the church was a little bit of a challenge (road markings and directions). the drive was definitely worth it. the building and churchyard had many historically interesting items. The "stone" was very nicely presented. I would recommend at least two hours to visit this site.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We knew that there was an interesting piece of Pictish art at Nigg Old Church before we took the wonderful tiny ferry from Cromarty, but were quite unprepared for the quality of the stone's carving or the superb presentation or the information on Scotland's social and religious history that can be found inside the church. The stone has recently been magnificently restored and re-erected in a striking modern setting with excellent lighting and a wealth of information. In all these respects it surpasses even the stone at Rosemarkie. Even without the stone, the old church would be an attractive place to visit. With it, it was one of the highlights of our holiday. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!

Date of experience: August 2013
9  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews