We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would skip...”

John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Full-Day Provincetown Land and Sea Scenic Tour
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum Foundation preserves and promotes the legacy of President Kennedy, his family, and their deep connection to Cape Cod. John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum is a multimedia exhibit designed to open a window on the days JFK spent on Cape Cod; days relaxing with family, days as President of the United Sates when the Cape provided a time to relax and be reinvigorated and days spent sailing on the ocean to which he was so constantly drawn. The Museum's exhibits features videos and photographs spanning the years 1934 to 1963 and is arranged in thematic groupings to reflect John F. Kennedy, his family, his friends and the Cape Cod he so dearly loved. In addition to photography, a video narrated by Walter Cronkite depicts the president's experiences on the Cape. Several themed areas include charged oral histories of JFK's friends.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would skip...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Waste of money for a couple of videos and a bunch of framed pictures. I really could have learned more with a little bit of internet research.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    263
    143
    49
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting, Thought Provoking Exhibit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This exhibit centers around the Kennedy Family and their time in Hyannis. The displays were mostly pictorial with some video as well. We didn't spend more than an hour taking it in but my 14 yr old niece was interested and took away quite a bit about the Kennedy family. It sparked some good conversations about the era and the political issues of those days. We were glad that we took the time to go and we enjoyed the street scene there in Hyannis for a little while afterwards.
I enjoyed the intimate and candid nature of the photos and would definitely recommend a stop in if you are in the area.
It is probably not a good idea to bring young children who can not appreciate the material.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“JFK Museum”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

really enjoyed the museum lot of info abt. the President and his legacy and his family! Alot of history abt the Kennedys, and there legacy bought some really nice souvenirs also!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank salonbellavabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kennedy Memories in Hyannis & Baseball”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent a couple of hours walking through the museum, viewing the photographs, watching the videos and reading about the Kennedy family. It was nicely done. I had been to the Kennedy Library in Boston several years ago, so being in Hyannis, I wanted to see their rendition. We did drive down to "The Compound" and see it and the view. Breathtaking.
The museum is really a twofor! There is the Cape Cod League base ball museum in the basement of the building. That is also worth seeing. Very American! We were able to see a game the night before, so the museum was extra special.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nisty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Small museum in the heart of Hyannis. Mostly personal photos and some short videos. In and out in less than an hour. Be sure and go downstairs for the Cape Cod Baseball Hall of Fame Museum as well - included in ticket price. No restrooms!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TNMom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing